Geeks logo

Netflix; 'Stranger Things 3' Review and Anticipations for 'OITNB' and 'Wentworth'.

SPOILERS AHEAD!

By Kira Lydia G.Published 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
One of many promo images for the latest and greatest season!

I've been watching from the beginning, so let me start by saying this season was very well written and performed, not to mention how amazingly it continued the story. I personally love that we start off seeing how Eleven and Hopper are feeding into a normal Father/Daughter relationship and his fears of her changing and growing up manifest in the protective way it would have if his actual daughter was still alive. We see so much drama and a new side of Murray Bauman who had helped point out Nancy and Jonathon's tension the season prior, well he's at it again once we get into this season while his role also becomes more integral to the plot and main group. We love seeing the monsters taking different shapes and forms this season as it starts with rats before Billy is turned into the main host, which brings more side characters to the Flayer. As the flayer grows and hunts our favorite group of now teenagers, we see a more grotesque side to the writing. Now the Flayer is hunting El and the end for Billy is more shocking and redeeming in our hearts than Dustin and Suzie singing "Never Ending Story."

The cast truly outdo themselves with keeping the secrets and making hilarious and touching appearances to promote the show. Just can't wait to to see them all grow up with their characters!I

Spoilers below this image! Do NOT scroll unless you are ready!

How the ending had us looking at our screens.So

Now for my favorite spoilers! I loved how the Russians were the bad guys without actually being the only monster... Eleven managed to save herself from the Flayer not with her powers, but by connecting with Billy's core emotions, and making him feel truly seen before he sacrificed himself to hold off the huge Flayer to give her more time. Now I'm hoping that Hopper isn't actually dead and comes back next season because there was no definitive proof he died in that blast. I feel like he could have braved the upside down or even just gotten captured by the Russians, considering he was not on the platform when the machine exploded.

Now I did have just a few problems with points in the season. At the point where Steve and Robin were captured, why didn't the Russians just kill them? How did Dustin and Erica not think to grab more than one of the cattle prod type weapons if they were available? Why does Murray of all people know Russian? Why does El actually lose her powers so easily? And why in the hell didn't Joyce and Hopper get the keys turned quickly, therefore almost losing the chance to finish things that easily?

I know those answers could easily be answered, but it just bothers me. Overall this was my favorite part of this holiday weekend, seconded by seeing Pat Benatar live!

My Hopes for Season 7 of 'Wentworth'

Releasing to Netflix In August.Pr

In all the trailers and Behind-the-Scenes videos I've seen the tension is building. I love the newer characters just as much as the old and I'm very excited to see even more personal development. We left off on season six with the scene above, Rita standing over and killing Drago, in a big move to protect Ruby. Ruby killed Marie's son Danny, and Marie and Ruby were both involved with Allie. But also looming over the whole situation is Kaz and Liz's early onset Dementia. If you're caught up or interested in starting the whole show, you won't want to miss any of it.

I have re-watched this show so many times just to see if I can spot even more nods to its origins, and all the intricate relationships between characters solely because it is worth every hour of enjoyment.

The final season 'OITNB'

Coming out July 26th.

This final season of Orange is the New Black will pick up mostly with Piper on the outside, learning how to live like her old self, except she still has to go back to see Alex. She is shown working a job and making new friends.

We will also hopefully get to gain some closure on our other favorite inmates. I am mostly concerned for Lorna who we were left with a cliffhanger, she was bleeding and all we wanted to know was if the baby was coming or if she was losing it. Not to mention we see certain inmates being transferred to a detention camp for immigrants. I'm curious how the relationships play out, I'm ready to see the guards getting some punishment for the prisoner fantasy league.

review
Like

About the Creator

Kira Lydia G.

I love writing even if I'm not great. I've lost almost everything else I care about...

I also write fan fictions! Check it out and come back to tip me if you like it! https://www.fanfiction.net/~kitsunegirly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.