Geeks logo

My Audition Experience for 'So You Think You Can Dance?'

Season 15

By Random ThoughtsPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

So You Think You Can Dance? The producers of this show posed a question to dancers 15 years ago, and of course every single person who has ever danced any time in their life thinks they can dance! It is the dream of every dancer to be on this show, and I was no exception.

When I heard that SYTYCD was renewed for another season, I wasted no time sending in my audition. And then I waited, and waited, and waited for one of the casting producers to get back to me saying that I could audition. I had almost given up when two days before the New York auditions, I got a call from one of the casting producers that they really liked my video and would like me to audition in New York City.

I live about 180 miles from New York City, so on the day of the audition, I left the house at 3:30 AM nervous, full of hope, and excited. Usually it takes us 2.5 hrs to get to NYC, but on this particular day, winter weather decided to make an appearance and the snow, sleet, and freezing rain stretched our drive to over 4.5 hrs.

When I finally reached the audition venue, there was a long line of contestants waiting to get in. After about an hour or so, the line started moving. Then I realized that there were some contestants who got a 7 AM pass from someone, so they got to go first. Contestants were auditioned in groups of 10. The producers played a random song based on the dance style selected and each contestant got 30 seconds to show the producers what they had.

Finally, at the end of the day, it was our turn to audition. I was more nervous than ever after seeing all the awesome talent that went before me, but I felt I was ready. When it was my turn, I walked in bravely to the center of the floor. The producers played the music, and then it happened—I just blanked out. When I finally got myself together and started, it was too late. I knew that I had lost my chance.

Once everyone was done, the producers confirmed what I already knew. I was cut. I did not make it to the next round. As glamorous as the whole experience was, I would not want to do it again. I am a decent dancer and people usually like my dances, but the audition experience taught me that I was nothing special or extraordinary. There were millions like me and many more way better than me. Maybe if I hadn't blanked out, I would have made it to the judges round, but even then, there was no guarantee that I would make it beyond that.

The whole experience, although not ideal or pleasant, taught me one thing: hats off to all the contestants who make it under the tremendous pressure to overcome their nerves, the circumstances, and everything else to be on the show. The next time I see someone who made it on the show, I am going to be more appreciative of them because it's not as easy as it seems on TV. There is so much that goes on behind the scenes which we never see, we never hear! And anyone who gets past all that has already won, whether or not they make it to the finale!

tv
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.