Geeks logo

LMKworks

My one dream in life.

By Leanna Mosley Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

This story takes me back as far as I can remember. My grandmother use to sit all the grand children in one room to watch animated Disney movies. we would watch them so much we new the word and songs by heart. my love for animation did not stop there. Saturday morning cartoons were my absolute favorite. They had an edge to them that Disney did not have back then. like any other kid cartoons where my life.

Around 5th grade I discovered my amazing talent. I could sketch artwork. This became the highlight of my young life. I began searching for any piece of artwork I could find. I sketched form comic books, game magazines, Loony Toons T-Shirts. The more sketches completed the better my craft became. Family members loved to encourage me. My grandma suggest I work for Disney as a cartoonist. That was the spark of my Dream. I wanted to be a Cartoonist. Creation cartoons for the world to enjoy.

By the time I reached high school sketching wasn't enough. I wanted more from my talent. I wanted to create my own characters and stories. Something that was unique and mine. The skills I learned along the way were not enough. I new there was much more to learn. College seemed to be the answer. There my major was visual communication and media art. Sadly school was not in the cards for me. My journey end in just a few short months. It was hard to attend school regularly, tend to a new born, and a mate who did not support me. Still I continued to learn from any source I could. YouTube was the best.

My gift would not be still. Stories flowed from my imagination and my pen would not be still. Noticeable changes of improvement showed in every character. I decided that I wanted to be a graphic novelist. It would be the first step to becoming a cartoonist. I learned what I could and sharpened my skills to develop my own style. It wasn't quite Western style or Japanese style. I wanted to incorporate my love for anime and my love for cartoons in one. But my style needed a name that would make it stand out. That is when I come up with LMKomics.

LMKomics was my dream come true. I couldn't wait to put my plan into action. Now a single mom with two kids and a job that allowed me adequate free time I was on my way. Like all dreams I was missing a very important part of the plan. Funding! Living pay check to pay check put a big halt in my plans. My self esteem took a huge blow. For a time I gave up on my drawing. I put all my work in the closet. My life fell apart shortly after. I felt like I lost everything. At times like this drawing is all I can do. So I picked it up again. Moor stories with nothing to do with them.

Years later when life was good again and one more child added to the family, I wanted to give my goals another try. LMKomics became LMKworks. Still no money I look to social media for support. Linkedin, Instagram, Tumbler, Deviant Art, PenUp, Upwork, Facebook, you name it I'm on it as LMKwork. I even published a comic on amazon KDP. The title was “Purple Veins”. I felt so accomplished when this was published, I knew I could do better so I took it down. Discouragement filled my heart when it didn't sell.

41 years old with 3 children and ambition steering the wheel, I am still at it. I will accomplish my goals to become a Graphic Novelist and Animator. Even if I don't my artwork will still fill the social media world.

art
Like

About the Creator

Leanna Mosley

Am a freelance artist. My goals in life include making complete graphic novels and animations. I joined Vocals to help me achieve that goal.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.