Geeks logo

Jujutsu Kaisen

Anime Review

By animetipzPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

I have heard and seen a lot about Jujutsu Kaisen since it came out in 2020. I tend to stay away from overly popular and hyped anime because I have found that my hopes get too high, and end up being disappointed.

Lately, I have been shocked by some good popular anime, like Spy x Family, My Hero Academia, and Demon Slayer, So I decided to give jujutsu kaisen a try.

Here is my honest review of jujutsu kaisen and I'd love to hear your thoughts in the comments below.

Storyline: Yuji Itadori, a kind-hearted teenager, joins his school's Occult Club for fun, but discovers that its members are actual sorcerers who can manipulate the energy between beings for their own use. He hears about a cursed talisman - the finger of Sukuna, a demon - and it's being targeted by other cursed beings. Yuji eats the finger to protect his friends and ends up becoming Sukuna's host. However, Yuji discovers that he has inherited magic and is able to control this power without interference from Sukuna. He joins the Tokyo Metropolitan Magic Technical College to consume all of Sukuna's fingers, which will enable a full exorcism to take place that will free him.

I enjoyed episode 1 a lot. We get a little character background on Itadori and then jump right into the storyline. I enjoy faster pace stories and jujutsu kaisen did not disappoint. Although it did get right into the storyline I felt the story was very basic. Wait, you're saying a guy who is eating fingers basic? Well, hear me out. I have noticed a typical story pattern that jujutsu kaisen also follows. The protagonist falls into extreme power and now is a hero of the people. Whether it's fighting demons, devils, or curses, the protagonist is almost instantly more powerful than the other characters who have been training their whole life. I am not a fan of the lack of originality.

I did enjoy the characters. They are all extremely unique which makes the interaction and banter very entertaining. A fan favorite is Gojo and I can see why. He is extremely goofy and lighthearted considering their line of work. His power is also unmatched which makes fight scenes with him epic.

My personal favorite character was Kento Nanami. He was beyond relatable and down to earth. He and Gojo really made the show for me.

They also made them unreasonably attractive. Which wasn't necessary to the story but much appreciated to watch.

Season 1 - 24 episodes

The first season did not live up to the hype. It was entertaining to watch, but I did not really connect with the story. The way they fight and use cursed energy was a little too complicated for me. I felt the show spent more time explaining what was happening than just following the story.

The animation was pretty average, although the fight scenes were very epic. The creativity of the curses was dark and creepy and I loved them. One of the biggest make-or-breaks for me is how creative the characters are written. Not only are each of these characters unique, but their interaction made the show in my opinion.

Jujutsu Kaisen 0: The Movie - 1hr 52m

After not really connecting with the show I wasn't sure if I wanted to watch the movie. But decided it was worth a watch to give it another chance. I was pleasantly surprised. We get more of a back story on one of the main characters Yuta Okkotsu. This movie has way more depth and emotion than the series. I enjoy characters who have to work hard for their skills and power, So it was refreshing to see Yuta young and untrained become the powerful jujutsu sorcerer we see in the show.

Along with Yuta Okkotsu, we see the other students of jujutsu high in their raw and untrained state. I thought this was a fantastic addition to the characters and got me to be invested in the show again.

Season 2 - Release date 2023

I am looking forward to seeing what they do with season 2. After watching the movie I feel the characters have a lot more depth, and I am hoping they add that depth to the story. In season 1 we see some powerful villains coming together and with the heroes more trained I know we see some more epic fight scenes.

I really have no idea what they will do in season 2 but I am not getting my hopes too high. Let's see what will happen.

RATINGS:

IMDB: 8.6/10

ANIMEPLANET: 4.5/5

My Review: This is a highly popular and highly rated anime, I just wasn't super impressed. Maybe it's because it was over-hyped I got my hopes up too high or maybe I just didn't follow along with the story. I wish they had spent less time explaining everything that was going on. I almost feel as if I need to rewatch it to understand all of the techniques and weapons. I guess that made the villains more unique, but I felt it was a bit overly confusing. I do feel as the story continues it will be more intriguing to me, so I will give season 2 a watch. If you enjoy adventure stories, with some extra thrill this is worth a watch. I definitely recommend watching the movie.

What was your thought on Jujutsu Kaisen?

Do you think it lives up to the hype?

Comment below

Follow AnimeTipz

conventionscosplayentertainmentmoviereviewtv
Like

About the Creator

animetipz

✨Anime Blogger✨

I watch too much anime and would love to turn it into a creative outlet!

Blogging about anime topics, giving honest reviews, and staying up to date with all things anime

https://linktr.ee/animetips

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.