Geeks logo

My Favorite Anime Voice Actors

Day 10 of the 30 day anime challenge

By animetipzPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like

Welcome to day 10!! Here is the idea behind the 30-day anime challenge. I saw this post on Pinterest and thought it was a fun little challenge to do for the first month of the New Year. I did a challenge similar to this back in 2013 so I am curious to see if my tastes have changed much in the past 10 years.

I think the purpose of this challenge is to just post a picture but me being the extra person that I am, I will write a blog about each topic. On day one I found that I couldn't just pick one anime so I decided for each of these questions I will be doing 5 for every topic.

This is different from what I am used to blogging, which makes me excited to test my creativity and go back to find the answers to these writing prompts.

Feel free to join me in the comments below! I'd love to hear your answers too!!

Subscribe to not miss a day of anime content

Day 10 favorite anime voice actors

Don't hate on me but I pretty much only watch English dubbed anime. My dyslexic brain struggles with subtitles, and I'd rather just enjoy the anime instead of having to constantly pause it to see the subtitles. I do on occasion watch a subbed anime if it isn't available dubbed, but for the most part, I just watch dubbed.

One of my favorite things is when I start a new anime and say "Wait I know who that is" and go straight to googling what other anime this voice actor was in. In some cases, it's pretty easy to recognize, but in other cases, I love being shocked to see two such different characters voiced by the same actor.

I am only going to be listing my favorite English dubbed voice actors. I would like to add I think voice acting is such an incredible art form. To bring life to a character you can't see and bring emotions to each scene is an incredible talent. I have heard amazing voice actors in the many anime series and movies I have watched. Even though I have seen anime that I don't like, I have yet to hear a bad voice actor.

Below I am going to list my top 5 favorite English voice actors and some of their most popular roles.

Greg Ayres

I first heard his voice in the anime Ouran Highschool host club as Kaoru Hitachiin. He has such a unique and raspy voice that I love. Since starting voice acting he's been a voice actor in 330 anime series, movies, and video games.

Have you seen any of these anime?

My Hero Academia, Made in Abyss, Haikyu!!, Black Clover, Free!, Dragon ball Z, Tanaka-Kun Is Always Listless, Haven't You Heard? I'm Sakamoto, Kiss him not me, The Devil Is a Part-Timer!, Tamako Market, Fairy Tail, Fullmetal Alchemist & Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, Black Butler, Clannad & Clannad: After story, School Rumble, Azumanga Daioh, deadman wonderland and Ghost Stories.

Yup Grey Ayres is in them all and so many more. He has a very recognizable voice and once you hear it once you will be able to recognize it in any anime.

Emily Neves

I got the honor of hearing Emily Neves do a show-stealing voice acting as a side character. The first time I heard her was in the future diary playing Minene Uryu (The Ninth) she honestly stole the show. She was able to play a badass and emotional role, and bring life to my now favorite character in that anime. She has been in 186 anime series, movies, and video games.

Have you seen any of these anime?

Grave of the fireflies, Call of the Night, My Hero Academia, A Certain Magical Index, Steins; Gate, Fruits Basket, No Guns Life, Attack on Titan, Tokyo Ghoul: re, Haikyu!!, Parasyte: The Maxim, Akame ga Kill!, The Future Diary, Amnesia, Say "I love you", Angel Beats!, Maid Sama!, and Highschool of the Dead.

She looks so sweet yet can bring life to the creepest and most intense characters. She can bring a psycho to life and play in a cute romance anime. That duel talent is why she made it onto this list for me.

Crispin Freeman

I couldn't leave my husband Shizuo off the list. Crispin Freeman is one of those voice actors that I am shocked plays as many roles as he does. Some characters he plays sound nothing alike which is a real talent. He has been a voice actor in 391 anime series, movies, and video games.

Have you seen any of these anime?

Durarara!!, Ghost in the Shell, Demon Slayer, Naruto & Naruto: Shippuden, God Eater, Hellsing, Fate/Zero & Fate/stay night, Blue Exorcist, Marvel Anime, Lucky Star, Code Geass, Blood+, The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya, .hack//SIGN.

He has been in a lot more video games than anime, but it is always a treat when I find out he is one of the voice actors. He goes all out for his roles and can play such diverse characters.

Erika Harlacher

Erika Harlacher looks like she would instantly become your best friend, so I was shocked she gave the mindblowing performance in Kakegurui as Yumeko Jabami, to be able to play a sweet psycho path is a real talent. Then I found out she also voiced the soft and sweet Violet Evergarden and my mind was officially blown. How can one woman play such two drastically different characters? She has been in 199 anime series and movies.

Have you seen any of these anime?

The Seven Deadly Sins, Violet Evergarden, Komi Can't Communicate, Hunter x Hunter, Demon Slayer, Attack on Titan, Beastars, BNA, Madoka Magica, The Promised Neverland, Mob Psycho 100, Kakegurui, Naruto: Shippuden, Charlotte, Your Lie in April, KILL la KILL, K-On!, Toradora!, Sailor Moon.

I couldn't believe how many anime Erika has been in that I loved. I think her best role was in Kaegurui, which is not an easy role to play and she killed it.

Josh Grelle

I also heard Josh Grelle in the future diary, and then I am shocked to see he is in so many different anime genres. Every time I think an anime character has a pretty good voice actor and I look it up it is always Josh Grelle. Since starting voice acting he's been a voice actor in 368 anime series, movies, and video games.

Have you seen any of these anime?

My Hero Academia, The Devil Is a Part-Timer!, Dr. Stone, Classroom of the Elite, Attack on Titan, Wonder Egg Priority, RWBY, Fire Force, Fruits Basket, A Certain Magical Index, Tokyo Ghoul & Tokyo Ghoul: re, Free!, High School DxD, Steins; Gate, Danganronpa, Haikyu!!, Orange, Assassination Classroom, Fairy Tail, Death Parade, Psycho-Pass, Noragami, The Future Diary, Wolf Children, Blood-C, Another, Soul eater, Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood.

He has an adaptable voice and can play any role that he is given. With such a wide variety of genres, he has mastered his craft.

The art of voice acting doesn't seem to get the credit it deserves. There are thousands of anime shows and millions of characters that all have different voices, tones, and overall vibes about them. They are just pictures on a screen until the voice actor comes in and brings them to life. Not only that I am sure reading the manga isn't helpful for voice actors, the creator of the manga also had a voice in their head that can't be described. It is the voice actor's job to bring that voice to life.

Come back tomorrow to hear the anime scenes that made me sob.

Have you heard any of the voice actors I listed? Are you like me and google voice actors to see what anime they have also been in?

I'd love to hear in the comments below

Thanks for reading!!

Check out day 9 Anime with the best soundtrack

tvlistentertainmentcosplay
Like

About the Creator

animetipz

✨Anime Blogger✨

I watch too much anime and would love to turn it into a creative outlet!

Blogging about anime topics, giving honest reviews, and staying up to date with all things anime

https://linktr.ee/animetips

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.