Geeks logo

Movie Review: 'Godzilla: King of the Monsters'

All action no story...

By Angel QuintanillaPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

As a child, my brother and I loved Godzilla. I mean the 1998 version. However, watching it now... there are some flaws. That does not mean I would not ditch the night scene to stay in and watch it with wine and popcorn. But what are my thoughts on this new installment of Godzilla? Well let's start with the good.

Godzilla: King of the Monsters (GKM) was good for what it was. In case you had no idea, this is the second part of the 2014 Godzilla movie. I would recommend watching that movie before watching GKM. You might be excited for this installment, because of the many monsters that appear... and oh, man, so many monsters appear. Let me help you with the monsters you will want to know about before watching this movie. They are mentioned in the movie, but with all the action, you would probably forget. I know I did, by the end I was calling them butterfly monster and dragon monster.

The Monsters

Ghidorah

Ghidorah is the three headed dragon who wants to be in charge, which means Ghidorah has to fight Godzilla for the spot. Whoever is in charged gets to tell the other monsters what to do. Did I mention there are so many monsters!

Mothra

Mothra is the beautiful butterfly, and I will say she is beautiful. She is considered the queen of the monsters, and plays a big role in the movie. Yeah, queen! She is the one who kinda gets the ball rolling in this movie.

Godzilla

Godzilla is the one we all know, the dinosaur lizard monster we love. He is the king of monsters, and has to fight his way to the top with Ghidorah wanting that position.

This is the plot for the movie, sure we are all down for it, but where this movie falls short is the actual plot line for the humans. we root for the battles of the monsters, but we honestly don't care about the actions of the humans. I think if there where no humans in this movie, we might have caught the gist of what is going on.

Let me explain. The story of the humans is that they want to bring these monsters to life, so they can destroy the world, because it is too populated... I might be the only one who thinks this, but THANOS from Endgame. Just that storyline itself sounds like crap, especially if a movie that came out five weeks beforehand did that role. Then, there were so many moments the CGI was not working for me, and would actually take me out of the movie. I could tell it was done for the 3D watchers. Then the characters that did die—we were not close to them. I felt we were given five minutes before they died for us to actually even get to know them. We should have liked these people from the beginning... that is rule 105 in writing scripts (if you want us to care about someone, introduce their importance early on). We care what happens to Godzilla, and even though he is destroying our city, we want him to win... that is what this story was missing the whole time: A GOOD STORYLINE. We had characters who were good one second, and then bad the next. I found myself rooting for no humans, and only Godzilla. Maybe that is what this movie was trying to do?

If you still are not sure if you want to watch this movie, ask yourself this question: do I want action, or do I want a good storyline? If the answer is action then watch it. If the answer is storyline, then watch Booksmart.

Because of my feelings towards this movie, I am giving it 2.5 stars out of 5. This might be my lowest rating yet. This will not take away from my love of Godzilla, but maybe from my expectations in the upcoming films.

Out of all the installments of Godzilla where would you rank this movie? I would defiantly not buy it on blue ray or DVD, but if it's on TV, I might watch it. I will stick to liking the 1998 version, and the cartoons.

review
Like

About the Creator

Angel Quintanilla

Trying to find my voice one article at a time. Freelance in regards to topics. Write was keeps you up at night, and what makes you happy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.