Geeks logo

My First Comic Con

Fantasy, sci-fi, anime, and more

By Jasmine AguilarPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
4
Stormtrooper at comic con, author photo

This past September, I had an amazing opportunity to go to a comic and pop culture con. This was the very first comic and pop con that I have ever attended and quite honestly, I am a bit surprised I never bothered to attend such an event before.

Comic and pop (pop culture) cons focus on the many aspects relating to comics (Marvel, DC comics), anime (Pokémon, Dragonball Z) science fiction and all things pop culture. You can come and see all of the cosplayers there and browse around at all of the various vendors selling movie memorabilia, comic books, manga, original artwork, etc. Or you can join in on the fun yourself by cosplaying as a favorite character.

Pikachu at comic con, author photo

This comic and pop con that I attended was a little interesting. The air conditioning went out and the wi-fi kept going down. However, most people didn’t seem to mind these inconveniences and the event ultimately ended up being a huge success.

Not only did I look around at the 100 plus vendors that were there, but I also got to help out with two vendors one of which is a long time friend of mine and who both happen to be such phenomenal artists. Originally, helping out as a vendor wasn’t my plan but hey, I was glad to be of any assistance. Plus, I found it absolutely fascinating sitting beside an artist, glancing over now and then and watching them draw. Wow! If only I could draw like that!

On the first day of the event, Saturday, I cosplayed as a Jurassic Park park ranger. I even got to see and sit inside the Jurassic Park Jeep.

Jurassic Park cosplay, author photo

In the Jurassic Park Jeep, author photo

And on the second and final day, I cosplayed as the video game version of Team Rocket. I received quite a few positive remarks about my costume and it felt good to know that quite a few people got the reference. Well, I was at a comic con after all, so I was bound to run into people that recognized the Pokémon reference! Still, it was great to get recognition.

Cosplaying takes some planning, some more so depending on how hardcore you want the costume to be and there were definitely some hardcore cosplayers who I’m sure have been doing this for a long time! As for me, both of my costumes were simple!

There was just so much to see with all of the various vendors that were there. And the cosplayers! If you can think of a character from a movie or T.V. show or within any part of pop culture for that matter, chances are good that they were there. Newbies such as me, hardcore professional cosplayers, young and old alike, they were all there!

There were characters from comic books — Spiderman, Captain America, Iron Man, Batman, Joker…

Spiderman cosplay, author photo

There were characters from Star Wars — Storm Troopers, Chewbacca, The Child, otherwise known as Baby Yoda!…

Chewbacca, author photo

There were characters from several fan favorite anime — Pikachu, Brock, Misty, and Officer Jenny and Team Rocket (me!) from Pokémon. There were also characters from Dragon Ball Z, Naruto, and My Hero Academia.

more anime, author photo

If you are into books, there were also comic book and manga artists as well as horror, suspense and science fiction authors for your enlightenment.

Horror fans wouldn’t be disappointed. Michael Myers and Freddie Krueger were there too!

Michael Myers cosplay, author photo

Freddie Krueger cosplay, author photo

There was also a vast display of masks from various horror movies. Horror movie fans might be delighted to know that there was a whole section of horror movie memorabilia — comics, posters, figurines, and so much more of fan favorite horror movie characters.

Masks from various horror films, author photo

Oh yeah! The car from Ghostbusters was there along with some ghosts too!

The Ghostbuster's car, author photo

Ghostbuster Ghosts, author photo

Comic and pop con also had a cosplay contest in which anyone could enter. Of course, I had to enter in that! I entered in my Jurassic Park park ranger costume. My favorite part of the contest was just seeing all of the different characters. Cosplaying as a Marvel character or as an anime character seemed to be the most popular choice.

Interested in comic books and super heroes? What about diving into the unfathomable world of science fiction? Enjoy watching anime, horror, or just have a favorite fandom that you’re hardcore about or even on a low key level? I definitely recommend checking out a comic and pop con if you ever get the opportunity.

These sorts of events are a sort of fuel for those who love using their imagination and unleashing their creativity. For just one weekend, you can step into the world of your favorite fandom and become your favorite character.

entertainment
4

About the Creator

Jasmine Aguilar

Fascinated by pop culture and its effect on society... movies, music, books.. and pretty much anything.

I love writing and write a little bit of everything including a science fiction WIP!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/J.A.Rose

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.