Geeks logo

"Les Miserables" it truly was

an unpopular movie opinion

By Ada ZubaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Les Miserables

It was the year 2012 when my facebook page started blowing up with comments about "Les Miserables". Many people wrote "Amazing beautiful film" and "you have to go see it". I gave into peer pressure, especially after my sister gave in and she said it was one of the most wonderful films that she had seen. One night, I gave in and decided to go see the movie with my parents. I knew what I was expecting because I have seen clips of it live on YouTube and I have read the Junior High Version of it. I liked the story about a man who has been a criminal all of his life and a simple act of kindness turned him into an honest man. Now, to refresh your memory this movie had won the academy award for best picture, best supporting actress, best actor, best costume design, best production design, and best makeup and hair styling. I agree with most of those wins except best picture. The lights were lowered the trailers stopped and here started the longest two hours and forty minutes of my life. I am someone who enjoys musicals such as Sound of Music, Singing in the Rain, Oklahoma, Rent and Cats. For people who think I do not have the attention span to sit through a musical are wrong. The first song was one of my favorites "look down" I like the rolling drums and the sound of crashing waves, but then Russell Crowe starts to sing, that was the movies first mistake. Instead of getting him to lip sync in the movie, they got him to sing. Now, the title of the movie should give away the fact that this is not going to be a happy movie, which is fine. I was prepared for that. The constant tone is dark and foreboding and that's not something that bothers me. Did they really have to sing every single line? I know that's how it was written, but once in a while a line would have been nice to see and hear. All of Russell Crowe's lines should have been spoken. Then, the worst most agonizing part of the movie was Fantine's death, why did it take her so long to die? that was torture I remember thinking "just die already, why isn't she dead?" it was like watching a tragedy from Shakespeare where the script says "he dies" and then a few lines later the character is still speaking. Except it was long and boring. This is where the camera angles made me fee sick, why did it have to be rough? I want to watch a movie, not board a ship. I understand that they were trying to portray the hard times, but I did not want to have a hard time watching the movie. Then, I was hoping that would be over, but I had forgotten about the second part of the movie where Cosette is all grown up and falling in love. It felt like it took centuries to get to the end of the movie. The only song I actually felt good about was the finale. Finally, something good is happening in the movie. All the depressing parts had to be dragged out and then when something positive happens in the movie it does not last very long? You put me through that long disastrous movie just to have a "meh" ending? I left the movie theater and I was glad that the only two people who agreed with me were my parents. I posted a fake positive review as my status because if i posted my true feelings about it I would be getting negative comments on what a terrible person I am for hating it. I still did get a little hate when I told my best friends about. I will never watch it again or put myself through that sort of torture.

movie
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.