Geeks logo

Moves To Look Forward to In 2022

Hopefully to be released in 2022.

By Amanda SPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

That is if everything runs smoothly this year and these movies are able to be released at their expected date. Some of these are even movies that I would brave the movie theaters to go see. This list will be a mixture of movies that will have limited releases, online releases, and theater releases. Most of this will feature horror movies.

The Superdeep - January 4.

Digital Release

A Russian mining facility from the 1980s is doing it's best at breaking through the crust of the Earth, trying to dig deeper than anyone before. The further that they dig down, however, they start hearing what sounds like human screams. I don't know why these cave/tunnel movies do it for me so well. But, it seems like a fun adventure with body horror and finding out what's under our feet.

Scream - January 14th.

Theater Release.

No, this is not a remake of the original. I wish they had made that clear by not calling this movie Scream. It is the fifth installment of the franchise and the first one without any Wes Craven touches. So, it's going to be interesting how someone else handles the franchise. Bringing back the trio from the previous movies, it's going to be an interesting time for the viewer. This movie promises to reveal a Scream mask killer that we definitely didn't expect.

The Batman - March 4.

Theatrical Release.

I don't actually care that much about Batman in the same way I don't care about Spiderman. Meaning that there have been so many adaptations that there's not much that can surprise me at this point. But having Robert Pattinson, most known for Twilight although he has done SO much more than that, play the masked vigilante is something that I'm super interested in seeing. Also, Zoe Kravtiz as Catwoman is just too exciting for me to pretend I don't see it.

Jurassic World: Dominion - June 10.

Theatrical Release

The Jurassic Park/Jurassic World franchise is one of my favorite in the world. I think that Jurassic World plays a lot more on the original themes that were addressed in the book and I think this is a natural progression of the last movie. And I'm really excited for it. It's going to be really cool, even though Chris Pratt is going to be in it. Sam Niell is returning! That's good enough reason to go see this movie.

The Black Phone - June 24.

Theatrical Release.

A boy wakes up in a soundproof basement, held captive by a sadistic serial killer. No matter how much he screams, no one can hear him. But when the disconnected phone on the wall starts ringing, he might not be as alone as he thought he was. Because when the phone rings, he can talk to the previous victims of the killer that is holding him in the basement. This looks like an amazing stylistic movie and I think that Ethan Hawke is going to do fantastic in this.

Thor: Love and Thunder - July 8.

Theatrical Release.

Once again, Chris Pratt continues to haunt the movies that I'm excited to see. But in this case, Taika Waititi is returning to this movie and he somehow managed to convince Natalie Portman to return as well. I really like that Thor has taken on a more comedy perspective than whatever they were aiming for in the first movies. I was a huge fan of Ragnarok so I'm very excited for this.

Salem's Lot - September 9.

Theatrical

It's time for a Stephen King adaptation with Salem's Lot. Originally adapted in the 1990s, this is probably going to be a much more gritty version of the novel. A man returns to his childhood home in Jersulam's Lot and discovers that something has certainly changed since then. There is a vampire living in an abandoned house that is slowly starting to turn the locals into vampires.

Dark Harvest - September 9.

Theaterical.

Two adaptations for the same date are going to be an interesting one. This movie doesn't have the benefit of being connected to Stephen King. The story revolves around a small town where a yearly event happens in Halloween. The October Boy, a local monster, rises from the cornfields and starts to hunt down teenagers. Not only is he coming for those teenagers, but the teenagers are coming for him as well. Because whoever kills The October Boy wins.

There are other movies that I'm interested in that haven't been announced yet as a release date; Orphan: First Kill and Deep Water in particular.

I'm really excited for these movies to be released. The last two years have been a bit of a mess with theaters being a difficult place to go. I don't even have a movie theater near me anymore, so venturing to see these movies is going to require me to drive at least an hour to go see a movie. I hope I get to see some of these in theaters, as I really miss doing that.

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Amanda S

Fascinated by horror and entertainment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.