Geeks logo

My Top Ten Movies of 2022

Starting the new year with the best films of the last

By Matty LongPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Happy new year. To start the year off, I thought it would make sense to count down my favourite movies of 2022, which was a great year for film. Many of my favourites were streamed on Netflix, which was convenient but does make me sad about the future of cinema. Thankfully, however, at least one of these was a classic big screen masterpiece.

5. Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery

‘Knives Out’ was of course brilliant. A modern spin on the murder mystery with a detective who we all already love. This sequel didn’t quite top it, but I enjoyed the same use of awful characters swarming, clever twists and mad humour. A nice Christmas treat. Don’t watch it with people who don’t concentrate/fall asleep is all I’ll say, however.

4. Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio

I watched this recently, at first thinking it was the same film as the much panned Disney version. I haven’t seen that version, but I already know it must be terrible compared to this visually beautiful, moving piece by Guillermo del Toro. Updating Pinocchio to Fascist Italy between the wars, like the original story, it’s not afraid to be dark in its tale of fathers and sons, what it means to be human, and what it means to really live. It also has a brillint voice cast; Ewan McGregor might just be a better cricket than the original Disney one. Oh, and of course, like all the best del Toro films, it has monsters. Both human and non-human. Can’t recommend enough.

3. All Quiet on the Western Front

I enjoyed Sam Mendes’ ‘1917’ as a brutal WWI movie, but I’m afraid this completely blew it out the water. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a war film so violently realistic, and I imagine it’s still nowhere near the real thing. Seen from the German perspective, I’ve never felt so bad for all the members of that generation who died so brutally. Anyone who has seen it will know what I mean when I talk about that scene with the tanks. And I know it’s a film with a message, but it really worked at making me very angry at the stupidity of the bloodshed.

2. Top Gun: Maverick

Having been told by older people what a summer blockbuster really is, I have to thank Tom Cruise and everyone involved in ‘Top Gun: Maverick’ for making me realise what it really is. I quite like ‘Top Gun,’ to be honest, but this was a sequel that took everything good about the original and turned it up to 11. And no, it didn’t make me want to join Top Gun, it just made me realise why I love movies so much. It’s an absolute thrill ride, and I’m so grateful I managed to catch it on the big screen (I think literally the last day it was out).

1. The Banshees of Inisherin

Number 1 this year was never going to be difficult. As a fan of Martin McDonagh (and his brother John’s) work, I already had high hopes for this and, although I didn’t really know what to expect, I wasn’t disappointed. Many films have captured the despair of growing old and realising you’ve amounted to nothing, but to do it as an Irish black comedy, with absolutely brilliant performances from Brendan Gleeson and Colin Farrell (especially Farrell) struck the profoundly hilarious chord that the subject matter required. And I’m also glad a Netflix film didn’t make the top spot. I’m excited to watch it again. Definitely one that will improve with every viewing. And definitely the best film of the year.

movielist
Like

About the Creator

Matty Long

Jack of all trades, master of watching movies. Also particularly fond of tea, pizza, country music, watching football, and travelling.

X: @eardstapa_

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.