Geeks logo

Introduction: From the Maze

The Beauty & The Builder (Gally ~ 'Maze Runner' Fanfiction)

By Emelia RosebudPublished 6 years ago 12 min read
Like

Suffocation.

Upon waking up in a stream of utter darkness and rattling, clanking sounds that’s all I could feel. It sounded like an elevator, or a loud screech, then I hear nothing and then I feel the floor below me lifting up. The darkness becomes wary, enough to the point that I can kind of get a better grasp of what is around me, every 5 seconds I can see a sudden white light shining in and a small buzzing noise as we pass by it.

I don’t know where I am but waking up I just keep feeling like there are arms or something around my neck, choking me tightly and I’m just continuously coughing and struggling to regain any breathe. What’s going on?!

It’s the sound of sliding as I’m able to finally lift myself off of the cold, metal floor of my contraption, I hit my head against the roof of this cage? Cage seems to be a good word for whatever box this is, I fall back down to the metal, is it fencing? And looking down from where I was coughing I see blood spurting out from my lips. I try to back myself up only to find there isn’t really any room for me to go, to really move, all around me seem to be some sort of supplies, bags, barrels. Stretching out my legs for even a second I feel them hit the opposing wall and it suddenly feels as if the walls are closing in on me.

The more shaking I feel going on things are beginning to rumble and fall over, a barrel coming at me and I have to roll over my side and onto my back to be able to avoid it and I’m just constantly out of breath.

The worst part being that I can’t remember anything before so I don’t know how long I’d been here, the only piece of remembrance of myself is my name. So I hold that close to me because at least that’s something.

That’s all there is of me now.

I hear roaring from the other side of the cage, crawling over to scope it out something pops it’s head up at me and it definitely isn’t human or anything I could imagine a regular animal looking anything like, it screams, scaring me causes me to fall back against the barrels, my body just falling to the floor and my head just landing into my knees.

It oddly feeling way to natural to me and I notice that I must’ve been crying this entire time as my face feels completely wet and teardrops fall onto my clothes.

Am I having a nightmare?

I slap myself across the face a couple times, attempting, hoping that I’ll just wake up and be in a bedroom or hospital bed or something, something humane.

But when I open my eyes I’m still here.

“WAKE UP!” I try to scream.

I try to scream it to myself at the top of my lungs and this being the first time that I’ve even attempted to talk I suddenly wish that I hadn’t, as I’m guessing all the throwing up caused it, but I just croak out my words and It sounds like I’ve choked on something, but what all there is, is air.

Flashes of pain just rush through my body causing me to want to scream even more but with even the littlest of yelps that I can manage it just causes another rush to fill through me causing me to fall over again and holding my throat just wishing that it could all be over.

“Help me…” I just whisper.

How long have I been here?

With everything going on since I’ve been awake it feels like I could only have been up for seconds the way that everything is just pouring down on me all at once, but then it feels like it could also have been hours just how much the struggle feels.

Just punching the wall and the ceiling and trying to signal for help, as if anyone could even hear me, I just give in and start to close my eyes, it feeling as if something like death is about to come over me and my body would just go and wallow away. I mean it’s not like I have anything to really live for.

Would I ever get out?

And if I did would I just end up somewhere even worse?

Good thing I couldn’t remember anything before this because I’m sure if I had this would be a lot harder.

But then we keep getting faster and faster and looking above me I just see something, some kind of a roof? And then I fall, and then it stops, everything stops and you just feel a clank before a buzzing and everything is now red, the lights have changed from white and blinding and red like a warning. And then all of the buzzing and roaring dies down, the lights turn green and then all you could hear for various seconds is the sounds of my own breathing.

And then the roof moves, each side retracting inwards.

It’s a door, and then there’s more blinding white light rushing into me and I have to squint my eyes just to be able to make out a single thing and my hand held over my eyes, used as shading isn’t really working much for me.

***

And then I feel my eyes shooting open.

Instantly I groan as the first thing that hits me is an intense wave of shooting pain starting with a pulsing feeling in my brain, I bring a hand up to my forehead hoping to somehow settle the pounding but when it doesn’t seem to be making any difference I move it down to holding my throat.

I take it slowly as I try to sit up for the first time, meeting with a fit of winces, and I notice just how dry my throat really is. The feeling of pounding has now started to travel throughout the rest of my body until I feel a constant, deafening ringing in my ears. At this point, all I want is to calm down and to make an attempt at steadying my breathing I hold my stomach as I for the first time start to take notice of my surroundings.

There’s a huge wall to my left and so I reach behind me and backing up, I spin myself over to where I’m now leaning against it and resting my head to the side, I want to close my eyes before I collapse from nausea.

But I can’t let myself do that because I don’t know where I am….where am I?

Looking down I take in the appearance of my body, my skinny pale arms from what I can tell are covered in bruises and dirt. And from the pain I feel in my legs I guess that they match.

It feels like I’d been running for hours….but what would I be running from? Where would I be heading?

My lungs felt like fire and then I feel myself starting to freak out because I’m asking myself all these questions but I can’t think of an answer to a single one of them. And then I start to ask myself just simple things, stuff about myself;

What’s your favorite color?

Nothing.

What’s your favorite food?

I don’t know.

Do you have any friends?

Nothing comes to me for any of them. Except for when I just sit alone for a while….one word pops into my head and I hold onto it with dear life before I could possibly lose it again.

Looking across from me all I can see is a wall but this wall can’t possibly be normal; causing me to gasp.

It has to be 100 feet tall at the minimum.

Seeing into the bright blue sky, the blazing sun, and hearing the chirping of birds makes me think that it has to be morning. And looking to my sides all there was to see was more wall, in one leading to a different path in a different direction.

As badly as it had hurt too I needed to find a way out, home, to at least some kind of freedom wherever it may be, somewhere where I’m not completely alone.

Though being that I don’t exactly know what’s out there, being alone might not be the worst of ideas but still I struggle to bring myself to attempt at standing.

Immediately I felt my eyes crying in agony as they’d just wanted to fall back over and beg me to rest but being absolutely terrified of what could come for me if I stayed any longer I forced my feet to move. Leaning very clumsily on the wall for support.

I could already feel the beads of sweat dripping from my face.

I finally reached the first turn after what had to have been hours, just to see more of the same thing I’d just saw; a long hallway leading into more separate hallways.

It with everyone that I’d went down, each way that I could turn I’d just be met with the same fate.

Oh God….It’s like a maze...I'M IN A GIGANTIC MAZE!

But as quickly as I started to think that I felt that I had to immediately push that thought right out of my head, it just made more and more fear start to rise up from the back of my mind. And I had to keep going.

There would be no point in waiting for somebody who wasn’t coming and I had to get out of here and so I just kept pushing forward on my blind walk through this maze.

I just walked on shaky legs with no-end for hours ahead of me, it just got to the point where I’d started taking multiple truly random paths in an attempt to make an escape. As the day crept on my fear just got higher and higher and I just wanted to let go of the wall and fall over out of exhaustion.

Every path just started to blur together, they all looked the exact same but not at all familiar all at the same time. I thought to retrace my steps but I couldn’t bring myself to do it anymore, I couldn’t move another step and eventually, I let go of the wall.

My constant movement has caused me to be constantly sweating and getting closer and closer to hydration by the time the sun was finally beginning to come down.

This would be where I am going to die.

I could just feel that I did not want to be here at night and it caused me to become incredibly paranoid as it got darker.

I was finally about to just give in and accept that my life was now ending when I heard something.

The faintest sound of a voice, very very far away from me.

The tiniest shred of hope gave my body it’s second wind.

I picked myself back up and holding onto my chest as I forced myself to run the fastest I’d thought that I’d ever run before, I followed the direction of the voice.

The next time I’d heard it, it had been much clearer and I couldn’t keep myself up anymore as my body just, as if by instinct, just collapsed under itself again.

“Come on Ben! There’s only an hour left ‘til the doors close, and I don’t want another close call!”

I could now hear the voice but I had no idea just how far away it was, how long it would take them to get to me if they were even headed in my direction.

“HELLO?!” I desperately screamed for my life….No Response.

“HELLO????!” I tried a little bit louder but could still just feel the scratchiness of my voice, I was still met with no answer.

“PLEASE?! CAN ANYBODY HEAR ME? I’M LOST! I NEED HELP!” I felt as if my body was just going to give out and with my last bit of strength and my voice at its strongest so far…

“PLEASE! I’m scared…” And I could just feel the tears starting to come.

Wheezing my body had all out collapsed to the maze floor. My eyelids had just felt incredibly heavy and getting heavier as I’d wanted so much to give in to my drowsiness. I’m an absolute mess….

“Minho! Over here!”

The sounds of footsteps just kept gradually louder.

Lifting my head I could see a tall, pale, muscular, blond guy running in my direction; followed by another even taller and muscular, Asian looking guy hot on his trail.

“It’s a girl…” The first guy just barely muttered above a whisper.

“What’s she doing in the maze?” The second questioned him.

And then they’d finally reached my almost lifeless body, the Asian boy leaning down beside me.

“Are you okay?” Trying to answer my words had just turned into a massive fit of coughs.

“Woah, woah, woah, Hey! Take it easy! It’s okay.” He turned to his friend.

“Ben! Go tell Alby about this, And make sure he keeps the other Gladers away from her, I’m pretty sure that’s the last thing she needs right now.”

“Wait? We’re seriously just going to bring her into the Glade?!”

“Well, I’m sure as hell not about to just leave her to the Grievers,”

“But-”

“Ben! We seriously don’t have time for this!” He snapped.

And with that his friend started taking off, sprinting down the hall and then out of sight. The other boy turned his attention back on me.

“The Glade’s only about a mile from here. That’s where I’m taking you, Don’t worry, it’s safe there. Well, at least Safer than here.” He had corrected himself.

“Is that okay?” I nodded in response in fear of the croaking feeling in my throat meant I was losing my voice.

“Alright.” He smiled an open smile at me, I almost felt like it could be genuine.

“Do you think you can walk?”

In him asking I used one of my hands trying to push myself up from the ground, he bent down, letting me use his shoulder under my other hand as leverage but It had just been terribly painful to even try that much and as soon as I’d gotten myself the least bit up my body had just fallen over itself again. It was getting really hard to even stay awake.

“Woah there.” He rested his hand at my back as I stumbled.

“It’s okay. I didn’t think so, Don’t worry, I gotcha.”

And with that, he lifted me up from my back and my legs almost as if I’d been nothing at all. I could tell that he was trying to be as gentle as possible not to cause me any more pain, I just wrapped my arms around his neck and focused to just steady myself.

And he started jogging through the maze.

My eyes really started to flutter shut a few times and I had to keep shaking my head to keep myself awake, he must’ve felt my weight rustling in his arms because he said…

“Don’t fight it. Fall asleep if you have to, you look exhausted.”

And with that, my head just fell to his shoulder and within only a few moments later my eyes had shut and I’d drifted off.

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.