Geeks logo

Jane Levy... Underrated Gorgeousness

What a phoenix

By Don Anderson IIPublished 4 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

Alright so a while ago, I started watching NBC's "Zoey's Extraordinary Playlist" and it's a phenomenal show. That's saying something since I don't like musicals, it takes the musical genre and it does what I've been wondering about it for years. What if a character can see the musical numbers but no one else can? I love it!

Okay, back to what I was going to say, I was already going to watch the show because I'm into the idea of it but the hook for me was the redheaded gorgeousness that is Jane Levy.

If you don't recognize Jane Levy, she was in the reimagining of the 1981 classic, "Evil Dead" and she was also on the show from ABC, "Suburgatory" that lasted for 3 seasons. She's also starred in the movie, "Don't Breathe" and "Fun Size" with Victoria Justice.

I always like seeing her because other than how breathtakingly beautiful she is, she's a really good actress. If she's in something and I'm interested in it, I'm going to see it.

So why do I consider her to be "underrated gorgeousness"? Trust me, I've been trying to come up with an answer to that question myself for at least 6 or 7 years so whoever is reading this, I might have an answer for you so bear with me here.

Back in 2012 or sometime in 2013, I already graduated high school at this point. Whenever I wasn't applying for jobs or being made fun of for not having a job, I was always checking out movie news or watching trailers to stuff that I was already going to see or something that seemed interesting to me and I came across the remake of "Evil Dead". I watched the trailer and it freaked me out especially, you guessed it, Jane Levy, as the one who was possessed.

Then about two or three months later, I saw the movie and I couldn't sleep for a while but I was impressed with how committed she was for the movie so I watched a lot of interviews with her, that's when I fell in love with her, or at least the idea of me possibly being with her because she seems to be as sweet as a peach. Every day, I'd text my brother (he's not my brother, we've been really good friends for so long that we see each other as brothers) about her and it seemed like she was all I talked about most of the time so he told me to check out her show on ABC at the time, "Suburgatory".

I didn't know what the show was about or if I was interested in the show, I just knew I wanted to watch the show because she was in it. Now if you don't remember what "Suburgatory" was about, to be honest, I don't either, it was a comedy about a single father and his daughter where they move from New York to the suburbs in a town called Chatswin. It brings the duo closer but there are also other characters that they meet and the daughter (Levy) experiences a culture shock while she's there because the other kids her age drink a lot of coffee and the moms care about their hair and makeup a lot.

I believe the show made me chuckle a few times but I always watched it to see Jane because I liked how normal and realistic she looked, granted, that was her character but still, she was a lovely sight to see every morning since I used to DVR the show. The show got canceled after three seasons in 2014 and I wondered what I was going to do to see her but I got busy with school and work when I finally got a job.

In 2016, the movie, "Don't Breathe" came out and I already don't like horror so I wasn't ready to go through what I did when I saw "Evil Dead" but it was the summer and I had more time on my hands than I thought so I had the movie spoiled for me constantly and it didn't sound as bad as I thought at first so I didn't see the movie until about a year and a half later, it was even better than I thought.

She was phenomenal in the movie as someone who was doing the wrong things for the right reasons and I was legit scared for her along with her friend but at the same time, I was also freaked out by the blind man and I understood why he was doing what he was doing except for the holding a woman hostage for 9 months while they make a baby for him so he can deal with his daughter's death. Anyways, the movie was really good and I was only freaked out when the game of cat and mouse happened in the blind man's house so they can get the money. Of course, I thought she was still beautiful.

Fast forward to today, I don't remember seeing her in anything for a while after seeing her in "Don't Breathe" but at the beginning of 2020, I saw that she's in this show called "Zoey's Extraordinary Playlist" and she plays a computer programmer who can hear people's most inner thoughts through songs. Now, I don't like musicals and I don't care how it's performed, a musical is a musical to me regardless but seeing this show and seeing how she's the only one who can see how people are thinking, that's a show I can't pass up. Every episode I see, I always make a noise or ask the question, "Why is she so beautiful?!" because I've never noticed how red her hair is or how beautiful her eyes are.

Anyways, the show is really good because not only is it funny but it has some pretty heavy stuff that goes on like there's one episode that focuses on one character who's gay and they're more comfortable dressing as a woman but they have to dress like a man when they got to the church, there's another episode where she talks to a guy who deals with the loss of his dad and he's depressed by it so from there, they connect and she develops feelings for him but he's engaged to another woman, and just recently there was an episode that was a two-parter where she sees the guy she likes and he starts to develop some feelings for her by singing "Should I Stay or Should I Go?" but the engagement party was the next day. A lot goes down in this show and there are some good covers of amazing songs.

What more can I say about Jane Levy? Besides the fact that she's beautiful and an amazing actress. I honestly don't know because I'd feel like I'd be beating a dead horse if I keep going so I'll just end it with this, I thought I wouldn't see her again after "Suburgatory" and "Don't Breathe" but she came back on fire like the phoenix she is. I can't wait to see her in the sequel to "Don't Breathe" and hopefully another season of "Zoey's Extraordinary Playlist".

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Don Anderson II

Movies, memoirs, music lover, graduate of community college, and university

Quiet writer but I'm sure my stories from years ago are still of interest

Tips are welcomed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.