Geeks logo

Lenka Sourková’s Fresh Start In Acting — Find Out How She Did it.

7 Art Distribution interviewed Lenka Sourková and asked her about her experience becoming an actor.

By 7 Art Distribution Published 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Lenka Sourková Courtesy IG: @skinnylenka

7A: Lenka, can you tell us about some of the challenges you faced when starting your English career?

Lenka: Well, speaking and communicating fluently in English was my biggest challenge. My English was very weak in the beginning.

Although my first role in English had no lines, consisting mainly of facial movements and expressions, I still needed to communicate with the crew and other actors. Body language alone was not enough (smiles).

Courtesy Lenka’s Instagram @kolibrici_pomahaji

Likewise, receiving directions without clearly knowing what they were about ended up in some silly moments.

But, I got very lucky when I was cast for my first role on an English set. This is because we were filming Hotel Limbo in Canada and the director, Tina Adams, spoke some Czech as well.

Hotel Limbo Available for Streaming on Amazon Prime and Rental on iTunes.

So we were able to clarify any misunderstanding in Czech quite easily. And that’s how I was able to make sure that I understood everything correctly.

Lenka Sourková (Left) Tina Adams (Right)

However, the barriers on a set are not just limited only to language barriers; there are very different rules within the film industry respective to each country. Add the difference in people’s personalities, and you can easily lose sight of the fine red line. So I had to be vigilant and observant. I learned as much as I could, almost like a sponge.

7A: How did it feel to be cast in an important role finally?

It was amazing. It felt like a dream come true. Finally, somebody believed in me, and it didn’t matter that I didn’t have the most famous name in show business.

Lenka Sourková as Police Officer in Hotel Limbo (Left) and Luc-Martial Dagenais (Right) as Hotel Porteur

On the contrary, thanks to Tina Adams and her film Hotel Limbo, I began to be discovered. Before, I played mostly in commercials, and I also worked in L.A. as a model. I was voted model of the year in “The Fashion Hero” T.V. series. I had started in the modeling business when I was only 20 years old.

Click Here to Stream

Click here to Rent / Buy

Tina Adams knew that I had played in video clips and shorts, so when she visited the Czech Republic, we had agreed to meet, and she asked to see my reels. Later, we met again in Canada, where we shot a pilot of a Canadian series. Then, one day, she told me she had a role for me on Hotel Limbo. I was ecstatic.

Lenka and Tina during their 2021 Photoshoot.

I would like to thank Tina for that, and I think doing so in this interview it’s one of the best places to do that. I believe that thanks to this collaboration, I will no longer be seen only as a pretty face but as a talented actor. I will finally break out of the box of modeling. I’m slowly transitioning from a model and makeup artist and becoming an actress and entrepreneur.

7A: You are very involved with charities; can you tell us something about your humanitarian foundation?

Lenka: I would like to thank you for asking this question. I have a new project in Czech Republic called: KOLIBŘÍCI POMAHAJI z.,ú.

Courtesy Instagram: @kolibrici_pomahaji

We create special headcovers and hats for people that suffer from Alopecia in show business and outside of show business. For a start, we are focusing our efforts mainly within the Czech Republic, where we have not been able to find any local help or support for people with Alopecia. However, since no one has addressed this issue yet, my non-for-profit is finally trying to change that.

As a part of our fundraising project, I did some modeling to create a collage we called: “Message.”

Every step we take to help those with Alopecia fills me with great internal satisfaction.

Here is our Instagram at KOLIBRICI_pomahaji and on Facebook at @kolibricipomahaji.

Courtesy Facebook: Kolibříci Pomáhají

Thank you in advance for any help or support, even if it’s just a like, a follow, or a share. We appreciate all forms of support and highly value your moral support. At the end of the day, awareness is the most important.

7A: What problems do you think women with alopecia hair loss face in the entertainment industry?

Lenka: I’m learning more and more about this disease. But, from what I have heard from people with Alopecia, it doesn’t matter if you’re in the film industry or not; the effects of this illness are devastating both in private and in public. Yes, we all live different lives, but we face similar problems. Whether those problems are psychological or something else, it comes down to the individual and the limitations they face within their lives.

7A: Do you, personally, have any troubles with hair loss?

Lenka Šourková — hair guru (Facebook)

Lenka: No, not at all. But during my early days in show business, one of my roles was in the makeup and hair department. So I am quite accustomed to being pretty close to working with hair and makeup.

7A: What hair care and beauty tips would you give actors going to an audition?

Lenka: It’s best to have your hair washed and trimmed. It doesn’t hurt to give it a fresh look. Keeping your hair looking natural and healthy is the best.

Lenka Šourková — hair guru Portfolio

So if you know what role you will be cast in, then you adapt your hairstyle to the role — makes sense?

7A: You were invited as a guest to the Oscars when you lived in L.A. What was it like to be a guest at the Oscars?

Lenka: I was lucky to be able to attend the extraordinary and surreal events at the Oscars. It was the experience of a lifetime. Suddenly, meeting people you watch on screen was surreal.

We want to expressly thank Lenka Šourková for taking the time to answer our questions.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

7 Art Distribution

Over 20 years, Seven Art Distribution has supported Independent Filmmakers by providing them a channel to bring their art to screens all around the World.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.