Geeks logo

Jennifer Lawrence makes an impression

Her Five Most Iconic Roles

By Shanon NormanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

I had written in another article that Jennifer Lawrence did not win an Oscar, but came to discover that I was wrong. She did win an Oscar at the age of 22 for her role as Tiffany in Silver Linings Playbook. That is my favorite performance from her and I'm glad she won, but I did not know that until recently. I decided to write about Jennifer Lawrence, as a fan and admirer, and also to mention the five characters she has played in the films I have seen her in. These five roles are iconic in my opinion.

1. Tiffany in Silver Linings Playbook

Not only did she win an Oscar for this role, but this character is brought to life so well that she becomes unforgettable. She's not perfect, but she seems so real, so relatable, and so willing to share her "self" with others. Tiffany is humble even if she is "f'd up". She's a romantic, even if she's suffered tragedy. She's forgiving, even if she's been judged and burned. Lawrence earned her Oscar 100% for giving us Tiffany to love and remember.

2. Katniss in The Hunger Games

I actually read the books about six months before the movies came out. The books were better, naturally. I was surprised to see how the movie was cast. I really wasn't that familiar with Jennifer Lawrence when she landed this role. I do not think she was the best actress in the series. I think the acting in this movie was handled better by many of the others in the cast. Katniss is a memorable heroin, however Jennifer's portrayel of Katniss as whiny and overdramatic lessened the strength of Katniss as we read her from the book. Still, the trilogy was a success at the box office, and the series continues to have fans and status as iconic literature and film.

3. Mother in Mother!

Here is where Jennifer's whining and shocked face really work. While I didn't like seeing tears on the face of Katniss, in Mother! the tears and the screams and the panic all work perfectly. This movie is intense and the ensemble of talent in this underated movie is simply amazing. They all worked great together and bring the story to the viewers in a poetic and dramatic way that is not over the top, but shockingly real and disturbing. Well done.

4. Mystique in X-Men (series)

Lawrence played Mystique in several of the films in the X-men series and she nailed the role. She did for Mystique what Pfieffer did for Catwoman. After seeing that Mystique, there is no other Mystique I will accept. Mystique belongs to Jennifer Lawrence. That's my opinion and it will not change.

5. Kate in Don't Look Up

This movie is hilarious. Jennifer isn't the one making you laugh, but her timing and facial expressions as Kate are on point and help us get to the ones who make us laugh. This is ensemble work done very well and the contrast of emotions from fear to laughter are delivered by the fine performances of all involved. Thank you for doing this work.

Jennifer Lawrence has walked the red carpet with confidence. She may be considered young, but she has shown that she has the talent to work with elders and in a variety if story settings as different types of characters. There are many movies listed on her filmography that I have not seen yet. As a fan, I hope I have the opportunity to see her other works.

I hope that she continues to entertain us with such impressive acting and interesting film choices.

reviewmovieentertainmentcelebrities
1

About the Creator

Shanon Norman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.