Geeks logo

My Favorite Drama / Romance Anime

Day 14 of the 30 day anime challenge

By animetipzPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like

Welcome to day 14!! I do not want to write this list. After an extremely long day at work, I am beyond tired and want to do nothing more than wash off my makeup, get into sweats, crawl into bed and pass out. But I made a promise to myself that I would do this challenge and not miss a single day. So here I am keeping the promise to myself and hoping someone will enjoy my tired writing.

Here is the idea behind the 30-day anime challenge. I saw this post on Pinterest and thought it was a fun little challenge to do for the first month of the New Year. I did a challenge similar to this back in 2013 so I am curious to see if my tastes have changed much in the past 10 years. I think the purpose of this challenge is to just post a picture but me being the extra person that I am, I will write a blog about each topic. On day one I found that I couldn't just pick one anime so I decided for each of these questions I will be doing 5 for every topic.

This is different from what I am used to blogging, which makes me excited to test my creativity and go back to find the answers to these writing prompts.

Feel free to join me in the comments below! I'd love to hear your answers too!!

Subscribe to not miss a day of anime content

Day 14 favorite drama/romance anime

Anime romance is top-tier. I cannot stand watching live-action romance, it has become a cliche, and tacky. Romance stories are now "Hey I like you so I am going to treat you like trash" "Sounds great let's f*ck" and they lived happily ever after. But anime takes romance seriously and has raised my expectation of what it means to have someone love you. They can spend a whole series with the couple not even holding hands. Yet they fall so madly in love with each other's character and become best friends. That to me is the purest form of romance. Even if they never kiss in the show I will be screaming the entire time the couple shares a screen.

I have seen countless slice-of-life and comedy anime. There is almost always some form of romance in those anime but for this prompt, I wanted to stick with the drama-romance theme. This turned out harder than expected because even though I have seen a lot of anime with a little romance in them I haven't seen hardly any romance animes.

With that in mind most of the anime I picked on this list are more comedy-romance than drama-romance, but I loved all these romance stories so of course, they are my top 5 favorites.

Fruits Basket

Storyline: Tohru Honda thought her life was headed for misfortune when a family tragedy left her living in a tent. When her small home is discovered by the mysterious Soma clan, she suddenly finds herself living with Yuki, Kyo, and Shigure Sohma. But she quickly learns their family has a bizarre secret of their own: when hugged by the opposite sex, they turn into the animals of the Zodiac!

I did not realize that fruits basket would be on so many of these blogs but it is such a good anime! This is the only anime on the list that is also in the drama genre so it had to make it on this list. Fruits basket is the ultimate romance, with multiple relationships and circumstances. All of the relationships are so pure and you can tell how much the Sohma love and respect the women they end up with. Next time someone asks me what I want in a man, I will just say all the qualities Sohma men have.

Kaichou Wa Maid Sama

Storyline: President of the Student Council at the almost-all-boys Seika High School, the hard-as-nails Misaki Ayuzawa works every day to make life easier for the small population of co-eds who have enrolled there. Though an unholy terror to all things male during school hours, in order to provide for her impoverished family, she secretly works after school at a maid cafe in Akihabara. However, when campus hottie Usui Takumi wanders into the restaurant during her shift, suddenly she finds her reputation in school at his mercy...

Do you see the girl in the back? Yeah, that was me the entire time I watch this anime. If you need a heart-pounding show this is for you. Heads up you will binge through it. I love seeing strong female leads, Who aren't afraid to take the world head-on, and this was such a fun twist. From beginning to end there was so much character development, lots of humor, and entertaining characters. I feel like this should be a staple romance anime everyone watches at least once.

Monthly Girls Nozaki-Kun

Storyline: Chiyo Sakura, a high school girl who fell in love with the unrefined boy schoolmate Umetaro Nozaki, decides to be courageous one day and asks him out. Her feelings weren't conveyed properly, and before she knew it she ends up helping a particular job of his as an assistant... The series is a shojo manga boy comedy that centers around Nozaki, a high school boy that is a popular shojo manga artist and has a story woven by very individualistic characters.

This was the most troll anime ever. They set up the perfect couples throughout the series, Yet the last episode will have you screaming. This is one of those comedy anime with romance in it and it was one of the most entertaining anime I have ever seen. I laughed so hard my ribs hurt and I adored the romance between the characters.

Horimiya

Storyline: At first glance, the ultra-popular Kyoko Hori seems like a frivolous high school girl, but in reality, she's simple, pragmatic, and family-oriented. On the other hand, the bespectacled Miyamura Izumi comes across as an average, gloomy high school fanboy, but he's an attractive young man who has a bad-boy streak and is covered in piercings and tattoos. When these two unexpectedly similar classmates have a random run-in outside of the classroom, a bubbly, sweet tale of school life begins.

This is a true romance!! They didn't know each other and randomly met. Even with nothing in common, they became friends. Their friendship blossoms into a relationship. Which turns into a future together. I laughed so hard watching this anime and also felt so much raw emotion. If I were to have another relationship I would want it to be exactly like theirs.

My Love Story!!

Storyline: Takeo Gouda is a giant guy with a giant heart. Too bad the girls don't want him (they want his good-looking best friend, Sunakawa)! Used to being on the sidelines, Takeo simply stands tall and accepts his fate. But one day when he saves a girl named Yamato from a harasser on the train, his (love!) life suddenly takes an incredible turn!

If you don't believe the perfect couple exists I dare you to watch this show! They are adorable and relatable when you are in your first relationship. I was screaming the whole show. I adore this anime!! This shows us the purest form of love, in a sweet and entertaining way. I love watching these two navigate starting a relationship and the challenges that come with it. This is the most unconventional perfect couple. I have watched this anime multiple times and every time it gets better. could go on and on about all the amazing qualities of this show but you should just watch it!

Anime romance will always be the standard for me, which is maybe why I am currently single. Even though I don't drift to romance anime, I can always appreciate the well-written romance in every anime.

Do you have a favorite anime couple? What is your favorite romance anime?

I'd love to hear in the comments below

Thank you for reading even though this isn't my best writing I really appreciate you♥️

Check out day 13 Favorite single anime episode

Now I am going to get some sleep!! Good night

tvlistentertainmentcomedy
Like

About the Creator

animetipz

✨Anime Blogger✨

I watch too much anime and would love to turn it into a creative outlet!

Blogging about anime topics, giving honest reviews, and staying up to date with all things anime

https://linktr.ee/animetips

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.