Geeks logo

News Boy Romance

A Fan Story Based on the Movie 'Newsies'

By Daniella FarrasPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

I was with the boys we were selling papers, and it was hot as hell outside. I was with Race, Jack, and Davey. We all had the same selling spot so we sold papers in our part of town. I was upset that I couldn’t get as many of my papers sold like everyone else, I was about average when it came to selling papers, I wasn’t as good at improving the truth like my cousin Jack, Davey said I didn’t need to lie to sell papers, just say the headlines and I’d get my papers sold. I was thinking about lying a few times, but Davey talked me out of it each time. But Jack, he’d never stop screwing with people’s heads, especially the rest of us.

“Hey Ells you know Skittery here was dancing and he fell on his ass,” Jack said laughing.

“No, I didn’t!” Skittery said.

“I'm playing I’m playing!” Jack said.

“Um … Jack where's Spot?” I asked.

“Why do you wanna know?” Jack asked.

“Um no reason,” I said.

“Seems that you got a crush Ella.” Race teased.

“I do not,” I said, protecting myself.

“Even if you do, I don’t like the idea of it,” Jack sternly said.

The next day I was walking around the streets of New York with Davey we were selling papers together. It was a sunny day, but not so scorching that we couldn't do what had to be done. I was making a living for myself selling papers, along with singing at Medda’s I was a 16 year old Newsie who had been used to seeing her brother get chased by the Bulls everyday. I’m a very odd girl but in a good way. I'm the little sister of Jack Kelly, and friends with all his friends.

I'm 4’11, got long reddish copper hair, and brown eyes. Jack says I have a sense of style but I don't think I do. That wasn't until I met Spot Colon he was smart tough and really sweet.

But Jack would never let me go out with him.

“Daniella? You okay?” Davey asked me.

“Yeah I'm all right,” I said.

“You're day dreaming again?” Davey said knowingly.

“No, I’m not!” I said defensively.

“Come on Dani,” Davey said.

“Okay, fine I was,” I confessed.

“About what?” Davey asked me smirking.

“Spot….” I said quietly.

“What?” He asked.

“Spot!” I said a little louder.

“Dani you know Jack won't like this,” he warned.

“He doesn't have to know, as long as you don't tell please don't tell him Davey!” I said begging.

“Daniella, I'm very close to Jack I can't just not say anything, especially bout his little sister's whereabouts!” He said protectively.

“Come on Davey don't tell me you're on Jack’s side on this?” I asked.

He sighs.

“We're finished with this conversation.” Davey said sternly.

I looked at him sadly.

“No Dani I'm gonna take this up with Jack see what he says.”

“But Davey!” I began.

“No buts!” he said.

I took the rest of my papers and walked ahead of him angry and upset.

“Dani! Jack said to stay with me!” Davey yelled after me.

“I don't care anymore!” I yelled back.

“But what bout the Delancey brothers?” Davey asked.

“So what!” I ran off.

“Shit!” Davey exclaimed.

He ran the opposite way and got Jack.

“Jack, Jack it's Daniella ….” Davey said panting.

“What's wrong? Davey?” Jack asked.

“I was with Daniella and we had a little disagreement and she ran off I tried to stop her honestly Jack.” Davey was cut off.

“Where'd she run off to?” Jack asked.

“I fear she's headed for Brooklyn.” Davey said.

“I’ve told her never to set foot in Brooklyn!” Jack was very mad by this point.

“Yeah I know,” Davey said.

“She told me how she was daydreaming about Spot Colon and how she liked him and all that junk,” Davey said.

“I don't care how close I am with him I don’t trust him with my kid sister!” Jack said.

“Take me there Davey,” Jack ordered.

“Okay,” Davey said.

So Jack and Davey headed to Brooklyn after me.

They found me with Spot.

“What the fuck Ella!” Jack says.

“Chill out Jacky boy,” Spot says.

“I want to be with Spot. Jack, calm down,” I said reassuringly.

Part two will be coming soon! That is if this one gets accepted!

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Daniella Farras

I'm 22 I love writing it's my passion, I love writing stories. https://www.wattpad.com/user/DaniFarras also this wattpad account is mine im most likely going to transfer my works from there to here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.