Geeks logo

National Superhero Day 2020

Celebrating fictional and real life heroes who are our inspirations

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

Happy National Superhero Day, everyone. This day occurs every year on April 28. Here’s one fun fact about it: employees at Marvel Comics founded this day back in 1995. The purpose of it was for people to come together and celebrate their fictional or real life heroes. This is the 25th anniversary of the event and I have three superheroes I want to showcase. Whenever I put on a costume, I always feel like saving the world and people. You’re never too old or too young to dress up as your favorite superhero. Currently, we’re going through a health crisis, but this is a perfect day to remind ourselves that there’s always hope and can get through anything.

Blue Ranger

The mighty Blue Ranger doesn’t have a cape, but he doesn’t need one in order to kick Morphin butt and being part of a Morphinominal team. He’s always been my favorite and can relate to his character.

Superman

Out of all the DC characters, Superman is my overall favorite. He was the first DC character I’ve done back in 2016. The pic you see above is from 2018. He reminds us that anyone can be just like him, especially in real life. Superman is all about fighting for truth, justice, and the American Way.

Captain Spidey

This guy doesn’t have his own comic book yet, but Captain Spidey is part of the Spiderverse. I had to add him to my list, because I always receive positive feedback on my pictures. In November 2018, my first Spider-Man suit arrived to me. When I first tried on my Captain Spidey suit, I felt powerful and was ready to fight some bad guys. I went as him many times, including at cons, before my suit was unfortunately stolen by a thief or thieves over a month ago. However, all hope is not lost. I have another Spider-Man suit coming sometime this summer, so I can’t wait to share it with everyone. I’ll miss being Captain Spidey, but at least I have plenty of pictures of my cosplay to post online.

Last But Not Least...

I chose this image, because nurses and doctors deserve so much credit and appreciation for caring for millions of people during the Coronavirus pandemic. They’re working long hours in order to keep us safe and in my opinion, they should get a huge raise and paid time off. I’m confident that this crisis will subside and go away soon. Nurses and doctors everywhere are our true heroes during these difficult times. Be sure to thank them for all the hard work that they do.

Who is your favorite superhero and why? I’m now on TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas. I’m always in need of new followers. Mention that you’ve found me on Vocal and I’ll follow back. Check out and enjoy my videos. Be sure to follow me on social media. The info to all of my social media pages can be found in my bio. If you enjoyed any of my articles, including this one, please feel free to send me a one-off tip, which is located at the end of every article. No tip is ever too big or small. It'll help me and other Vocal content creators to write better stories. Also, I encourage everyone to join Vocal+, a premium membership for Vocal content creators like me to write better stories, connect with creators, and a lot more. So be sure to sign up for that membership and support your favorite Vocal content creators.

superheroes
2

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.