Geeks logo

Kids Stuff

Suite Life of Zack and Cody

By Beck DaughertyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Kids Stuff
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

I didn't have much of a childhood growing up. I wanted to have fun and play video games. I wanted to go hang out with my friends on the weekends. I would have loved to join the basketball team, just to get away from my parents. Nothing happened. I didn't get that kind of childhood. I worked, and worked hard. All weekend, and every morning before the sun came up. No, I didn't grow up with TV even though I was born in the 90's. It wasn't much fun. The point is that because I didn't have a childhood, I have spent the last ten years being a kid. (A kid with a full time job that is.)

The first time I watched the show: Suite Life of Zack and Cody, I fell in love with it. It was funny, and helped me relax after a long day. I enjoyed watching the boys get into trouble, or having fun with their friends. I liked how the kids, though identical twins, had completely different personalities. One was smart, and a clean freak. The other was fun, and sloppy. Yet, together they were able to get each other out of trouble. Most of the story line is centered around the boys living in a hotel, where their mother works as a singer.

I often think of how cool it would have been to live in a hotel, or how neat it would have been if I had been able to have a life outside of school. When it's late and I am depressed, I watch the show. I can always count on it to make me smile or laugh. When I have had a hard day at work, I come home and put it on. It helps me forget about my day.

Most people think I am silly to watch a kids TV show, when I am a grown man. That's fine. They can think whatever they want about me. I haven't truly lived yet. Yes I am an adult, but inside there is a big kid waiting to do something wild and reckless. A teenager wanting to get out of the house and go on an adventure. A kid who dreams of being a superhero. A child, trapped in an adult body, wishing to be free.

Perhaps my favorite episode is when the boys go into the ghost room. They make a bet to see who runs out first, spending all night in the room. When they gather around a table, they pretend to summon a ghost lady, who had been killed by her cheating husband. In the end, it was all a rouse because Zack had been booby-trapping everyone in the hotel, and they were getting revenge. It was really cool.

So many people are in a rush to grow up. They want to be treated like adults. They want jobs, and cars. They want to do whatever they want to do. I laugh at those people. Life isn't like that. You don't get to do whatever you feel like. You don't get the car you want, or the job you want. Life isn't a piece of cake. It's a big lie. People judge you. Your boss is mean. You can't get the job you want because you have bills to pay. You can't sleep in, or take a night off. Drinking with your buddies is expensive.

What is the deal people? Take a break. Live a little, and laugh a lot. Don't be afraid to be a kid. I am, and I am okay with that. That's why my binge worthy TV show is the Suite Life of Zack and Cody. It reminds me to slow down and be a kid. Enjoy life. Kids shows are going to be the new cool.

entertainment
1

About the Creator

Beck Daugherty

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.