Geeks logo

Most overrated anime

Day 4 of the 30 Day Anime Challenge

By animetipzPublished about a year ago 9 min read
Like

Onto day 4! If you missed the first few days here is the idea behind the 30-day anime challenge. I saw this post on Pinterest and thought it was a fun little challenge to do for the first month of the New Year. I did a challenge similar to this back in 2013 so I am curious to see if my taste has changed much in the past 10 years.

This is different from what I am used to blogging, which makes me excited to test my creativity and go back to find the answers to these writing prompts. On day one I found that I couldn't just pick one anime so I decided for each of these questions I will be doing 5 for every topic.

Feel free to join me in the comments below! I'd love to hear your opinions too!!

Subscribe to not miss a day of anime content

Day 4 Most overrated anime

Don't come at me for the anime I am about to list. These are my personal opinions. A few of them weren't to my taste, and a few were good just way overrated. I did finish all of the anime I listed below, and even after finishing it still didn't think it lived up to the hype.

These wouldn't be the first anime that I would recommend someone to watch, but I will still put the storyline below. Again these anime were just way overly hyped in my opinion and when I watched them they didn't live up to the popularity they received.

7 Deadly Sins

Storyline: The kingdom of Liones is thrown into turmoil when the king's Holy Knights are corrupted by a distinctly unholy demonic power. The land's only hope is a band of powerful warriors known as The Seven Deadly Sins - an exiled group of oddballs who seem to spend as much time fighting each other as they do fighting their enemies. Princess Elizabeth desperately seeks their aid, but the leader of her would-be saviors turns out to be an undersized pervert with a broken blade and a talking pig! They are soon joined by a jealous giant, a fussy fairy, and an immortal bandit pining over his lost love. Can these people be the legendary heroes she's looking for?

I saw this anime everywhere, I heard it was amazing from several people and finally gave in to giving it a try. After the first few episodes I wasn't impressed, with the basic story, and annoying female characters, but I figured I would give it the benefit of the doubt and watched all of season 1. It is safe to say I won't be watching anymore. I'm sure the storyline gets better but something that makes or breaks an anime for me is the female characters. There are some badass, adorable, brave, goofy, and incredible female anime characters. The one quality I can't stand is whiny female anime characters. I might be able to handle one in a show but all the female leads were insanely whiny and it honestly ruined the show for me. I can even handle some fan service because I know that there is going to be some level in almost every anime but the whiny characters made me not want to watch anymore.

Jujutsu Kaisen

Storyline: Yuji Itadori, a kind-hearted teenager, joins his school's Occult Club for fun, but discovers that its members are actual sorcerers who can manipulate the energy between beings for their own use. He hears about a cursed talisman - the finger of Sukuna, a demon - and it's being targeted by other cursed beings. Yuji eats the finger to protect his friends and ends up becoming Sukuna's host. However, Yuji discovers that he has inherited magic and can control this power without interference from Sukuna. He joins the Tokyo Metropolitan Magic Technical College to consume all of Sukuna's fingers, which will enable a full exorcism to take place that will free him.

If you haven't heard of Jujutsu Kaisen you officially live under a rock. I have been seeing these anime everywhere and finally decided to give it a try. The storyline I felt the story was very basic. Wait, you're saying a guy who is eating fingers basic? Well, hear me out. I have noticed a typical story pattern that jujutsu kaisen also follows. The protagonist falls into extreme power and now is a hero of the people. Whether it's fighting demons, devils, or curses, the protagonist is almost instantly more powerful than the other characters who have been training their whole life. I am not a fan of the lack of originality. The first season did not live up to the hype. It was entertaining to watch, but I did not connect with the story. The way they fight and use cursed energy was a little too complicated for me. I felt the show spent more time explaining what was happening than just following the story. The animation was pretty average, although the fight scenes were very epic. The creativity of the curses was dark and creepy and I loved them. One of the biggest make-or-breaks for me is how creative the characters are written. Not only are each of these characters unique, but their interaction made the show in my opinion.

After not really connecting with the show I wasn't sure if I wanted to watch the movie. But decided it was worth a watch to give it another chance. I was pleasantly surprised. I enjoy characters who have to work hard for their skills and power, So it was refreshing to see Yuta young and untrained become the powerful jujutsu sorcerer we see in the show.

Along with Yuta Okkotsu, we see the other students of jujutsu high in their raw and untrained state. I thought this was a fantastic addition to the characters and got me to be invested in the show again. I still think it didn't live up to the hype it has received but maybe season 2 will change my mind.

Full Review Link

Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood

Storyline: The foundation of alchemy is based on the law of equivalent exchange; you cannot produce something from nothing. As such, alchemy is bound by one taboo - human transmutation. Four years ago two young brothers, Edward and Alphonse Elric, broke this taboo when they tried to resurrect their dead mother. During the process, Al's body disintegrated and Ed lost his leg. In a desperate attempt to prevent his brother from disappearing completely, Ed sacrificed one of his arms so he could affix Al's soul to a suit of armor. When his missing limbs are replaced by auto mail parts, Ed bears the name of the Fullmetal Alchemist - the youngest ever State Alchemist and dog of the military. Now, alongside his brother, Ed uses his status within the military to attempt to find any way that he can return their bodies to their original state.

I love the Fullmetal alchamist fanchise. I started by watching Fullmetal Alchemist and then read the manga and then watched Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood. I didn't understand why people hated the first version so much, but I only heard brotherhood was way better because it followed the manga so I had to watch it. This isn't the most popular opinion but I really didn't care much for the brotherhood version. I think people hated the first version because it didn't follow the manga, that is because it was being released while the manga was still releasing chapters. I thought it showed a lot of creativity from the writers of the anime to figure out how the manga would have ended. Brotherhood was not as good in my opinion and it didn't live up to the hype it gets which is why it felt right to add it to this list. Personally, I think you should still watch both and make that decision for yourself, with either one your mind will be blown. I do plan on writing a comparison between the two and the manga soon so be on the lookout for that.

Which did you prefer? Fullmetal Alchemist or Brotherhood?

Cyberpunk Edgerunners

Storyline: A street kid tries to survive in a technology and body modification-obsessed city of the future. Having everything to lose, he chooses to stay alive by becoming an edgerunner — a mercenary outlaw also known as a cyberpunk.

When this anime came out earlier this year I saw it everywhere. I have never played the game but this looked like such a sick show I was so hyped to see it. Since it is on this list it is safe for you to assume I did not think it lived up to the hype. The only part of this anime that I like was the animation, it was colorful and edgy but other than that I can't think of anything else I like. Maybe it just wasn't my taste in anime but I was disappointed after I finished it, because I kept waiting for it to get better.

I will write a full review on why I wasn't a fan of this anime but for now, just know I didn't think it lived up to the hype it received.

Black Butler

Storyline: In Victorian England, it is commonplace for the rich and wealthy to have a staff, led by a head butler, to run their households; the Phantomhive Estate is no different. The young and demanding Count Ciel Phantomhive, the child owner of a toy company, lives in the grand countryside manor. Sebastian is his head butler and the epitome of perfection; he effortlessly and gracefully completes his day-to-day chores and fixes the countless mistakes of the other employees. However, whilst on the outside, all seems prim and proper, a more sinister secret lies just beneath the surface. Sebastian is in fact a demon bound by a contract with the young count; he will loyally serve and fight for him in return for his soul.

I am ashamed to admit that I even gave this anime a try, But I lived through Black Bulter's first release and it was huge. It was impossible to escape and after I fought it off for a while a friend forced me to watch it. At the time they only had season 1 and I watched the whole thing against my will. I couldn't even describe the emotions I felt but I would have rather had lemon juice squeezed in my eyes than watch another minute of this show.

It was the most creepy and cringy thing that I have ever seen and it did not live up to the insane hype it got.

I mention this yesterday but don't always believe the hype. There are some mega-popular anime that are absolutely incredible and some completely unknown anime that are just as incredible. Don't let anyone make you feel bad for not wanting or not liking a popular anime.

Anime is supposed to entertain you and bring you a whole bunch of emotions, and there are so many out there to enjoy make sure you don't waste time on ones you don't find interesting or enjoy.

What is an anime you thought didn't live up to the hype it got? Have you seen any of the anime on my list? I'd love to hear in the comments below

Thanks for Reading!!

Subscribe for Anime Content

Bye for now!! Hope to see you again tomorrow!

tvlistentertainmentcosplay
Like

About the Creator

animetipz

✨Anime Blogger✨

I watch too much anime and would love to turn it into a creative outlet!

Blogging about anime topics, giving honest reviews, and staying up to date with all things anime

https://linktr.ee/animetips

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.