Geeks logo

Musa In The Gambia

Filmmaker with Dreams

By Tammy ReesePublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
Musa Darboe on filming set

Name: Musa Darboe

Location: Brufut Village The Gambia.

Profession: Actor, Script Writer ,Producer

Musa Darboe commonly known as Chief in the Gambia film industry is the youngest filmmaker in my country . When it comes to filmmaking his country is behind . Government and National Center For Art And Culture doesn't help filmmakers at all, it is really frustrating for him. Actors need another job to support themselves, but can't depend on the film acting .

Musa Darboe has acted in so many blockbuster films in The Gambia, and written and produced films as well. He is so glad that he was able to register his name in the history books of the film industry in his country .

Among the trending films Musa Darboe has produced and acted in as the lead role are ( The Unfaithful Girl 2019 ) & ( The Brave Restless Students 2020). Recently while shooting a TV series, he went as far as he could but then ran out of cash. A Gambian based in Italy created a GoFundMe account for the project and Musa would be happy if you can support him by putting the link of the GoFundMe account on your social media page.

Vocal readers please enjoy our interview!

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to become a multi talented creator?

Musa Darboe:

I've always wanted to do this because my country's film industry is behind the most remote film in the world so I believe I could make a change. Actors don't have the money, they need a job to do so and to put food on the table. I want to join hands with the people who wants to make a change that's what inspired me to choose this profession.

Tammy Reese:

What is the best part about the work you do?

Musa Darboe:

The best part about the work I do is to make your films and then premiere them. People will come such as friends and family to grace the occasion, it's wonderful and a great feeling .

Tammy Reese:

What is the hardest part about the work you do?

Musa Darboe:

The hardest part about the work I do is we in the film industry are poor and it is sad. We use our life savings to make films and at the end of the day TV stations don't buy our films, but instead they want to have our films for free and play them. They look for sponsors and take the money. People here especially the government don't value us in the film industry. We cry for change every now and then, but it is still the same. Actors and Producers don't have money, it's sad everyday that Actors and Producers are quitting or leaving for America, Ghana, and Nigeria to pursue their career. It's hard .

Tammy Reese:

What are some memorable moments in your career so far?

Musa Darboe:

The Unfaithful Girl 2019 was a very memorable one in my career. I was glad that (The Unfaithful Girl 2019) was the most attended movie premiere in the history of Gambian film , I am glad that I and my team made that memorable history. It's an amazing feeling seeing your work come to life . Especially after you worked so hard to get it complete.

Tammy Reese:

What are you currently working on?

Musa Darboe:

I'm currently working on a new TV series (Soulmate) which I already started shooting but stopped shooting due to financial crisis. We have a GoFundMe account which I want people to help donate to my team and I so that we can continue on with the project.

Bru's Stars Movie Production is a film production based in Brufut The Gambia, Bru's Stars Movie Production is a team comprises of young Gambians who want to take the movie industry in the Gambia to another level. Bru's Stars Movie Production have produced few blockbuster films in the Gambia and now looking for funds to shoot their new TV series (Soulmate). Soulmate is love story that will move mountains and Bru's Stars Movie Production cannot do it alone so we definitely need funds to do this , your donations will go a long way . Thanks in advance for donating .

Tammy Reese:

What is some words of advice you would give to anyone who aspires to get into the film industry?

Musa Darboe:

Well I don't want to stop I want to keep going , so I encourage that all you who want to be a filmmaker to keep going as well. There will be times you may want to quit. Sometimes I do I want to quit now , but I am not going to. I would say to everyone to support indie filmmakers like myself . Our creativity helps support our work, our goals , ourselves and our families. Myself and all others need support anyway you can to help us also get the word our not only about funding us, but also so more eyes see the films. More more information about my film production company and donating click here. I'm very young, 23 years old. I've used all my life savings to make films from (The Unfaithful Girl), ( The Brave Restless Students) & now (Soulmate The Series). It's hard to use my life savings and at the end I get zero in return. So my destiny depends on others support for the series. I am honored to be featured in an American publication like Vocal Media to help my team and I spread the word a bit farther. I am so grateful.

Tammy Reese:

How has the pandemic shaped your day to day life?

Musa Darboe:

The pandemic has affected me so badly , I lost my job since May 7th and right now I am jobless . I'm the breadwinner of my family so you can imagine how difficult that is. I do know it has been hard for everyone dealing with this. There's no jobs available here. We go hungry sometimes and we have to sleep like that. The pandemic has affected me and my family badly. I continue to stay strong, focused, create and hope for the best. I can't wait until the pandemic is over.

Tammy Reese:

What is some advice you would give to someone who wants to get into the film industry?

Musa Darboe:

Well, it's a noble profession with lot of money but if you're in the Gambia and want to pursue your acting career it will be hard. However if you want to do it for passion and not the money, go for it. Making films are so fun. If you want to get exposed and have money you need to travel to America, Ghana , Nigeria or any country that value movie unlike Gambia in my opinion.

Musa Darboe on filming set

Connect with Musa Darboe on Linkedin to follow and support his career journey.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.