Geeks logo

Netflix's new release, "Never Have I Ever"

Review after a 5 hour binge - No Spoilers

By Ally McleanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
"Never Have I Ever" - starring Maitrevi Ramakrishnan

If you're anything like me, Netflix has recommended this to you non stop. They see me watching trashy teen dramas and they know I eat that shit up. But "Never Have I Ever" feels different. Better. Higher quality. Higher stakes. Deeper than Riverdale and more realistic than Gossip Girl.

If Netflix hasn't been recommending "Never Have I Ever" up your ass, here's a brief overview and review - so you can decide if it'll be something you want to spend your time on.

"Never Have I Ever" is the story of Devi, an Indian American high school student navigating life and relationships in the wake of her fathers untimely passing. But it is more than just a teen drama. Whenever someone recommends a new show for me to watch, I always have a few questions. So I've answered them all for you, and hopefully you can make an informed decision.

Is it cheesy and predictable? Yes.

But why is that a bad thing? Any teen drama is going to be full of angst, and Maitreyi Ramakrishnan portrayed that incredibly well for such a green actress. There's always going to be cringey moments in any teen drama, but this one was full of legit humour. I actually burst out laughing multiple times each episode.

Is it super funny? Yes.

Mindy Kaling created it, so of course it's hilarious. Andy Samberg also makes a narration appearance. Devi is snarky and hilarious, along with the rest of her family, while sharing their grief and living their life.

Is it emotionally deep and make me cry multiple times? Yes.

It's about her dad dying, of course it made me cry. She's dealing with the loss of a parent while also still in denial about it. Of course it made me cry.

Are the characters ethnically diverse? Yes.

As Devi is Indian American, and Hindu, there's plenty of diversity there within her family. Devi's two best friends are diverse; one black and one asian. Her nemesis is a rich Jew. She makes a friend who has downs syndrome and is written and treated like an actual person not a token or a caricature. Her crush is one quarter Japanese, so that counts, right? You have to try hard to find a named character who is plain white. The best part of their ethnic diversity is that it isn't a main fixture of their persona. It's matter of fact diversity. It isn't a gimmick, or token. It's fact.

Are the characters well developed, well rounded, and 3 dimensional? Yes.

Devi's family and friends all have their own story arcs. While Devi is obviously the starring lead, everyone else grows and has their own story. There is a coming out story arc, a long lost mother who lied for a long time story arc, and a resistance to an arranged marriage, and what is a teen drama without a love triangle? All of those (except the love triangle) stand on their own without Devi. The side characters aren't just there to prop up Devi and her story, but have their own lives.

Are the characters likeable? Yes.

I usually hate everyone in these kinds of shows, but I legit love them all. They all have a full background with room to grow. The writers haven't written themselves into a corner, but given each character hope for their future, as well as the opportunity to fail and learn from their mistakes.

But Devi's mum is my favourite character.

Is it realistic and relatable to what I remember feeling during an angst filled adolescence? Yes.

So much angst and teen tantrums - something I'm embarrassed to admit, I relate to the teen tantrums. Just ask my sisters. They love to bring it up.

Devi's got some rage.

Would I watch again? Absolutely!

Maybe not today. Need to recover, but for sure another day.

Would I recommend? Yes.

It is an extremely well written, well rounded show, with plenty of lessons on relationships, friendships, family, grief, trauma, and I'm sure something else too. The team have exceeded my expectations and given me my new favourite isolation show - it's overtaken Tiger King, so that's huge for me.

I really hope there's a second season. They left us on a love triangle cliff hanger and I need to know what happens.

10/10 You should go watch it.

tv
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.