Geeks logo

Life choices

Apple vs. Samsung

By Theresa RileyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Life choices
Photo by Harrison Moore on Unsplash

Which is better? I have been going back and forth about returning to an Apple iPhone, get the Apple watch, an iPad and a MacBook pro. I currently have a Samsung Galaxy Note 10, which I love. I love my pink, gold, and white phone case and the pen or should I say stylus that comes with it. I do everything on my phone. Checking social media. Running my business and managing orders. I am creating collages from the photos I take and even found an app to draw so that I can make my designs for my business. When it concerns any of the gaming apps. . .I usually pick ones where I am getting rewarded points towards Amazon or PayPal. As for tablets, I currently use my Kindle and that is just to read my digital books. My laptop is not a Samsung, but a Dell. It does its job. All my other electronics are Samsung: tv, washer, dryer, microwave, refrigerator, stove, and yes, the dishwasher too.

I did own an iPhone, but it was an iPhone 5 and it was for work. Yes, I know. That is considered ancient technology based on today’s standards. The things that I want to do, artistically, is making me lean towards getting Apple products. Also, most of my family has Apple products and my sister gave me her 2-cent sales pitch on why I should come over. Here are my own thoughts and opinions in hopes that I decide on what I should do next:

Photos and videos do not come or go clearly!

Ok, so for anyone that knows, when someone on the iOS or Android platform sends someone a picture or video, via text to someone on the opposite platform, the quality is . . . crappy. It is grainy, low pixels and looks like I am on my early 2000 flip phone.

Gotta use other platforms to “facetime”

So, if I were on the Apple iOS platform, I’d be able to facetime with the ones I love the most. But no. I am on Android and must use other video chat options like Facebook messenger, Zoom, Google Meet, Skype, and etc. There is nothing wrong with those platforms. I’m grateful to have various options BUT it would be nice to be able to just call my family members and have the immediate option to facetime with them and not be like, “Ok, hold on. Let me hang up and call you on Facebook Messenger.” I am all about efficiency and time saving methods. If I could save my sanity and just click one button versus hanging up, opening my FB messenger, finding an old conversation with the person I’m trying to video chat with, and then finally clicking on the video camera looking symbol, well, then my soul would be that much happier.

Talk into my wrist?

Ok, so having the feature where I can have my phone conversations from my smartwatch is pretty cool in my book. Now, this maybe ignorance on my part but I don’t know of a Samsung smartwatch that has that feature? But seeing my 60-something year old mom talk into her wrist made me want that ability too. Plus, the Apple watch also has the fitness capabilities that I want (Sorry Fitbit!).

iPad’s Procreate

Well, I did have an iPad years ago and I loved it. I had it everywhere with me until I accidentally dropped it. . .I cannot remember why I never replaced it. . .Anyways. There is a drawing program called, Procreate that I want to use for my business but it’s only for the iPad. They do not have a windows version or an app for the phone.

YouTube channel

One of my long-term goals is to create a YouTube channel (Thank you Sundai Love for inspiring me!), and I feel like Apple products would have better and easier programs to create and edit videos. Also, if I do decide to get an Apple iPhone, I feel like the transfer of videos and files would be easier if I have a MacBook Pro.

My phone pen

I am sorry. This maybe a feature from my Samsung phone that would be insignificant to others but I love my pen/stylus! I’m pretty sure Apple has pens for their products but (correct me if I’m wrong) they are sold separately, and do not have a feature on the phone to carry the pen/stylus like the Samsung Galaxy Notes do.

Price

Well, transitioning from Samsung to Apple would be an expensive transition because of all the new products I would have to purchase, and Apple products are not cheap. Plus, I would be adding the iPad which, as I stated earlier, I only have a Kindle for my tablet. The frugal part of me is like, “use what I have first, save up and then buy all the Apple products after a few milestones and goals have been accomplished.” The impatient side of me is like, “get it now to reach more milestones and goals FASTER.”

Conclusion

Yeah, sorry I do not have a conclusion. I am still thinking about it but after writing this, I am leaning more towards Apple. Find me on the following platforms and you can give me your 2-cent sales pitch on which one I should go for:

(4) Theresa S. Riley | Facebook

Theresa (Theresa Hamilton) Riley | LinkedIn

Instagram: Usagi_taicho

Also please feel free to send a tip so that I can continue writing more! It will be greatly appreciated and thank you for your time and support!

entertainment
1

About the Creator

Theresa Riley

I am a wife, mother of 2, lifetime student (2 master's degrees), entreprenuer, & a random creative writer. I have a wide variety of interests, ranging from anime, and food. Thank you for the support!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.