Geeks logo

My Top Five Podcasts

Podcasts to Keep You Informed

By Atomic HistorianPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1

We all have a limited amount of time in our day. And many of us like learning new information. However, not everyone has the time to sit and read every news story or book. For me, that is where podcasts come in. Many people deride the idea of listening to podcasts. I was one of those people at one point, especially because my dad subjected me to many hours of talk radio as a child. However, podcasts are a long way from what talk radio used to be. Gone are the days where your only real options are a show with dry, but factual information versus amped political rants( those still exist, you just have more options now). If you’re looking for some casual listening that is also interesting, I recommend trying one of these five podcasts. The order of the list carries no weight, as I found it only fair to list them in chronological order when I started listening to them.

I was very excited when I found this podcast. I was especially happy, as the International Spy Museum produces the show. I was lucky enough to visit the International Spy Museum in 2008, and it is still one of my favorite museums. I began listening to SpyCast around 2015, and have looked forward to every episode since. No matter if they are interviewing a former intelligence officer, discussing the technology behind some of the most advanced espionage gear, or giving you an in-depth look at the modern world, you will enjoy this podcast if you are into all things related to espionage.

I began listening to Stuff To Blow Your Mind when the science podcast I had been listening to took a turn that was too political to be enjoyable for a science podcast. But luckily I found the great work of Robert Lamb and Joe McCormick. In the six years that I’ve been listening to the show, I have learned so much about science, mythology, evolution, and so much more than I could list here. Most importantly though, this show has introduced me to so many wild and fascinating subjects that I might not have ever known about.

Are you looking for a podcast that takes a serious and skeptical view of conspiracies and conspiracy theories? Then Stuff They Don’t Want You To Know has what you need. Come listen to the dulcet tones of Matt, Ben, and Noel as they take you on adventures, wild and strange. Abandon the world of conspiracy theorists for the world of conspiracy realists. In this show, you will find strange tales of some of the world's wildest by true conspiracies, and get a critical look at some of the world’s wildest conspiracy theories. I have been listening to STDWYTK for six years, and they have never disappointed me, and I’m sure you won’t be either.

Do you love history? Do you have a masochistic need to learn about the worst people and events in history? Or are you just a fan of bagels and machetes? Well, has Robert Evans got a show for you! Come listen and learn about all of the terrible things the world has to offer, as Robert punctuates each episode with his brand of comedy? (I’m joking, this show does get really funny. Or I just have a dark sense of humor). You learn about everything from Hitler’s obsession with the American cowboy to Saddam Hussein’s romance novels. But don’t stop there, because this show has many wild and wonderful tales of the worst people in history.

Do you like keeping up with events in the world, but other presenters are tiresome or boring? Then come check out Angry Planet. I have been listening to this show since it was in its War College days, and can’t imagine a week going by where Jason Fields and Matthew Gault aren’t bringing me some of the most important news from around the world. If you’re looking for a show that has thoughtful and unbiased coverage of offbeat news stories from around the world, then look no further than Angry Planet.

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Twitter @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

product review
1

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.