Geeks logo

My Thoughts About Jason David Frank

Keeping It Real About the Green Ranger Himself

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

With his loyal fans on social media supporting him all the way, Power Rangers star Jason David Frank has a fanbase who's always on his side and devoted to him. Growing up, I loved his character, Tommy Oliver, and watching him on Mighty Morphin Power Rangers. The five part series, Green With Evil, was amazing and got to witness Tommy becoming the sixth Power Ranger. However, as I've gotten older, Jason's antics and attention seeking ways has turned me off. Let me be clear about a few things. I'm a huge Power Rangers fan. That's my fandom and will always show love and appreciation for the franchise. So whenever I see someone do something that's uncalled for or inappropriate, I'm not afraid to call them out. Just because I'm a Power Rangers fan, it doesn't mean I always have to like someone or agree with everything. I'm going to speak the truth and be brutally honest, whether you like it or not.

First and foremost, I still have love for Jason David Frank and give him kudos for the accomplishments he's achieved over the last 20 years. I'm not going to take those accolades away from him. There are a few things that he does online that irritates me. The first is him constantly showing off his cars, jewelry, and being attention seeking. I understand that he's wealthy, but why does he feel the need to front for his fans and everyone else? In other words, why does he feel like he's so much better than everybody? There's only one explanation: he's trying to stay relevant. Since Power Rangers ended, I haven't seen him in other tv shows, movies, or done any voice over work that's not Power Rangers related. I'd like to see Jason in more projects as opposed to playing the same role repeatedly, which is the Green Ranger.

Over a year ago, a man was arrested for bringing weapons to Phoenix Comic Con in an attempt to potentially harm Jason David Frank. Fast forward a year after the incident: Jason was interviewed about the whole ordeal. What didn't sit well with me was he made the whole situation about himself instead of the safety of all con goers becoming the main priority. I shared that article on my Instagram page and one of my followers commented that he just wants to stay relevant, as I have mentioned earlier. I had to give Jason the major side-eye for his interview. I wasn't feeling his response at all.

During the red carpet movie premiere of Power Rangers last year, four of the Mighty Morphin Power Rangers cast members (Austin St. John, Walter Jones, David Yost, and Jason David Frank) reunited for the event to show support for the movie. Someone on my Facebook page mentioned to me that Jason and Austin had supposedly had a beef over 20 years ago. It was unclear what the disagreement was about. I gave both men the side-eye, because I never believed that they truly made up. I believed that they said that for social media and save face. If they really made up, they should've done it years ago.

Since 2012, Jason has been obsessed with wanting to fight former WWE star, Phil Brooks, also known as CM Punk. CM Punk is now a UFC Fighter and he has never responded to Jason's requests. Honestly, I'm not sure if that fight will happen, but who knows. I hope that CM Punk wins his first UFC match soon and has no time to entertain foolishness.

Before anyone says that I completely hate Jason David Frank, I don't. I do like him, but I'm not a fan of his online antics and being a complete show off on social media. I know his fans will come at me, cuss me out, I'm mean, bitter, and tell me that I'm a hater, but I don't care. I'm just going to be told a bunch of nonsense. His fans are too afraid to call him out anytime he acts a fool. I'm not going to be one of those people. His fans also believe that no one has the right to judge or criticize him. I'm sorry, but no actor, actress, or anyone is exempt from criticism, whatsoever. People do have a right to judge anyone, no matter who that person is. Everyone has a opinion about you: good, bad, or indifferent. Famous or not, I expect everyone to act accordingly as human beings. I don't care what Jason David Frank did back in the day. All I care about is how he's treating his fans today. I don't live vicariously through celebrities, because at the end of the day, they're regular people just like us. Being humble comes a long way, so I just want Jason to humble himself. I want the best for him and he needs to realize that not everyone is going to be a fan of his. Most people see him as an attention seeking person, based on the stuff I've read online over the last few years. I was going to keep it real about Jason David Frank and that's what I did. I'm not going to apologize for being honest and for those offended by everything that I've said about him, I just wish y'all the best. If I'm going to be honest about something or somebody, that's what I'll continue to do.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.