Geeks logo

Muppets in Bohemia

My last time on stage, I had no lines.

By Karen LichtmanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

And we danced like a wave on the ocean

Romanced

We were liars in love and we danced

Swept away for a moment by chance

And we danced and danced, danced.

--The Hooters, 1985

WEDNESDAY

APRIL 15, 2020

Meditation, light, hydration, open window, movement. 6:50am. Meditation was Oprah & Deepak's Day 4. Intentional morning movement was tai chi.

Crawled back into bed and rested for another 40 minutes. Listened to Day 5 meditation.

Made a smoothie using home brewed iced tea as a base. Added leftover cooked oatmeal and frozen fruit. It was absolutely delicious. Thick and creamy.

I brewed tea not once today but twice. I drank the first batch so fast. Taylor's black tea, Mighty Leaf Green Tropical, Guyaki Yerba Mate, whole cloves, cardamom. To which I added my blend of flax, chia and Garden of Life, My Kind Tumeric Boost. Simmer for 40 minutes. Strain. Mason jars. Refrigerator.

Took a Host Defense, Turkey Tail.

Ate two rice cakes with organic crunchy peanut butter. Twice. The rice cakes were Lundberg's. The organic crunchy peanut butter was Woodstock's. Twice. Maybe three times. Over the course of the day.

Lunch was seitan, rice and veggies heated and tossed in veggie broth.

Watched a few videos on Skillshare. Then joined an amazing webcast with the Plant-Powered Pantry Challenge. The host was quite knowledgeable, Canadian, and lead a great conversation. We discussed breakfast, from which I got some amazing ideas.

I had an early dinner of tofu and veggies in peanut sauce, on an Ezekiel bun. Times 2.

Made art before bed.

@oprah

@deepakchopra

@taylors_oldaccount

@mightyleaf

@frontiercoop

@gardenoflife

@hostdefense

@lundbergs

@woodstockfoods

@uptonsnaturals

@foodforlifebaking

www.taylorsofharrogate.com

Plant-Powered Pantry Challenge: @hol_lifehub

Quigong Full 20-Minute Daily Routine: https://youtu.be/cwlvTcWR3Gs

---------------------------------------

During my morning movement exercise, I had a thought.

Are you ready? It's a good one. The Muppets are involved.

The very last show I was in, was a community, musical version of The Winters Tale. Now this was indeed an off-Broadway community cast of over 200, including the Muppets! Imagine my surprise when in rehearsal the day I found out that Cookie Monster was Jewish, and knew the bracha for cookies. I swear to you, true.

I also got to tell Elmo that when I was little, he wasn't on the show yet. And he shouted, "WOW! You must be really old!"

We all played Bohemians, a real party town, which was the site of a shipwreck. Imagine the Poseidon Adventure, meets Greenwich Village back in the day, meets Animal House, meets HR Puff and Stuff, meets Knocked Up. Hey, there's a "BABY!" in Winter's Tale.

But as one of 200 bohemians on stage, I didn't sing, and I didn't act. My senator showed up one night, a lovely man, who I had voted for many times. HE was worked into the show and had more lines than I did.

There was one scene in which the King shows up, freaks out, and our party is over. I got to grab one of the kids and walk her off stage, pretending to have a conversation about why we were leaving. Each night, I would whisper to her, "I'm pretending to have a conversation with you about why we're leaving."

But I danced. They made me dance. I don't know who told casting that I could. Drunk and high at the Limelight and the Palladium in the 80's doesn't make me Patrick Swaze, or as teachable as Jennifer Grey. And not at a single bar mitzvah at the Huntington Town House were we required to count dance steps while doing the Alley Cat. We all just sort of knew it. Like Y-M-C-A!

So as we rehearsed all these big musical numbers, the choreographer kept moving me up-stage, far-far-far left.

Sort of like how I vote. Sort of, I say. How do you think my senator became my senator?

I thought about this, as I easily followed 20 minutes of a Qigong video early this morning. They even told me when to breathe.

So I would like to take this Vocal moment to let my Winters Tale producers that a solo off-Broadway show, of me doing tai chi on stage, would be right up my alley.

Call me.

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Karen Lichtman

Plant based. Runner. Young widow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.