Geeks logo

Mysterious Notebook

A look into the origin of Bitcoin

By Gabrielle GreetanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Mysterious Notebook
Photo by André François McKenzie on Unsplash

As I look through all of my dad's belongings, trying to hold back my tears, I see a strange notebook on the floor of the attic. It has been three months since my dad passed away and I am finally able to sort through the things left to me in his will. So here I am, in a hot attic a few weeks before my birthday, looking at a bunch of junk that my dad never threw away. Yet, this notebook does not look like junk. I bring it downstairs and sit on the couch to look at it. It looks like whatever is in it was quite important to my dad. The front of it has a weird title on it called 'Bitcoin'. "Isn't Bitcoin that virtually currency?", I think to myself. "Why would dad have a notebook with 'Bitcoin' on it?". I never thought of my dad as savvy with technology. I had to set up his first smartphone for him and teach him how to use it. So for him to have something potentially connected to Bitcoin is intriguing. Once I open the notebook I am shocked at what I find. The first page is packed with names and contact information, but the one that sticks out the most is 'Satoshi Nakamoto'. I have never heard of this name before, so I take out my phone and dial the number underneath the name. "This number does not exist? Why would my dad have a number that does not exist?" I say to myself. That is when I start to flip through the pages of the notebook and a piece of paper falls out. The paper says:

"Gabby,

If you are reading this then you found this notebook. I know that this all might seem very confusing to you, but I wanted to keep my identity a secret because I did not know how the media would receive something like virtual currency. Even though everything is online these days, I was still worried because of all my previous failed business ventures. This notebook contains all the details you will need to keep Bitcoin going, and how to keep your identity a secret if you wish as well. I have gone by the name 'Satoshi Nakamoto' since the inception of Bitcoin with the fake number that you probably already tried calling haha. I apologize for my lies the past few years, but I did not want to burden you knowing this great secret while I was still alive. I am the founder of Bitcoin. The names on the first page are for all the people who helped me conceive Bitcoin and release it into the masses. They all know me as Satoshi Nakamoto. I have created a fake profile for you also, which you will find on the back of this note. They know you will be contacting them all within the months following my death to continue the business. The reason why I started Bitcoin was because I wanted to do something that seemed outlandish but that would prove to be successful in our growing media. I wanted something that can be used as currency but kept people safe without having to put in their personal information every time they wanted to make a purchase. I know this might seem confusing and you might not want any part of it, but just read through the notebook and make an informed decision. There was no one else I wanted or trusted to take over the company when I was gone. All you have to do know is make a few phone calls a year and virtually monitor how everything is doing.

Love,

Dad"

I cannot believe what I just read. My dad started Bitcoin. What the heck!?! I am the heiress to Bitcoin and nobody besides me and my dad knows. I guess I only have one thing left to do; take over Bitcoin and make my dad proud.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.