Geeks logo

My Accidental Disney Tattoo

"Call yourself a 90s kid?"

By Sarah AnnePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2

I remember being thirteen years old, sat in Mathematics and drawing up all the tattoos I planned to get done as soon as I was old enough. Most people can't wait to turn eighteen so they can go out clubbing or drinking but all I wanted was to get covered in artwork. I had plans for sleeves and themed pieces, all planned down to the finest of details.

However, being impulsive by nature, that didn't exactly go to plan. My tattoo artist hates me, because he will post a picture of a design he's drawn up and if I like it, I'll just get it. I know it sounds weird, a tattoo artist being peeved that I want to buy his work, but here's the issue...

I will pay, book in and get a design tattooed WITHOUT finishing the others, because I'm just too excited to get the next one started. So now, I have arms FULL of tattoos - some of which aren't even finished. Not quite the sleeve I had planned...

So one day, I'm scrolling through Facebook, procrastinating from all the work and housework that needs to be done, when I see this flash sheet posted by another artist I know. I see four designs which I love, so of course, I buy them without even thinking about it.

The day for tattoos arrives and I am BUZZING. Three tattoos done and we are on to the last one - the main one. My tattoo artist is going about her business, the tattoo gun humming away, when she says "Oh my gosh, Beauty and the Beast is my favourite!".

At first I was a little confused by such a random, out of context comment. I remember thinking 'hey, it's better than hairdresser chat, asking if I have any plans for my holidays'. Now I'm a nineties kid and a mother so I'm all about that Disney life, so I reply "I don't mind Beauty and the Beast but Mulan will ALWAYS be my favourite!"

The humming stops and my tattoo artist just looks at me strangely. A minute of silence passes and she says "Sar, you do know this is a Disney tattoo right...?". It's pretty clear from my face that I indeed DID not know. "It's the stained glass window from Beauty and the Beast".

So. I now have a Beauty and the Beast tattoo on my arm and you know that I went home and watched it just to confirm.

art
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.