Geeks logo

My Movie Soundtrack

Inspired by a random tiktok, here is the soundtrack to the movie where I am the main character.

By SHPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
My Movie Soundtrack
Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

Does anyone else aimlessly scroll through tiktok in their free time? As I was scrolling through the app one day, I came across a tiktok that said to put your music on shuffle and the next twelve songs describe this (all those items will be in the list below). I love doing random things like that so I decided to give it a go. As I was going through the songs, I thought to myself that this sounds like it would be a soundtrack to a movie with me as the main character. I sat down to write this to share what my movie soundtrack would be and my thoughts about each random song!

My movie soundtrack:

1st song describes 2021:

Raise You Up/Just Be – Kinky Boots

I love that this song came up as my song that describes my 2021. I have been actively choosing to be there for my friends who need it the most by checking in on them and seeing what they need from me to continue to “raise them up” when they need that extra support. This year has been a year to really be myself more and accepting my identities and who I am more. After moving away from a toxic environment, I chose to acknowledge the identities I didn’t want to accept and be more of who I am. This song was very fitting to describe my 2021.

2nd song will play at my wedding:

My Most Beautiful Day – Tuck Everlasting

This song was genuinely perfect. In the musical “Tuck Everlasting”, the character Mae Tuck is singing about how her wedding day was the most beautiful day. As she is singing this song to the character Winnie Foster, she is reminiscing on a day she will never forget. I thought it was perfect that this song is what my spotify randomly chose for this option.

3rd song will play at my funeral:

Heart Attack – Demi Lovato

I thought the title of this song was hilarious as it came up for this category. While I know that this song isn’t about like an actual heart attack, I thought it was very fitting for this category. Now I have questions for the universe. Is this how I’m dying in the future? Am I going to have a heart attack? We’ll find out when the time comes, I guess.

4th song describes myself:

A Map of New York – If/Then

I like that this is the song that describes myself. I didn’t understand why at first, but then I listened to the lyrics. The characters in this song are singing about areas of New York that holds specific memories for them (e.g., first job, worst job, special moments, exciting memories) and I am a very sentimental person for things like that. Before I moved to CO, I lived in PA, about two hours from NYC. Every time I would go to the city, I would simply reminisce about the good times I had at certain locations (e.g., restaurants, stores, parks, theatres). So, it makes sense that this song describes myself, because I mentally have created my own map of New York.

5th song describes my friends:

Popular – Wicked

Now, in this song Glinda wants to fully change Elphaba to help her be more popular. I don’t think my friends are that extensive and won’t try to fully change me. However, I think my friends will be honest with their feedback and will give me honest advice on things that I need a little more growth on. So, I can see this actually describing my friends, but not to the point where they want me to change everything about me.

6th song describes my love life:

Call Me, Beep Me – Christina Milian

This one I had to really think about. I don’t think this song describes my love life at all, because currently, my love life is basically non-existent. When I am in a relationship, however, I will encourage my partner to call me whenever I’m needed. I am always there to support my partner so some lyrics do make sense. Also, I’m not always there to save the day like Kim Possible, but I will try my best.

7th song defines how people see me:

Chasing the Sun – Sara Bareilles

I thought this was interesting and now I may need to confirm with friends to see if people see me this way. In this song, Sara Bareilles talks about fully living our life while we’re alive. We only have this current life once and we shouldn’t waste it. I feel like in the past I was just going through the motions and not trying to live, but as I reflect and work on growing into my best version of myself, I am trying to do more to fully live an enjoy what I can. So maybe this does define how people see me.

8th song describes the upcoming summer:

Love on Top – Beyonce

Is the universe trying to tell me something? Am I going to be in a new relationship this summer? Will I be happily in a relationship? Only time will tell, I guess.

9th song will play when meeting my soulmate:

Die for your Love – AJ Smith

This song describes a person falling in love with someone so intensely so now I’m curious. I have not met a romantic soulmate, but I do believe I have met friend soulmates. Some lyrics that did resonate were “let me try, to show that I’m good enough, to fight for your love” and as someone with their Venus placement in Sagittarius, it is described that I will want to fight to show how much I love my partner. Will I want to truly “die” for a romantic soulmate’s love?

10th song will describe my 2021 success:

Venom – Little Simz

This song talks a lot about inner demons and a f**ed up mind. For example, there are lines that talk about if someone saw inside their mind they would be scared of the thoughts inside and I felt that. I wasn’t sure how this described my 2021 success – maybe because I fought my inner demons and learned to control my f***ed up mind. However, this is a new song I found and I do already love it. So highly recommend.

11th song will describe my celebrity crush:

Never Ending Story – Gaten Matarazzo & Gabriela Pizzolo

Amazed at the fact that this is the song that came up. My current celebrity crush is Katie Findlay (Zoey’s Extraordinary Playlist, Straight Up) and as a person who is newly, somewhat out bisexual, I messaged them that they were my “bi awakening”. Not expecting a reply, she replied anyway that they were honored. So, Katie, are we going to have our own never ending story?

12th song will describe my future life:

Vinyl – Fly By Midnight

This song talks about the old school ways of meeting someone in-person. Current dating patterns include dating apps, not everyone is meeting their partners in-person anymore. To me I always think it’s important, especially with the pandemic, to appreciate the in-person interaction. Sometimes we don’t fully get that anymore and social media has influenced that idea. I think in my future life, and even now, I am going to appreciate those in-person interactions that I don’t always get. Maybe that’s why spotify randomly chose this song for my future life.

Hope you enjoyed the movie soundtrack where I am the main character. It was fun to think about why the universe chose these specific songs. It’s a random mix of genres, but I feel like that is descriptive of my life in general. What would the soundtrack to your movie be?

list
Like

About the Creator

SH

Sometimes I write to bring myself peace. If you read anything, thank you. I'm grateful.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.