Geeks logo

Must see Docu-series during a quarantine

Stuck at home and like true crime? Watch these

By Lea Wilson Published 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

So you’re home and you’re stuck there until things start to go back to normal with all this COVID-19 stuff hanging over our heads. I have found myself watching way too many docu-series and I think more and more people are starting to get hooked on them too. These are the Top five docu-series/dramas you have to watch during the quarantine. You can find these on Netflix.

Tiger King

Okay, so I’m fairly certain everybody must have watched this by now. If you haven’t, you are seriously missing out. My cousin and I watched this together one day when I decided to give in and figure out what all the hype was about. Well, we were hooked. This show was one of the most entertaining and wild docu-series I have seen in a while. If you haven’t watched it then you probably have seen plenty of memes and gifs. It’s the story of some strange owners of exotic animal zoos. I say it this way because it doesn’t just include the main man Joe Exoctic but multiple others. This show will make you question whether some things actually happened the way it’s said it did and you will find yourself in utter shock at some of the most ridiculous things that could never possibly be true but are. And it will leave you wanting more.

The Trials of Gabriel Fernandez

This particular one is not for the faint of heart. This docu-series is heartbreaking and gut-wrenching as they go into details of how an 8-year-old boy was murdered by his parents. It goes into detail of the unfortunate circumstances of how the system that was put in place to protect kids like Gabriel failed to protect him and if anything can be done to change it. This particular series was really hard to watch and I will admit I cried during most of it. They will show graphic photos so if that’s something you can’t handle then I don’t recommend it. This series is so important for people to watch because it opens your eyes and it brings awareness. You should watch it because this young boy died to his mother and her boyfriend’s hands, simply because they didn’t like him and people should be aware of this case. Things like this should never happen.

The Mind of Aaron Hernandez

This series was one of the first that my cousin I watched together which is partly the reason why true-crime series has become our thing. She suggested we watch it and I didn’t know too much about the case at the time and by the end of it, I was feeling unnerved. This is the story of former football player turned supposed murderer. I say supposed because I have opinions regardless of his conviction. This show will take you on a journey of who the man was and how he ended up being charged with crimes. If you pay attention and look closely at the details provided to you then you will see that some things just don’t add up and are perhaps too convenient. Did he actually commit murder or was he simply in the wrong place at the wrong time? Was he framed? We will probably never know, but what I’ll say is I have my doubts after watching this series.

Waco

This series should certainly be watched after watching Tiger King because it’s mentioned by Joe in the show and it will strike a nerve after you understand why it was a big statement. Waco is the story of the Waco siege that ended in the loss of many lives including close to thirty kids. There was a religious compound in Waco, Texas called Mt. Carmel and it was the target of ATF agents looking for illegal firearms. This is simply a docu-drama from the perspective of the FBI agent and survivors who wrote books about the experience. The leader of the group is not made in this series to look crazy but more disillusioned in a way. He has formed this group in claims that he would be the one to bring about the end of days and save people. You will see and hear things that he did and said that is going to sound just absolutely outrageous. The FBI agent involved is going to feel conflicted and angry because it will appear he really did his best to try to save some lives. This series makes me question what really occurred on that day but after some further reading, it just makes me wonder if we will ever really know.

The Staircase

I have saved this for last because it’s the most recent one I have seen. A case I actually remember hearing about but was too young to understand. This is a series filmed in hopes of shedding light on what the Peterson family considers the true story. Michael Peterson was charged and convicted (later overturned) of killing his wife who had been found at the bottom of the stairs in their home. You will see literally everything they are willing to show you. The real trial with the real witness and jury. They will show graphic pictures and footage of Kathaleen Peterson after passing. It is not for the faint-hearted. You will see a family stand by their father and friend while the daughter of Kathaleen stands by her aunts. Did Peterson do it? Well, he was convicted but I guess you will have to watch to find out why it gets overturned and what happens next. I myself will admit that I find the whole case questionable and fascinating. But I do find it really hard to believe it was simply a fall too. For that, if I had been on this Jury I would have been the reason it would have been hung. I wouldn’t have been able to say guilty or not. Especially after learning about the autopsy, and evidence that was submitted that was just not right. It can get boring at times because sometimes you don’t care about Peterson’s get epiphany's.

I have watched all of these series and they have all been fascinating, sad, heartbreaking and shocking. Some are pure entertainment and some are just necessary to make people aware. Will you still have faith in the government after watching these?

tv
Like

About the Creator

Lea Wilson

Hey there. I work in the entertainment industry.I’m in love with, all things horror, fitness, beauty products and books. I also happen to be a psychology major so, I'm kind of a jack of all trades

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.