Geeks logo

My Top 5 Geeky Shirts

How They Became Part of My Everyday Wardrobe

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Green With Evil

Wearing geeky shirts are a way to express who I am. In my early 20s, I started to wear them and by the time I turned 30, I had over two dozen shirts. Many people ask me why I wear them and the reasons are obvious: they fit and I love them. I plan to continue wearing geeky shirts forever. On social media, I use #geekyshirtfriday to post which shirt I'll be wearing every Friday. One week it would be a Nintendo shirt and the following week, it would be a Power Rangers shirt. It all depends on the type of mood I'm in. I'm going to share my five best geeky shirts. Hope you enjoy this wonderful list.

5. 'Super Mario Bros. 3'

Making it to World 7 was the farthest I've gone in this game, so I'm hoping to complete Worlds 7 and 8 soon. Super Mario Bros. 3 is my third favorite Mario game behind Super Mario Bros. and Mario Kart 64. I loved wearing this shirt, because of Raccoon Mario, which you can see in my picture, and he has the ability to fly. If you were to ask me which character in Super Mario Bros. 3 is my favorite, I would say Frog Mario and Raccoon Mario. Besides, I can't just choose one.

4. Nintendo 'Back In The Day' Shirt

This shirt 100 percent defines me, because the Nintendo Entertainment System (NES) was and will always be my first love. It was the first game system I ever laid my hands on. The first game I played on there was Super Mario Bros. and then Duck Hunt soon after. I played Duck Hunt using the NES Zapper, an electronic light gun. I had a hard time shooting the ducks and not knowing at the time that I can shoot the dog, too. I've been playing retro games for almost 30 years, so wearing this shirt with pride is a reminder that I'll always be an old school gamer.

3. 'Mortal Kombat'

Besides Street Fighter, Mortal Kombat is my other favorite fighting game franchise. Any time I wear this shirt, I pretend that I'm one of my favorite characters. I didn't get into it until 1995 when Ultimate Mortal Kombat 3 was released. At the time, I didn't mind the gore and violent content in that game and other Mortal Kombat games I've played over the years. My favorite characters are Sub Zero, Kano, Jax, Raiden, Nightwolf, Ermac, Reptile, Scorpion, Noob Saibot, and Stryker. I love the fatalities and everything about Mortal Kombat. I do plan on cosplaying as any of the characters that I mentioned in the future, but Sub Zero and Reptile are my top two cosplays as of right now.

2. Superman

I love me some Superman and he is one of my favorite DC Comics characters. He taught us that we can all be like him and do great things for others. Last week was Superman Day and I shared pictures of me on social media as Clark Kent and as Superman, of course. Many people would say that Superman is overrated and lame. Well, I disagree and he isn't going anywhere. He's an iconic character who stands for truth, justice, and The American Way. I have two Superman shirts and a tank top. I'll always have love for and defend the Man of Steel. I've been a fan of Superman since the early '90s: watching the TV shows and movies. So this shirt makes me feel powerful and like a superhero.

1. Blue Ranger Shirt

It's Morphin Time! Triceratops! I had to save this for last, because Power Rangers is my fandom. Many of my friends and followers know that I cosplay as the mighty Blue Ranger. I have been doing that for a year and a half and it identifies who I am as a person. I can relate to the character, Billy, on a couple of things: we're both intelligent and friendly towards others. May the power protect you.

apparel
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.