Geeks logo

My Message To Billy Porter...

Apparently, We Go Way Back...lol

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
2
photo courtesy of www.busytape.com

I could go into a long, lengthy introduction about how my musical tastes as a small child were heavily influenced by my mother, but that would be a boring story of me dusting album covers and 8-tracks as part of my Saturday morning chores. Also ,those chores had a soundtrack comprised of the albums & 8tracks I dusted and arranged in alphabetical order.

But again, that’s boring.

To me, anyway, my therapist finds it fascinating.

Nevertheless, I do not. LOL.

What I do find fascinating is apparently, I have had a whole damn crush on Billy Porter for over 25 years.

Because, I thought he was Glenn Jones.

Glenn Jones just has that voice. I re-watched his “Unsung” episode just recently and all of the narrators & guests would just go on and on about this amazing “crooner” and how beautiful Love songs became when accompanied by that voice.

My barely legal self was introduced to Glenn Jones in an upstairs back bedroom of an older boy. This older boy, for all intents and purposes, could sing his ass off.

Or at least I thought so.

The first time he sung to me he sung Glenn Jones’ “In You”.

Of course, I melted, and thought I was gonna be in Love for the rest of my life.

Nope. Apparently, this was his game, his schtick, his devious plan.

He sung to EVERYBODY!!!

I was not special. Not only did he sing to everybody, but 25 years later I found myself comparing notes with other women in his life. This loser said the same exact things TO ALL OF US even in the bedroom.

I became physically ill at the re-telling of his scripted dialogue.

Creep loser, that’s why he’s miserable now.

Am I being petty? Probably, but shit, I’ve been freakin benevolent most of my damn life, so um …its his karma not mine.

Anywho, back to Glenn Jones & Billy Porter.

Apparently, Glenn Jones became popular in the 1980’s.

I wasn’t even a teenager then, and most of my exposure to music was from the radio. All that to say, I didn’t know what Glenn Jones looked like, but I either really liked his voice or I remember the feeling in between my thighs when the Creep sung to me.

Every time my little ass got some change, I would take a bus to either the local mall or the Speed Line to Philly so that I could go to Sam Goody & buy the music I liked.

Armed with the knowledge that I was sung a Glenn Jones song that made me blush, I purchased my first cassette tape.

It was “Finesse” by Glenn Jones.

Photo courtesy of Discogs.com

The…wrong…damn…album.

It was okay though, because again, I Love his voice.

I learned my lesson though, and for now on, I made it a point of not just picking up the first album or tape, I see, but actually go into the little booths in Sam Goody and listen for the song I actually wanted.

There’s a whole system to how I would buy music. If an artist had at least three hits on the radio, and if I was able to listen to the B side and started smiling and nodding my head…it was a wrap.

I would head right outside of the Gallery in Philly, take the train to Camden and buy the bootleg cassette from one of the dudes on the corner.

Forgive me royalty Gods, I was a young single mother who loved music, I did what I had to do because I did not have disposable income like that.

Then in 1994, I got married, finally got cable tv, was able to watch music videos, listen to cable radio, find new artists, yada yada. I also joined BMG & Columbia House, so now I had cassettes & cases & shelving for the cases nailed to the walls of our base housing living room.

One Saturday morning while mopping the wood floors with Murphy’s oil soap, I had on the television and I saw the music video for Show Me by Glenn Jones.

But it wasn’t Glenn Jones.

It was Billy Porter.

And I’m nearsighted so I didn’t bother to look at description of the artist in the corner of the TV, cuz I couldn’t see it no how.

First thing I said to myself was, “Oh he cut off his curl, he looks good, with his fine ass.”

photo courtesy resdefault

photo courtesy of Yahoo Search

I have never seen the above picture until today...It clearly says Billy Porter. But hey, you know what this ain't my fault...lol it's the industry.

Then I kept seeing the video NEVER ONCE realizing the song was a effing REMAKE and I was NOT watching Glenn Jones & getting turned on...rather I was aroused by Billy Porter.

BUT BILLY SOUNDS JUST LIKE GLENN!!!

All that to say, BILLY PORTER CAN SING HIS FACE OFF & I AM COMPLETELY ENTHRALLED WITH HIM!!!

So, I sent him an IG message 🤦🏻‍♀️ telling him what I'm telling you all right now.

If he responds I will pass out.

I Love him 🤣. & I dunno what that says about me. 🤷🏻‍♀️& I no longer care.

Poor Glenn🤣.

celebrities
2

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.