Geeks logo

My Will Smith "Genie" Parody

Time to "Get Genie With It"

By Jeffrey BentleyPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
Jeffrey B, that's me!

This is my very first parody gone public. My Will Smith "Genie" Parody! I've been making up songs for years, but this is the first time that I actually did something with it for other people to enjoy. I felt like with all the smack that's been going on towards Will Smith about his first appearance as the genie in Disney's new 2019 live-action film, Aladdin, that he deserved some kind of praise for it. Mind you, yes, I did use his music from Fresh Prince of Bel-Air to make this song a reality, but I did it all in good fun. Trust me, compared to the other stuff that is out there, this is very minor as far as making fun of this thing goes. I mean, honestly people, what did you expect?

I am actually glad that Will Smith is doing some kind of comedy again, and he is bringing back his feeling of "whatever, I'm doing my own thing," if you can't already tell from the preview. It's been a while since we've seen THIS Will Smith. By that, I mean the Will Smith that most of us grew up with. The Will Smith from not only Fresh Prince, but Men in Black (MIB). Now don't get me wrong, the original Independence Day and the Bad Boys movies had their moments of tongue and check, but nothing compares to that "happy-go-lucky" carefree Will Smith that we saw in MIB #1 where we loved him playing opposite of the stern, straight to the point, black and white, no BS Agent K, as portrayed by none other than the king of the poker face himself, Mr. Tommy Lee Jones. It was in that movie where we found out Agent J (Smith's character) obviously refused to "grow up." A valuable asset that was clearly brought over from being on a sit-com. The dynamic worked so well in that movie, and that is what we need to see again from Will Smith. The other movies he's done since then have been decently executed (Ali, The Pursuit of Happiness, Hancock, I Am Legend, Bright), but I cannot wait to see that inner child of his come out and play again in this role as the Genie. Yes, we all know he's no Robin Williams, but that may be the exact reason why the director chose him in the first place.

Now, this may not be true for some, but it seems like no one takes time out to think what the director went through in order to say "yes" to making Smith his final decision out of however many people were up for the role in the first place. Yes, I am looking forward to seeing this new adaption come to life based on the 1992 classic; absolutely. However, I also cannot wait to discover the "why" of this movie as well. This is what excites me the most! That and facing my fear of posting one of my creative projects for the first time to the public, of course. Hahahaha!

Here's a little bit about myself...

Some of you closer to me know me for my many faces, while a larger sum of you may know me better for my many voices.

I am a Northern Nevada Actor and Voice Over Artist who is known for my versatility, hard work, dedication to projects, and impersonations including such celebrities as Jim Carrey, Robin Williams, Eddie Izzard, Patrick Stewart, and Christopher Walken just to name a few.

I have lent my many voices to such clients as "Bristly: The Toothbrush for Dogs" where I played the voice of Max the pit-bull; The Heretic in the student short film Pharaoh for the School of Visual Arts; and for BackStab Game Studio and BoomBit Games, I gave life to 20 male characters in the game Tiny Gladiators 2 for your tablet and/or mobile device (Google Play; Apple Store).

I have also lent my talent to the live performance of Little Shop of Horrors where I provided the voice of the ominous and well-known killer alien plant, Audrey II. Nobody saw me perform (that was the puppeteer's job), but everybody heard me!

What's next on my agenda? Only time will tell. Perhaps the next project I'll be working on will be yours.

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.