Geeks logo

My Top 5 Recommended Reads

Five Book I've Loved and Could Easily Read Again

By Stephi DurandPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

Now I don't know about you, but I definitely like to sit and read a good book... from time to time. I'm the type of person who you'll see read a whole series in a week and then not touch a book for four months, but, when I get into a reading frenzy I just love grabbing a cup of tea, said book, and just crashing. Pure bliss.

Unless it's a really disappointing book then god help me...

But today! We're ignoring the bad books, and getting into some that I love and think you should give a go!

My go-to genre is definitely crime. I love reading a good crime novel, and I'm always trying to figure out who the killer is before the protagonist does. Although I have a big love for crime novels, I've kept the list as broad as possible.

So let's get started!

The Wreck of the Zanzibar - Michael Morpurgo

The Wreck of The Zanzibar by Michael Morpurgo

Life on the Scilly Isles in 1907 is bleak and full of hardship Laura's twin brother, Billy, disappears and then a storm devastates everything. It seems there's little hope... that is until the Zanzibar is wrecked on the islands rocks and everything changes...

This was the first Michael Morpurgo book I ever read, and 20 books later, it had to be the top of my recommended list. I love his work, and I could never recommend it more than I do.

Dream House - Marzia Bisognin

Dream House by Marzia Bisognin

Amethyst thought the Blooms were the perfect hosts... until they disappeared.

The couple I had the pleasure of meeting must have worked hard to create this love nest of theirs, and there's no conceivable reason for them to just walk out on it. They wouldn't just leave me. Would they? They probably went out; that would explain it. It is Monday after all, and people have things to do. Not me, but normal people. Jobs, chores, shopping, walking the dog. Personally, I don't even know where I'm supposed to be. Would anyone care where I am? What do I usually do with my time?

Dozens of questions suddenly start popping into my brain, and with the violent blizzard of thoughts, my head starts pounding, as though it's in some way wrong of me to want to know the answers.

When I saw that Marzia had published a book, I was definitely interested in giving it a try. A Couple months later I managed to find a copy and I couldn't put it down until it was done. I was drawn in the entire time - and even had a few tears at the end - and I was so, so glad I had read it. My only regret was not finding it sooner!

Grimm Fairytales

Grimm Fairytales

Grimm Fairytales, reprinted July, 1931.

Like Fairytales? Like Grimm? Want to hear the original versions of the likes of: Snow-White and Red-Rose, Hansel and Grethel, Cinderela, and Rumplestiltskin? Then I cannot recommend this enough, as you can see from my version, I have a very old copy which has severely worn down over the years. I loved this, reading the original tales, some of which I hadn't even heard of, once I finish reading Hans Christian Andersons fairytales I may just be tempted to reread this one!

Talking as fast as I can - Lauren Graham

Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham

This book contains some stories from my life: the awkward growing-up years, the confusing dating years, the fulfilling working years and what it was like to be asked to play one of my favourite characters again. Also included, tales of living on a houseboat, meeting guys at award shows and that time I was asked to be a butt model. A hint: all three made me seasick.

Calling all Gilmore Girls fans! You have to read this. When reading this I could read it in Laurens voice, I was laughing and crying throughout the books (although crying when it came to the girlmore girls part... you'll understand when reading) and I'm still trying to get my momma (another girlmore girl lover) to finally sit down and give it a read!

Déjà Dead - Kathy Reichs

Déja Dead by Katchy Reichs

The meticulously dismembered body of a woman is discovered in the grounds of an abandoned monastery. 'Too decomposed for standard autopsy. Request anthropologic expertise.'

Enter Dr Tempernce Brennan, Director of Forensic Anthropology for the province of Quebec, who has been researching recent disappearances in the city. Despite the deep cynicism of Detective Claudel who heads the investigation, Brennan is convinced that a serial killer is at work. Her forensic expertise finally coninces Claudel, but only after the body count has risen... Tempe takes matters into her own hands, but her determined probing places those closest to her in mortal danger. Can Tempe make her crucial breakthrough before the killer strikes again?

Real long blurb, I'll admit I forgot about that.

I read the books (I'm still only a few into her Temperance Brennan series) because of  my love for the TV show Bones. I really wanted to see where the inspiration came from, and while I love the show, it was fascinating seeing Brennan and Agent Andy (Can we get a page 182 am I right?) and just how different book Tempe is to TV Tempe. I do suggest you give this one, and possibly the rest of the series a go! If you're in any way fascinated with forensic anthropology and crime, then this is for you!

Books top to bottom: Déja Dead, The Wreck of the Zanzibar, Dream House, Talking as Fast as I Can, Grimm Fairytales

I hope you've enjoyed todays post, and found some new books to try! If you decide to give one ago, please let me know! Or, if you've already read some, tell me what you thought! I'd love to get chatting about books!

What books do you recommend?

list
Like

About the Creator

Stephi Durand

Indie Author | Content Creator

'Look Up' is available to purchase at all online book retailers in Paperback and eBook.

Writing here, writing there, writing everywhere...

Instagram: @stevie_dd

Twitter: @StephiDurand

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.