Geeks logo

My 2021 Reading Statistics

& Top 5 Books Of 2021

By Elfie RiverdellPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Spotify Wrapped created a wave of statistical wrap-ups all over social media. Today I’m going to look at my reading statistics for the year of 2021.

In 2021 I read a total of 16,684 pages

That is insane, because I was in a reading slump for three months throughout 2021. Considering how much more I could have read had I not been in that reading slump, the fact that I still managed to read nearly 17,000 pages blows my mind.

In total, I read 74 books during 2021

This includes audiobooks, ebooks, physical books, as well as graphic novels and manga.

The shortest book I read last year was Mr. Eastwood’s Adventure by Agatha Christie, at only 24 pages long!

This is one of Agatha Christie’s ‘Masterpieces In Miniature’ - or in other words, one of her short stories. I had a hard time deciding whether to count these short stories towards my reading goal, but decided in the end, that it was listed as a short novel on Goodreads, so that’s what I went with!

The longest book I read in 2021 was Gemina by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman, at 659 pages

This is definitely not the longest book I have ever read, and it didn’t feel terribly long when I was reading it. I actually flew through this book, and found it really engaging and attention grabbing.

The average book length for the books I read last year was 225 pages

I think 225 pages is pretty average in general, right? Most books I read are around 300 pages, so it’s a bit lower than I expected, but not shockingly so.

The most popular book I read in 2021 was Eragon by Christopher Paolini, which was shelved (on Goodreads) by a whopping 2,148,883 other readers!

I really enjoyed Eragon. I never read it as a child, so it was interesting to see how my thoughts differed from my partner’s, who read it as a child and loved it. It was on his recommendation that I read this one, and I enjoyed reading it. I listened to the audiobook while also physically reading the book, and it was an enjoyable experience.

My average rating for the books I read in 2021 was 3.8 stars

I’d say that’s pretty good, although I tend not to rate books I don’t enjoy, unless there is a specific reason I don’t enjoy them, such as having bad representation or extremely problematic aspects.

My top five books from 2021 were;

The Girl With The Louding Voice by Abi Daré

This book was so incredible, I struggle to put it into words. It was so moving, informative, and emotional. It’s one that has stuck with me since the very beginning of 2021, and it has remained a favourite throughout the entire year.

Winters Orbit by Everina Maxwell

This was an ARC I was kindly sent by Orbit back at the beginning of 2021. I read it so fast, and it was such an enjoyable and exciting read. The friendships and relationships were so entertaining to read about, and the plot was action packed and gripping.

Light of the Jedi by Charles Soule

This was another one that I read right at the beginning of the year. I sometimes struggle with science fiction, so I was a little worried going into it that it might go over my head, but this was such an accessible and enjoyable sci-fi. Plus, it’s Star Wars, which is always a plus!

Fable by Adrienne Young

Do I really need to elaborate? Adrienne Young is my favourite young adult fantasy author, and I have enjoyed everything I have read by her. I still need to pick up Namesake (the sequel to Fable) but I’m slightly nervous to do so, only because I have such high hopes for it. I’m planning on reading it soon though, so watch this space to see my thoughts on it when I do!

Once Upon a Broken Heart by Stephanie Garber

This was the book that got me out of the previously mentioned reading slump. I actually pre-ordered this one too, which I don’t often do. I didn’t know much about this going into it, other than the fact that there were supposed to be tiny dragons involved somehow. While the tiny dragons were barely mentioned (but still cute) I did actually really enjoy this one, and like I said, it got me out of my multi-month reading slump, so it gets a bonus point…

There you have it, my 2021 reading stats! How many books did you read in 2021? Which was your favourite? Let me know in the comments!

review
Like

About the Creator

Elfie Riverdell

Author of The Forest of Fallen Stars (May '21) and The Girl Who Breathed Fire ('22)

Blogger & BookTuber

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.