Geeks logo

My Holy Trinity

Before my high school/college Holy Trinity, let's take a look back to who started it all

By Don Anderson IIPublished 4 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
1
Sarah Michelle Gellar (left), Britney Spears (top right), and Aaliyah (bottom right)

Ready to see how my love for not only certain actresses but for women in general started? It might be a little boring. Are you sure you want to keep reading? I'll give you about 10 seconds if you want to stop.

10

9

8

7

6

5

4

3

2

1

Alright, here we go, then. Now, many people all remember their celebrity crushes, well at least their first celebrity crushes. These days, it's Channing Tatum, Jason Momoa, Dylan O'Brien (I think that's how you spell his name), the list goes on but me, on the other hand, I'm a 90's baby, 1994 to be exact, so I grew up a little bit in the '90s and I remember a fair amount of stuff from the late '90s and early 2000s.

1999-2001

I believe I was about 5 or 6 years old. I was in Michigan with my dad, and we lived in Kalamazoo with my aunt and uncle or my cousin, it doesn't matter. Peep game, I was heavy into Nick Jr, Nickelodeon, Disney Channel, and Cartoon Network, but if you remember, Disney Channel used to play music videos sometimes. As soon as I heard "Hit Me Baby One More Time" by Britney Spears, the song was catchy, but I remember the first time I saw her album cover. I believe I said out loud how pretty she was (and she still is), and then I saw the music video where she dressed like a schoolgirl with pigtails. She even had the shirt tied at the front with the skirt, and then she started singing and dancing. From there, I got hooked. Then about a year or two later, I was watching something on Disney Channel. They played the video for "Oops I Did It Again," where she was in the red jumpsuit, and she's dancing with the dancers. Simultaneously, some fire went off occasionally in the background, plus they had a little bit of a love story going on between her and this guy who was an astronaut. I was head over heels for Britney Spears for at least two years.

Hit Me Baby One More Time

Oops!... I Did It Again

2002-2005

Now, let's go forward to about a year and a half, I was about 7 or 8, and it was 2002. I just got back from school one day with my uncle and siblings; we were snacking on some Teddy Grahams and sandwiches that we made, or one of us was eating Top Ramen. Before we did our homework, we watched TV, so we started watching cartoons, and it ended up going to commercial. They played a short trailer for the live-action Scooby-Doo movie, and they showed this part where Daphne did a pretty fantastic spiral kick. At the time, Buffy was on, but I was never into it (Relax, everyone. I like Buffy now, haha, but Angel is the better show and the better character, at least to me), my stepdad was into Buffy. Anyways, I was already a huge fan of Scooby-Doo, so when I finally saw the movie, I remember liking it and having a good time with it. Still, I always wanted to see Daphne more because of how gorgeous she was in the movie (This is before I became a lover of Velma and I'll admit, I'm not a fan of what they did with her now, but that's reading content on its own). Then, when the movie had a sequel, Scooby-Doo 2: Monsters Unleashed, I was living with my dad in Michigan, but I didn't see it in theaters because I was in the middle of getting out of there and coming back to Washington to stay with my mom, but by the time I got back, I didn't see it until a year later when I was 10 or 11 and we got to rent it from Hollywood Video. I don't remember liking the movie or not, but I still had a crush on Sarah Michelle Gellar, mostly when she was sword fighting with the knight in the film while Velma was reading aloud from a book or something. Either way, regardless of the movies, I still had a massive crush on Sarah Michelle Gellar. I even thought she was cute in the remake of The Grudge.

Scooby-Doo trailer

Daphne fights the knight I talked about in Scooby-Doo 2: Monsters Unleashed

The Grudge trailer

Okay, I'll admit. I goofed here. I have to backtrack a little bit to fit something in because it was relatively short, but it's still part of how I started crushing on actresses, let alone anyone in general, so bear with me here. We're going to go back in time to...

2000-2002

I was about six years old, and it was later in the year 2000, my mom and dad had put me to bed for a nap because I'm pretty sure I either had a temper tantrum, or I had spent the day with my dad since we went to the mall, I think. So I woke up after the nap, I went downstairs to watch TV with my parents, and they were watching Romeo Must Die with Jet Li and granted, that was the first movie that showed me Jet Li and how badass he was, but there was someone else in the film that piqued my interest. I already knew who Aaliyah was because I've heard a few of her songs, and my aunt was always blasting them when she came over. I still remembered Aaliyah's eyes being beautiful to look into, and her voice was practically heavenly to listen to because a year later, my aunt used to blast her song, "Rock the Boat" a lot when it came on. At the same time, the kids had to sit through it as the video was on, myself included. I think my mom bought her last album sometime after she died (which was the first time I dealt with the topic of death, I was 7 when this happened), I remember my stepdad being in love with one of the songs and he always played it even during family trips we used to take. Then, I saw a TV spot while I was at an aunt's place for Aaliyah's last movie, Queen of the Damned where she was this seductive but lethal vampire queen like I think she was the first vampire, I don't entirely remember because I was more into Blade than other vampire stuff. The movie also terrified me because of its hardcore rock soundtrack, and she was pretty scary in it. I watched it again when I was 14, and I still couldn't handle it, hah, but I knew how gorgeous she was. If I'm honest, if she were still alive to this day, she'd be as big as Beyonce, and I still think she'd be beautiful.

Aaliyah dancing with Jet Li in Romeo Must Die

Aaliyah as a vampire queen in Queen of the Damned (I got scared again watching this and I'm 26 now)

Whew... Man, that was a hell of a trip down memory lane.

Now, I might have a lot of celebrity crushes now, but it's fair to say that the original holy trinity is what started me having desires in general because I had my first crush on a gal when I was in first grade, she was in the same class as me.

Sure, I didn't have Britney Spears' album or her posters, the same goes for Aaliyah and Sarah Michelle Gellar. I never had their movies in my possession, their posters, or anything like that. I always had them on my mind, hell, I still do even as I write this because all three of them were a part of my childhood. Now for the million-dollar question, would I still date any of them? If Aaliyah was still alive, yes. Sarah Michelle Gellar, she's married so I can't haha. Britney Spears, not really, no, but I'd be a good friend of hers.

I appreciate you, whoever you are, for reading this. I hope you enjoyed it, feel free to share this on social media and if you want to send me a tip, you're more than welcome to. Click on the link to my profile if you want to read more: https://vocal.media/authors/don-anderson-ii

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Don Anderson II

Movies, memoirs, music lover, graduate of community college, and university

Quiet writer but I'm sure my stories from years ago are still of interest

Tips are welcomed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.