Geeks logo

Netflix Must See Movies

January Edition

By Altair EPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
A screenshot from my netflix screen. 

On days that are too cold or even days that you are snowed in, it seems like such a hassle to find a movie. We spend more time looking for a movie rather than actually watching a movie. Here are some of my favorite movies as of right now. I can watch these any given time. These are going to be only movies on Netflix.

Now some of my favorite movies are...

1. The Place Beyond the Pines (Dir. Derek Cianfrance)

A stellar film featuring Ryan Gosling (who is a total babe with his blonde hair), Eva Mendes, and Bradley Cooper. It's an eye opening film about the importance of family and is definitely going to cause a few tears to slide down your face. I love the themes of this movie and find that Gosling and Mendes did an amazing job at collaborate to give the watcher emotion.

2. Southpaw (Dir. Antoine Fuqua)

What I consider a phenomenal actor is one that you know of but cannot recognize their personality throughout the film, with that being said Jake Gyllenhaal did an absolutely stunning job at this throughout the film. Alongside Rachel McAdams, they play lovers whose love becomes detrimental because of Jake Gyllenhaal's characters job, which is boxing. Another film that will most definitely produce tears. A movie like this is a must see but also forewarning, there is a lot of blood.

3. Midnight in Paris (Dir. Woody Allen)

As an art lover, this film is just majestic. Owen Wilson and Rachel McAdams are the main actors but there are a few beloved surprise cameos throughout the film (Yes, Adrien Brody caught my eye right when I seen him). This film is about a guy who finds himself reliving the same night in Paris. It has a ton of informational and artistic elements throughout the film. It is definitely a great film.

4. Begin Again (Dir. John Carney)

Begin Again is a romantic comedy featuring Mark Ruffalo and Kiera Knightley. This movie is a change of pace compared to the first two. It is about a guy that is interested in music yet has no job. And a girl that is interested in singing but also has no job. So, what do they do? They try to give a career to one another.

5. Boyhood (Dir. Richard Linklater)

Last but certainly not least, I saved my favorite film ever that is on Netflix at the moment ;), Boyhood. This was a film that Richard Linklater directed in a time period of over nearly 10 years. Throughout the film you can see the difference of technology and how Linklater was able to produce the film as if it were not a bunch of old pieces of film put together. The actors, Ethan Hawke and Ellar Coltrane, did an amazing job and their personality definitely stole the screen.

How I decide a movie is good in my own personal opinion matters on three important things.

1. Cinematography

Not every movie is going to look like a Christopher Nolan film, but when a movie puts effort into their cinematography, I as a viewer, can tell and is appreciative towards it. Speaking of which, why doesn't Netflix feature more Christopher Nolan films? His whole discography should be on there for crying out loud.

2. Director

I will always look at the director and determine if the 2 hours is worth it. When I see directors such as Christopher Nolan, Stanley Kubrick, or someone new to me, I get excited to see their personal identity on the screen. Directors do not get enough credit. I personally think directors can be almost as important as the cast.

3. Soundtrack

When a movie has a stellar soundtrack, it captivates me. I love movies that are smart about the sounds they pick.

Suggest me some movies on my social medias. Let's just have a discussion on movies.

Instagram- @Altairego

Twitter- @Altairego_

movie
Like

About the Creator

Altair E

thoughts become things

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.