Geeks logo

'Lady Macbeth' Film

My late review.

By Danii BarraganPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
https://www.rogerebert.com/reviews/lady-macbeth-2017

Okay! My head hurts, and I can't even start on how LATE I am to the game. Besides all that it’s time to jump into... A MOVIE REVIEW!!

I know, I’m excited too!

ANYWAYS... one word: “LOVED” this film. Yes, my head hurts, but I love it! Okay, okay, let me explain.

This film broke so many barriers. Let’s start with the biggest one. There was NO ONE to fall in love with. This might seem like a not-so-big-deal situation, but honestly, it is. Anyone who studied film or story-writing to a degree would know just what I’m talking about. But, anyone who doesn’t, I’ll give you some quick insight. Most famously known films have a character for us to fall in love with. One that jumps into mind is Deadpool. Yes, Deadpool is seen as that not-so-good-guy superhero, but, SPOILER: he is a good guy. He was dealt a bad hand, and we emphasized with him.

But, not at all in Lady Macbeth! It’s almost as though I was really, REALLY wanting to find a reason to be on her side, a reason to cheer her on. Nothing! Right, when you thought the film might explain her backstory, and open up about her very odd and suspicious actions and choices... BAM! In your face, she just panned out mental. I mean really, I couldn’t believe it. My head was throbbing. Even when I searched for someone else, and tried to say, "Well, maybe it’s just her," I still couldn’t, and here is my list why.

[insert “head hurting” gif here]

Macbeth, she couldn’t make a choice. She acted like a spoiled teenager who had NO maternal instincts, even with the given fact that she is pregnant. She fell in love as though she lost her v-card. She killed for the ability to feel free, and felt no remorse. Which, side note here, that seems to be a very common teenage girl thing. Either you're too sweet, or broken. I went through the phase, but, as you can tell, gone. I don’t know; food for thought, I suppose.

Moving on: Macbeth was cold, but he felt; he was lost, but determined; and he was overall downright broken. It was clear he had some kind of mental breakdown, or some sort of mental depression. However, this is information we now understand today.

Once again, MOVING ON! The maid, Anna, although she acted with clear understanding, and with certain reasonable reaction, she stilled remained quiet. Granted, her situation was unsure, and, whether or not she should act to save her other headmaster: it’s a matter of knowing how to choose. That moment, the man spoke to our 2016 election. I mean, come on, when did we end up with a “pick your poison” situation! Really! Either choice, she still seemed to make Anna’s character not worth cheering for. Nothing was good, and both are bad.

Then, we have the father-in-law—I mean, classic tyrant—with his matching unnerving son to complete his family collection.

Let’s not move past Sebastian. Really. She fell for him when walking in on a group of men hanging Anne up like a pig! Can you scream visual SEXISM any louder? Then, she tells him to guess her weight, and he treats her like he did Anne.

[insert “WTF” gif here]

But no, the crazy b*@$h just had to fall in love with him. Oh, and her true love threatened to kill her if she ever doubts him. I mean come on, run now. Your options are death, or death.

Big spoiler alert coming, so be warned reading on. Lady Macbeth ended with her looking off, holding her stomach. What kind of irony is that? Honestly, that poor child. Its whole life, it will be surrounded by a crazy, heartless thing.

All in all, there better be a sequel from the child's point of view. I still need more to process this woman's physiological damage.

movie
Like

About the Creator

Danii Barragan

Hello, my name is Danii and I am a content creationist. I love creating photos, videos and writing about all things film or series related. Find my portfolio's to all my works though Instagram @daniiscreations. Thanks for reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.