Geeks logo

Meet Omari Bonner

Award-Winning Writer

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Omari Bonner (Award-Winning Writer)

Meet Omari Bonner

Born and raised in Detroit, Michigan, I have always had a way with words. At an early age, I had developed a love for reading and writing. This carried over to my teen and early adult years, and I ended up using my talent to write music. My music was special to me because it allowed me to express myself, and put my energy and life experiences into my music. After a brief stint in the music industry, I thought about how I could continue to use words as expressing myself, so I thought about writing a book. At the time, my mother was battling a gambling addiction at the same time she was diagnosed with cancer. I sat and brainstormed about the situation and came up with the idea to write about it. My first book, Lord Please Make It Stop, was the way I dealt with everything that was going on.

After writing my first book, I quickly had other ideas which led me to write a series, The Streets Don’t Love You. This is a two-part urban series based on the life of a young man and his ties to the drug game. The Other Side Of The Ring is my latest book, based on the trials and tribulations in relationships. I consider myself a versatile author, meaning I don’t have a certain style or genre that I specialize in. After getting good reviews on the book, I wrote the movie script for Lord Please Make It Stop.

My dream is to have it turned into a feature movie, so I have been entering the script into a few contests, trying to gain attention from filmmakers. As of the moment, I have won four laurels, out of four contests that I’ve entered. This is a major accomplishment for me, seeing as though it’s my first script I ever wrote. Now I think I’m ready to show the world my talents!

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to become a writer?

Omari Bonner:

My inspiration comes from within. I have always had a way with words, and have always had this niche for writing. It's my way of expressing myself.

Tammy Reese:

Why do you think writing is a unique form of creativity?

Omari Bonner:

As far as writing being unique, I think that means that no one is the same. No story can be told the same way. Everyone has their own way of telling a story, which means everyone has their own way of writing. For example, Pulp Fiction was written to be portrayed backward. That was something that was never done before, which puts the writer in his own category.

Tammy Reese:

What do you love most about the work that you do?

Omari Bonner:

My first book, Lord Please Make It Stop, came from me watching my mother struggle with a gambling addiction at the same time she was battling cancer. I felt there was no other way to get to her other than putting it in a book. I know she loves to read, so I figured that I would put her story in a book, and maybe it would help her get past whatever demons she had. And it worked.

Tammy Reese:

What are some challenges?

Omari Bonner:

Challenges? I would say the only challenges I have had were trying to work a full-time job and trying to network within the industry, along with raising kids. I guess that's a few challenges.

Tammy Reese:

What are the most memorable moments in your career so far?

Omari Bonner:

My most memorable moments are when my first book was published, my first contest I entered my book in, and my first contest that I won. I didn't win the contest for my book, which sort of had me second-guessing my craft, but when I won the first contest I entered the script in, it brought my confidence back up. I keep that memory though, of when I didn't get selected because it was like motivation for me.

The first contest that I won is memorable, not just because I won, but because it was the first time someone that didn't know me gave me credit for something that I wrote, and the first award I received.

Tammy Reese:

How has the pandemic shaped your day-to-day life?

Omari Bonner:

The pandemic hasn't really changed my daily routine, because I pretty much have worked during the whole pandemic, not at home. I did, however, start writing a love story about two people who met during the pandemic.

Tammy Reese:

What are you currently working on?

Omari Bonner:

Currently, I'm shopping my script, and also promoting my books, while working on my new book, Quarantine Love. My ultimate goal is to see one or more of my works as a feature on the big screen.

Tammy Reese:

What advice would you have for anyone who wants to become a writer?

Omari Bonner:

My advice to other up and coming writers is to just keep writing, and always have something else for the reader. Always have a second project that's done or that you're working on. That way, if you get a project picked up, you already have another idea ready to go. Never get discouraged. No two opinions are the same.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.