Geeks logo

My Favourite Movies Of All Time

Check them out

By Gal MuxPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
My Favourite Movies Of All Time
Photo by Myke Simon on Unsplash

I love films. I love to watch them. I love to dissect them. I love to discuss them, I love to share them and I love to write about them.

As a person who spends a lot of their free time alone, watching movies besides watching television series, reading and writing is the way I use to pass time and to keep myself entertained.

Movies capture moments and they freeze time. They tell stories, the shape culture, they entertain, they inform, they educate, they create employment, they create memories and they bring people together.

Different people are drawn to different things in films. I do not really enjoy films with guns, violence, car chases, or too much blood.

I love films with happy endings the most. I love fairy tales and animation movies. I also love true stories a d historical pieces. I thoroughly enjoy sci-fi movies, alternative and fictional universes apocalyptic and post apocalyptic films. They are simply something I cannot find in real life and something I could not possibly imagine. They are true art to me.

Here is a list of my favourite movies (in no particular order).

The Sound of Music 1965

What’s not to love about this movie? It should be a movie everyone must see in their lifetime.

Flora Maria is adorable, goofy and fun. The Von Trapp kids and their shenanigans individually and together with Flora Maria is whole other story. Riding bicycles, climbing trees, going on picnics, them learning to sing and perfecting their singing is just pure bliss.

The music is unforgettable and the scenes are memorable. The contrast between Flora Maria’s personality and Von Trapp’s and how the two interact to the point of ending up falling in love is captivating.

The soundtrack My Favourite Things from the movie was a big inspiration for me when I started this publication.

I hope Hollywood never attempts to recreate The Sound of Music because I doubt anything can be improved from what already exists.

Julie Andrews is an icon that should be celebrated everyday.

I have to watch this movie again very soon.

Mary Poppins 1964

We need to go back to the golden era of such iconic films. Julie Andrews is something else!

Everyone needs a Mary Poppins in their life. Where cleaning is just fun, singing, magic and play.

I would also want to fly on a black umbrella. I bet you would too.

Again such iconic films should never be remade. The 2018 remake did nothing for me. I didn’t even finish it.

Mulan 1998

Most Disney princess are pretty and cute. They wear beautiful dresses, have nice, mostly long, well maintained hair, they wear tiaras and sit graciously in castles, daydreaming about and waiting for a handsome prince to marry them so that they can happily ever after.

But not Mulan!

Mulan is hands on. She is independent. She is strong. She is a fierce warrior who slays dragons, leads armies, fights in wars and saves her kingdom in the process.

Also the song True To Your Heart by Stevie Wonder and 98° a soundtrack of the movie is my favorite Stevie Wonder song and one of my favourite songs of all time.

This is a movie that I must show my daughter.

Toy Story III

I remember shedding buckets of tears while watching this movie back when it was released.

After the Toys have spent all their lives with Andy, they get given to a because Andy is now grown up and can longer play with them. The theme of coping with change and feelings of abandonment and rejection resonated well with me.

They could keep making more Toy Stories, but I doubt there is anything that can match the feeling in Toy Story III.

Wonder Woman 2017

From the beauty, strength and agility and grace of the Amazons, everything is praiseworthy in this movie.

Gal Gadot plays the role of Diana Prince as though she was born for it. Her accent sells the role and her relationship with Steve is fairly tale worthy.

I am totally fascinated by how the story line mixes mythology, history, comic and fiction educating and entertaining us at the same time. The Greek God Ares is the one behind Hitler’s and his evil ways, Diana has to help save the world from him… it is all so fascinating to watch.

I recently watched its sequel released just recently but even though a great movie, it does not much the greatness of this movie.

Next to Mulan, the Wonder Woman movie franchise are films I must show my daughter.

Alice in Wonderland 2010

This movie makes you want to fall down a rabbit hole and into a magical kingdom. One without the evil red queen though. But with the mad hatter who is my favourite character in the story with his tea times and his tea companions.

The adventures of Alice in wonderland are exciting. The movie makes you believe in magic. It teaches lessons on believing in yourself and believing in the impossible. It teaches faith.

The cinematography is amazing and the costumes are also great. It’s the kind of movie that you close your eyes and you imagine yourself in it.

Django Unchained 2012

I hate slave movies! I have a vow to never watch them. Most of them are written from an angle that plays with white guilt. They are all about black people suffering. Many scenes are of black people in chains, being lashed, men being hanged and killed. Women being raped, women wailing and crying and their children being taken away from them.

Even though some of these scenes may be in Django Unchained, the unlikely scenes and relationship between Dr. King Schultz, And Django steals the show.

A black man legally hunting and killing white people in a slave movie is the plot twist you would never expect.

And the last scene where Django and his wife ride out triumphantly is the thing that makes me celebrate this movie the most.

A Christmas Carol 1984

This selfish miser mister Scrooge hates Christmas and everything to do with it. As a wealthy bachelor, he has a lot of people in his town indebted to him. And the festivities do not stop him from going out to demand his dues from them.

He is loathed by everyone! And little boys enjoy playing tricks on him which he hates with a passion.

But he gets an epiphany one night that takes him one a journey to the past, present and future that helps him change his perspective on life.

He does a complete 180 and becomes this generous, forgiving and jovial person.

It is a very heartwarming Christ mass movie with all the snow, the jovial boys, the singing and the dancing.

I have not yet watched the other remakes of the movie that are based on Charles Dickens novella, but I plan to do so in due course to ascertain whether they are as good as this film.

The Dictator

This movie is totally hilarious! It is the kind of movie where you will be laughing from the beginning to the end.

Sacha Baron Cohen plays the character of this ruthless ruler of a country called Wadiya where every person that he doesn’t seem to like gets sent to the executioner. What he does not know is that the executioner is a member of the revolution that seeks to overthrow him and anybody sent to be killed just gets sent to America to save their lives.

This among other plotlines and mishaps such as his ruthless and his falling in love is what makes the movie so great.

It is political, it is educational and it is funny.

I have no idea why they have taken so long to make a sequel. They should have put out like ten of them already.

One Hundred And One Dalmatians 1961

It’s hard to pinpoint what I love so much about this movie.

It’s when our boy Pongo seeks out to find a partner for him and his master, and when he finds one and fakes the time to ensure that they meet. It’s when the cows in the barn volunteer to feed starving puppies or when the puppies cover themselves in soot to outsmart the evil men trailing them.

And when these cute Dalmatian puppies outsmart the evil Cruella De Vil it is a jubilation.

What’s the name of that one puppy that is always hungry again? He is adorable.

I have watched all the other remakes of this great story and I prefer the 1961 version the best. It’s fascinating how even with the less advanced technology that existed then, the film is timeless even in its cinematography and storytelling.

I hear there is a new movie to be released in 2021 following Cruella de Vil’s storyline and I can’t wait for it.

Which movies are in the list of your favourites?

movie
Like

About the Creator

Gal Mux

Lover of all things reading & writing, 🥭 &

🍍salsas, 🍓 & vanilla ice cream, MJ & Beyoncé.

Nothing you learn is ever wasted - Berry Gordy

So learn everything you can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.