Geeks logo

My Top Favorite Movies

Bear with me.

By Morgan VeyseyPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
(Source: WeHeartIt)

It's a Saturday night and I'm sitting alone, in my dorm, racking my head on what to do with my life. Why not watch a movie?

There are a few movies I hold close to home, and they are:

If you know the movie, then you'll recognize the scene in the cover picture. It's a good movie that uses a few of my favorite things; music, vintage aesthetic, a love story, and New York City. The way the movie applies Beetle's songs to the storyline is genius and will remain number one in my heart.

The original, starring Richard Dreyfuss, was a movie that I could watch on Netflix on repeat. That is, until it was moved onto the DVD portion of the site. The movie that matches up well (not perfectly, but well enough) to the book is a dated thriller that I fell in love with. Plus, Mythbusters dedicated an episode to point out all the flaws in the movie, and who doesn't love Mythbusters?

Who doesn't love a good Johnny Depp movie? I used to fall asleep watching the movie and would wake up to Armie Hammer dressed as a cowboy. The movie itself was a good film for a summer day, and sparked a forgotten love of the Wild West in me. I have never seen the original TV show the movie was based off of, but this still is a favorite for me.

While I love the entire series of Indy, including Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, the first movie with Indy is probably my favorite, with The Holy Grail coming at a close second. I was grown up with the movies being played every time my parents had friends come over, so I know the storyline by heart. And, almost the entire script.

No, not the new Jared Leto movie on Netflix. The greasers versus the Socs. One of the few movies that actually matches up well with the book it was based on, and I can't get enough of it. Again, I'm a sucker for vintage aesthetics. The movie lives up to it well, and I was sobbing at the end like when I read the book.

While those are my top five, there are of course a few more that I would recommend:

Alfred Hitchcock was the master of suspense, and this movie is my personal favorite of his. The movie that started the re-creations and parodies of other movies and some TV show episodes, the idea of catching a murder from your own home is something that intrigues me. Plus, the romantic life between the two main characters makes my heart ache.

For some reason I love this movie. Maybe it's because I also have tinnitus, and an obsession with music to battle it, or because I love a cute love story. But, as far as newly released movies go, this was one that actually stood out in my mind.

Whenever I'm feeling down on myself, I watch this movie and enjoy a little cry time. This movie reminded me that it's okay to be an outsider, and of course there's the famous quote: "We expect the love we think we deserve." As cliche as it is, it helps to hear that.

One of the only horror movies that I actually enjoy, and that caused me to cry at the ending. Sharlto Copley stole my heart in the re-created A-Team movie as Murdock, but placing him in a horror movie created a perfect recipe for a perfect movie.

If there's one movie I think everyone should watch, it's The Breakfast Club. Especially when going into High School when you don't know if you'll fit in or not. I was told that Mean Girls was a movie that every girl was required to watch, but in my opinion, it will always be The Breakfast Club.

I hope you enjoy these recommendations, happy viewings!

movie
Like

About the Creator

Morgan Veysey

21 year old student. Full time English major, part time History & Philosophy minor.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.