Geeks logo

My favorite movies from every year of my life.

I had fun with this one!

By Travis JohnsonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
  • This was really fun to do so before I start I wanted to give shouts to both Zach Cherry and Cody Leach for the idea there are both youtubers fyi and you can them out if you want over there.As for this list, I had a few runner- ups for specific years, and I will lwt you know those now. For 1994 the runner up was “The Little Rascals”.For 1998 the runner up was “Snake Eyes” I’m del Palma Stan!, I can’t help it! For 2005 the runner up is “Rumor has it” one of my favorite Jen Aniston movies. 2011’s runner up is “Girl with The Dragon Tattoo”. 2012’s runner up is V-H-S, that’s one of the most unique horror movies I’ve ever seen. And the second sequel I enjoy as well.I had a runner up for 2019 but I don’t remember what movie that was.Ok now that I’ve done that, let me tell you why I’ve done this.I made this list because every movie on this list has had an affect on me the years they came out, and the subsequent years of course.
  • Not the first five maybe because I was so young, but over the years they became favorites since. As with everyone else movies hold a special place in my heart, well I’ll say life cause saying heart sounds corny lol. I did another list that is similar to this one, but only with horror movies. I wrote it on my personal blog and I think I might put it on here in October. But back to this list I realized that a lot of my favorites have been action oriented, which is a genre I didn’t really like growing up. But now I can say it’s one of my favorites. Oh! My runner up for 2010 I just remembered is “Inception”. If enough people read this I might put it on YouTube, but if it flops oh well lol. My ultimate favorite movie on this list is my 1994 entry. Just like the other movies most of what I want to say about this movie is in the caption. I haven’t seen anyone do something like this on her. Since we can leave comments on her now , I would like to know if anyone has done this as well. it would be fun to read someone else’s list!! Maybe in a different genre even.

Or maybe I’ll start a trend! 😁

Speaking of trends I have one entry that from Netflix. These days most distributors consider releasing movies on streaming these days. It makes me wonder is it to get people in the theater anymore? Obviously not , there are so many options these days though. It leaves people confused or stressed about what to watch at any given time. Especially when a lot of good movies these day are on those platforms, more so than the theater sometimes. Is streaming the way of the future? Sure but the old guard isn’t going anywhere mousier of it. It just makes it harder to find the quality in the midst of the quantity. And as long as we still support films buy going to see them in person, things will be fine. With that being said, hopefully Covid doesn’t make things worse.

I will also update this list with this year’s pick, although I think that’ll be hard since I haven’t been to the theater myself since going to see “Scream” this year. I admit I’ve been more into television this year, because that’s where the stories are these days! I will sooner or later see more movies though, cause that’s my bread and butter. Ok I’ve talked enough, take a look at my picks! Thanks!

1987. The Untouchables may not be my favorite Brian Del Palma movie but It is surely one of his best and it's one that I could watch over and over again!

1988. Who Framed Roger Rabbit is a classic that hasn't been made before or since. The animation holds up and the cast of characters is very memorable.

1989. This was my favorite movie as a kid no doubt, it's why I love John Travolta and Kirstie Alley today.

1990. I had no business as a kid watching this, I loved the effects in this movie and the world building that it has .one of my favorite Arnold movies!

1991. Drop Dead Fred was and still is underrated Phoebe Cates is adorable and Rik Mayll is really funny! and annoying lol. Besides who hasn't imagined their imaginary friend being real or at least seem real.

1992. Batman returns is the first movie I ever saw in a theater and it made me a bigger Batman fan.

1993. This movie kind of scared me when I was little it felt so real lol . I’ve seen way to many times as a child and Angela Basset is one of my favorite actresses because of her performance here . Laurence Fishburne as well! Damn everyone was amazing!

1994. This is my favorite movie. So of course I would choose it for this year!

1995. I first found out about this movie on bootleg and wore it,out it was so gross and fun at the same time.

1996. Who didn’t want to be like Matilda when you were younger. This is a good underdog movie for kids.

1997. “I’m The Mary!!!”. This is a good high school movie about adults after high school lol. If you get what I mean.

1998. This movie besides my 2000 entry has inspired my writing a lot . I never knew where it was going until it got there. And again why the hell were we ally to watch this that young.

1999. I like David Fincher’s style , I always catch something new when I watch this.

Not many people know about this one. But it stood out to me because It wasn’t like all the teen romcom movies that were coming out around the time. But it had a cast that could have been in those movies. And I love a good soapy mystery, with pretty people. A Big favorite till this day!
2001. This movie is so uncomfortable but it’s important to watch.

2002. Sam Raimi Is a goat! IMO

2003. This is one of those “oh I forgot about that part” movies!

2004. It just works for me! No judgment

2005. I love movies that are a mix of things, like this one. And it only works if you find the right cast. Bravo!

2006. I didn’t give this movie the attention it deserved when it came out .Glad o came around because it’s amazing!

2007. I don’t watch Disturbia that much but it’s the best movie for me personally this year.

2008. found Fottage done right. And it changed how I look at the genre of Monster movies, I guess you would call them.

2009. I didn’t know what to expect from this movie cause I had no idea it was based on a documentary. Or did I know who these women were, but finding out was a journey. Drew Barrymore gives her best performance here!

2010. I love her.

2011. Underrated Jake Movie.

2012. Can’t go wrong with an action sci-fi. That’s what this is right? Lol

2013. Impressive. Not what I expected honestly

2014. Another oh I forgot about that part movie

2015. A slow burn well worth the payoff.

2016. I don’t think people are use to seeing Ben Affleck this way. But he’s good here!

2017. A sci-fi with heart and a lot of Noomi’s

2018. I love a good mystery and this one surprises me.

2019. No words! Definitely a top 5 spidey movie for me!!

2020. I don’t think I will ever see anything in my life like this movie again. Watch it 3 times though.😁

2021. Liam Neeson for the win again!! I just really enjoy most of his movies! There was a movie last year I also liked as much as this but that’s for a different list.

movie
1

About the Creator

Travis Johnson

Aspiring actor and writer, Pop Culture lover and alien. With a penchant for beef jerky, gotta have that jerky.

Follow me if you’d like https://www.instagram.com/sivetoblake/ or twitter @sivetoblake

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Travis Johnson (Author)2 years ago

    I did a horrible job of proof reading. I spot some typos but ah well 😁 I like calling de Palma del palma. Mousier wasn’t the word I was going for, damn autocorrect .

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.