Geeks logo

Introducing Black Sands Entertainment

no.1 Black Owned Indie Publisher in the Nation

By Evan JacksonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Black Sands the Anime Official Trailer

Lately I’ve been seeing Black Sands Entertainment appear in my IG feed. I was first introduced to them about a year ago via a YouTube suggestion. My first impression was-'dope!' I was so excited to see Black stories being told from this perspective. It was something I would have watched religiously as a kid. It’s influence on my childhood would’ve made a huge impact on my development. Even now as an adult its impact is monumental. Seeing this kind of representation in business, media, art, anime, comic books, and apps, is groundbreaking on so many levels. It’s truly inspiring to see a dream come together. Watching people create communities around their niche and garner support in a major way gives me hope.

For those of you who watch Shark Tank or follow Black Sands Entertainment on IG, you may have seen that; The trio recently locked down an impressive $500k deal with actor and comedian Kevin Hart and longtime Shark Tank investor Mark Cuban on the January 7th episode of SharkTank. Black Sands Entertainment is composed of Manuel Godoy- President-Author, Geiszel Godoy - Publisher-Author, and Tenuis De Raat - Partner-Head of Studio. As the no.1 indie Black owned publisher in the nation; The Black Sands Entertainment team came out with fire and enthusiasm. They were ready for all of the questions volleyed at them by the Sharks; with some very impressive numbers of hard copy books and comic books sold within their self made brand. While introducing themselves Gieszel Godoy stated:

“But there is still a struggle to find content and characters that represent the Black Communities Historical Achievements before slavery.”

- Which is why I’m so excited to see the progression of this project. I was introduced to the Black owned entertainment companies flagship title Black Sands the Seven Kingdoms via YouTube.

The series features incredible artwork in a stop animation style. The company was on SharkTank to secure the funding necessary to turn their creation into an animated series.They have 12 titles in their comic book series and their hardcover books retail for $20.

“Black Sands you can read it and watch it” - Manuel Godoy

The initial ask was made by the frontman of the group Manuel Godoy. Manuel's offer: $500k with 5% got an immediate response of chuckles and wide grins from all the sharks. When Kevin Hart spoke, his enthusiasm was a clear sign of his wanting to invest. He countered with $500k and 30% Manuel countered with 10% and .25 royalty on books, perpetuity. Kevin’s reasoning for the 30% is that they would be accessing his real resources of artists and a creative team that they wouldn’t have to spend money on. In the end they went with the deal offered by Kevin Hart. Miguel stated:

“ The fans want this done, so we’re taking the deal.”

Recently I’ve enjoyed watching Miguel’s enthusiasm via instagram reels and exploring the Black Sands Publishing app BSP. I look forward to watching the development of their animated series. Thank you Black Sands Entertainment for not giving up on your vision and allowing yourselves to be a representation and inspiration for other Black and Brown creators!

“ Where I come from, little kid’s like me, we’re not expected to make it. We’re not expected to see the higher levels of life. It’s a fact. My story does a lot more for those kids than people may think. To show that the dream is real. To say hey, I came from the same place. I put my head down, worked. I got opportunities. I made the best out of them. But it’s possible for us all. If we truly believe.” - Kevin Hart

entertainment

About the Creator

Evan Jackson

Neurodivergent creative who's recently come out from under his rock. I'm growing back the confidence of my youth through sharing my creative works. <3

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Evan JacksonWritten by Evan Jackson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.