Geeks logo

My Favorite Slice of Life Anime

Day 15 of the 30 day anime challenge

By animetipzPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like

WOOHOOO!! I have to congratulate myself for making it halfway!! Sure writing 15 days in a row might not be a huge accomplishment but it is for me. If you have read 1 or all of my blogs this year I'd love to say thank you! I love reading your comments and hope I have been entertaining to read and helped you find a new anime to love. Lets get into the second half of this challenge!

I discovered the idea for the 30-day anime challenge because I saw this post on Pinterest and thought it was a fun little challenge to do for the first month of the New Year. I did a challenge similar to this back in 2013 so I am curious to see if my tastes have changed much in the past 10 years.

Since I found it too hard to just pick 1 answer I have been picking 5 answers for each question. I would love for you to hear your answer in the comments below

Subscribe to not miss a day of anime content

Day 15 Favorite slice of life anime

I watch more slice-of-life anime than any of the genres. This is funny because some of my favorite anime isn't slice of life. But there is something so comforting about watching anime characters living a semi-normal life. I tend to get sucked into an anime when it has an intense story I can't help but binge it. This is why I love slice-of-life anime, it is simple and can get me out of my own head, instead of getting completely sucked in and not sleeping for a day.

Another reason I watch a bunch of slice-of-life anime is that I watch a lot of background anime, which means it can't be one that I want to completely pay attention to because it is more like listening to music to me. Do you watch anime as background noise? or is that just me?

With that in mind let's get into my top 5 favorite slice-of-life anime!!

Kotaro Lives Alone

Storyline: The "apartment comedy with laughs and tears" centers on a 4-year-old boy named Satou Kotarou, who moves next door to Karino Shin, an unsuccessful manga artist. Kotarou has no parents and lives alone. Not only does he seem to earn a living, he actually seems more put together than his own strange neighbors.

This anime completely caught me off, guard. I actually found it from a review someone wrote on vocal and figured that I would give it a try. The art style isn't my favorite but it is very unique. The story however is incredibly emotional, funny, and realistic. They talk about some deep topics, yet they are very sensitive about them. It breaks my heart to see Kotaro going through things no child should, but the people in his apartment complex protect him from the truth and do everything in their power to give him the love and support he needs. This is a must-see anime, just be ready for deep emotions.

School Rumble

Storyline: Tenma Tsukamoto is young, bright, and smitten with the school hottie Oji Karasuma. She's desperate for his attention, which is unfortunate considering he barely gives her the time of day! Throw Kenji Harima, the school delinquent with a crush on Tenma into the mix and you've got one twisted love triangle of unrequited proportions! Can love find the trio happiness before their attention-grabbing stunts end up hurting more than their egos?

This might be one of the best shows ever written. Between the quirky characters and relatable situations, this is a great anime for everyone. There is no downside to this anime. I have rewatched this show multiple times and still can't get enough. There is a character for everyone to relate to and even episodes without any of the main characters. If you enjoy a slice-of-life comedy with random dramatic stories this show is for you.

Life Lessons with Uramichi Oniisan

Storyline: Uramichi is 31 lives a lonely life with no wife or kids, has to deal with production hassles from unknowing or uncaring staff, and still has to give a good smile to the children every day... Uramichi appears on children’s TV alongside two grown men dressed as forest creatures and a singing woman with a very short fuse. Uramichi leads little kids in exercises and answers their questions about life. But Uramichi’s life is pain. Uramichi just wants to be miserable in peace. But, in his words, “There are games that don’t end even after you forfeit. Like life, for example… ”

This is now one of my favorite anime of all time. The only other anime to get me to crack up a few times was the ways of the househusband, but Uramichi Oniisan had me laughing every episode. It is beyond relatable and doesn't miss a beat with perfectly timed comedic lines. I will say this is adult humor, you may or may not find this relatable if you're still young, but for us adults who are sucking at adulting, this is our show. If you need an anime to cheer you up PUT THIS ON!! I promise it will make your day better and leave you smiling.

Click to read my full review

Komi Can't Communicate

Storyline: An absolute beauty to anyone, Shouko Komi in reality suffers from extreme social anxiety and communication problems, making her largely unable to talk to others. However, with her attractiveness and stoic appearance, which in itself results from her anxiety, she is perceived as refined in class, making her highly popular while preventing people from actually getting to know her. Komi's first conversation with Tadano is over a blackboard, and she uses a notebook to convey her feelings through writing. Despite this, she is still capable of verbal conversation over a cell phone. Her dream is to overcome her communication problems and make 100 friends.

When I say I have never related more to a character before in my life I mean it. As someone who deals with crippling social anxiety seeing a character with the same fear but trying her best to overcome it was so encouraging to me. They don't make fun of social anxiety or use it to crack some jokes, but they bring it into the light of us not wanting to be anti-social we just don't know how to be social. Komi's friends are so supportive and sweet to her the whole show. Making this an adorable light-hearted, must-see, comedy and one of my most favorite anime ever. I am not sure if there will be a season 3, but even if the isn't, the ending is perfectly adorable. It will pull at your heartstrings.

Click to read my full review

The Way of the Househusband

Storyline: It’s a day in the life of your average househusband — if your average househusband is the legendary yakuza “the Immortal Dragon”! A former yakuza legend leaves it all behind to become your everyday househusband. But it’s not easy to walk away from the gangster life, and what should be mundane household tasks are anything but! He was the fiercest member of the yakuza, a man who left countless underworld legends in his wake. They called him “the Immortal Dragon.” But one day he walked away from it all to walk another path — the path of the house-husband! The curtain rises on this cozy yakuza comedy!

I have never laughed harder at a show than this!! It is hysterical! Perfectly timed comedy with amazing writing. Everyone wants a second chance at life and in this case, Tatsu got a fresh start. That doesn't mean his old life doesn't bleed into his new life. Maybe you didn't leave a gang but we can all relate to trying to start over but falling back into old habits and running into old relationships, causing us to remember all the cringy things we used to do.

There are so many good slice-of-life anime out there, that can bring joy to your day. This was the perfect day 15 for me, I had a lot of fun writing this and I am looking forward to tomorrow for a list of my favorite supernatural / fantasy anime.

Have you seen any of the anime I listed? What is your favorite slice-of-life anime?

I'd love to hear in the comments below

Thanks for reading!!

Check out day 14 my favorite drama/romance anime

BYE!!

listtvcomedy
Like

About the Creator

animetipz

✨Anime Blogger✨

I watch too much anime and would love to turn it into a creative outlet!

Blogging about anime topics, giving honest reviews, and staying up to date with all things anime

https://linktr.ee/animetips

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.