Geeks logo

My Favorite Anime Animal

Day 18 of the 30 day anime challenge

By animetipzPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like

I am excited to be writing the second half of this challenge! Not just because I am almost done, but because the next 15 questions are going to be way more fun to write about. This was a lot more of a challenge than I originally thought. Writing every day might be a habit for some but it has been a struggle for me. I am proud of myself for making it this far and I am so grateful for everyone's support. Whether you have read 1 of my blogs or all of them I appreciate it and hope I have been entertaining you.

I discovered the idea for the 30-day anime challenge because I saw this post on Pinterest and thought it was a fun little challenge to do for the first month of the New Year. I did a challenge similar to this back in 2013 so I am curious to see if my tastes have changed much in the past 10 years.

Since I found it too hard to pick 1 answer, I have been picking 5 answers for each. I would love for you to hear your answer in the comments below

Subscribe to not miss a day of anime content

Day 18 Favorite animal sidekick, pet, or summing

I have been looking forward to this day since day one. I am a huge animal lover, so I love any anime with animals in it. The animals I am about to mention made it on this list for no other reason than I love them, but I will try my best to describe what made me pick the next 5 animals.

I will also list the anime they are from and a little bit about the story. I loved all the anime I am about to list and recommend watching, not just because they have cute animals.

Let's get into my favorite anime animals

Black Hayate - Fullmetal Alchemist

Storyline: Once upon a time, two brothers passed the happy days of their childhood by studying alchemy, which is governed by the equal transfer principle: an eye for an eye -- you can't get more than you give. But these brothers tried to defy that law, and a horrific accident resulted. Now, the older brother, Edward, is called the Full Metal Alchemist because of his metal limbs, and the younger, Alphonse, is a soul without a body, trapped within the confines of an automaton. Together they search for the power to restore themselves, to find the lives they lost so long ago...

I loved every episode that had Black Hayate in it. Not only because he is adorable, but the joy he brings the characters. In such instense and stressful times, he is a light in the darkness.

Nagoya - My Little Monster

Storyline: Impassive girl meets troublemaker in a brand new love story! After Mizutani Shizuku, a girl whose sole interest is studying is asked to deliver some handouts to Yoshida Haru, a boy who hasn't come to school after spilling blood on the first day, she finds herself the target of his affection. This story is about a boy and a girl struggling with love and friendship. Opening yourself up to other people forces you to be honest with yourself.

As a chicken owner, I loved seeing this unusual pet in an anime. Chickens are sweet and smart. My chicken thinks she is a dog at this point. She comes when she's called, she cuddles with me while I'm working, and she even comes on walks when I take the dogs out. I felt like Nagoya is not only the perfect pet for Haru who is a quirky character, but it was a realistic interpretation of what it is like to own a pet chicken.

Bondsman - Spy X Family

Storyline: Master spy Twilight is the best at what he does when it comes to going undercover on dangerous missions in the name of a better world. But when he receives the ultimate impossible assignment—get married and have a kid—he may finally be in over his head! Not one to depend on others, Twilight has his work cut out for him procuring both a wife and a child for his mission to infiltrate an elite private school. He doesn’t know that the wife he’s chosen is an assassin and the child he’s adopted is a telepath!

I love this anime to pieces, and the addition of Bondsman made me love it even more than I thought possible. The father is a spy, the mother is an assassin, and the daughter a telepath, why not make the dog able to see the future? I love that only Anya knows that Bondsman has this ability, and it creates a special bond between the two of them. When we first meet Bondsman he is locked in a cage, has been experimented on, and just sees a vision of a happy family. I can only imagine this is how animals in shelters feel.

Jiji - Kiki's Delivery Service

Storyline: Kiki is a young witch who has just turned thirteen, and as tradition dictates she must now leave the safety of her home for a year to undergo witch training. One clear night, Kiki takes off with her cat Jiji and her mother's broomstick to start her new life, and finds herself in a town near the ocean - but she's disappointed to find that people aren't nearly as friendly as she'd imagined they'd be. With nowhere to stay and no outstanding magical skills besides flying, Kiki begins to wonder if she's come to the right place; but after returning a pacifier to a customer of a local shop, its owner, Osono, offers her a place to stay. Kiki soon decides that she'll start her own delivery service, and with the help of newfound friends, she sets forth on a journey to discover who she is and how to make it on her own.

Jiji is exactly how a cat would act if cats could speak. He is extremely sarcastic and cynical. He is loving to a degree and is concerned for Kiki, but also loves the opportunity to jab her with sarcastic comments. Even though we don't have a Jiji, I think we all have his voice in our heads. We have random sarcastic thoughts that would be best that we shouldn't say out loud. That is the Jiji side of our brain.

Nozomi Dog - Kakegurui XX

Storyline: Hyakkaou Private Academy. An institution for the privileged with a very peculiar curriculum. You see, when you're the sons and daughters of the wealthiest of the wealthy, it's not athletic prowess or book smarts that keep you ahead. It's reading your opponent, the art of the deal. What better way to hone those skills than with a rigorous curriculum of gambling? At Hyakkaou Private Academy, the winners live like kings, and the losers are put through the wringer. But when Yumeko Jabami enrolls, she's gonna teach these kids what a high roller really looks like!

I screamed when Nozomi walked in with her big Saint Bernard. My best friend is my Saint Bernard and I instantly became her. What is better than having a giant, fluffy, droopy, emotional support dog? The only other anime that has a Saint Bernard is a couple of clips from school rumble. I thought this was the most random anime to put one in. Kakegurui is an intense, psychological, and dark anime, so if they were to add a dog to that story I would maybe think of a more threatening breed. But I love that they went with a big fluffy mellow breed. I am honestly more excited about the next season to see this dog, and I hope they say his name and give him a lot more screen time.

Animals bring so much joy into our lives, and I love to see them also bring joy to the anime world. There were so many anime pets to pick from, and lots of creative sidekicks and summings, so I was surprised that my list was all pretty normal animals, but I really feel as if these 5 are my favorites.

Are you a dog or cat person? What is your favorite anime animal? Do you have any pets?

I'd love to hear in the comments below

Thanks for reading!!

Check out day 17 Anime That Cured My Depression

GO HUG A FLUFFY ANIMAL TODAY

tvlistentertainment
Like

About the Creator

animetipz

✨Anime Blogger✨

I watch too much anime and would love to turn it into a creative outlet!

Blogging about anime topics, giving honest reviews, and staying up to date with all things anime

https://linktr.ee/animetips

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.