Geeks logo

Interview: Actor Gilles Marini on exploring nature and his love of animals

Gilles discusses how exploring the wild on location last year transformed his life.

By Lori MeltonPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 10 min read
2
Photo Courtesy of Gilles Marini

Actor Gilles Marini celebrated his 47th birthday on Jan. 26. For him, age is simply a number - and each day is something to be thankful for.

As always, his wife, Carole, their kids, Georges and Juliana, and a host of furry and feathered pets are his whole heart- including Benny Ben, a doting squirrel they rescued at birth.

After garnering critical acclaim in a guest spot opposite Neil Patrick Harris on Darren Star's Netflix original series "Uncoupled," last year, a whirlwind of film projects sent Gilles traveling around the world.

Connecting with nature along the way transformed him.

An exciting highlight was his first-ever whale-watching excursion in Gloucester, Massachusetts.

Seeing the majestic creatures jump straight out of the Atlantic Ocean – on a 115-ft. double-decker ship was incredible.

This was one of many unforgettable adventures for Gilles in 2022 and the first one I asked him about in our recent phone interview.

The charismatic actor and avid animal lover was thrilled with the trip and his first live whale sightings.

“There were an insane amount of whales. It was a very spiritual moment when the most incredible ocean mammals were saying hi to me. There are no words for it," he said.

"It was amazing," he added, "I really loved it, the people, the moment. I lost a friend, Kevin, last year. He grew up in Maine. He always said, ‘I’m going to take you to Maine. We’re gonna see the whales, go deep sea fishing.’

"We always talked about it and never did it. He passed away, and then I went. I promise you in my soul, he was there with me. That was probably why the trip was a little more magical than usual.”

Gilles was in the area filming an indie movie called "Blunt," alongside castmates Amy Smart, Billy Zane, and R & B singer Neo.

The French-native actor has had a lifelong love for nature and all kinds of animals. Many who know him can argue he's like a real-life Doctor Doolittle.

For his next film project, he traveled to North Bay, Ontario, Canada. He was bowled over by Canadian kindness. On his days off set, he couldn't wait to trek deep into the vast forest near his hotel.

On foot, he hiked 11 or 12 miles at a time. Adding a bike, he went 20 or 25 total miles.

Locals warned him that the territory was teeming with dangerous animals, including wild moose, that can attack an unsuspecting person in seconds.

Undeterred, Gilles forged ahead, confronting the fear of the unknown while feeding his fascination with surviving on his own in the wild.

"I was exploring where people don’t want to go and don’t venture too deep because you have a chance of injuring yourself and not living through it. When you get deep in the forest like that, it can happen," he said.

Gilles was alone with his phone and a battery pack charger. When he had a signal, he called Carole at home in California, to establish his whereabouts.

He shared some of his breathtaking sights in stunning Instagram reels.

Thankfully, Gilles didn't cross paths with a moose while he explored the surroundings. He said he felt "spiritually protected" and vulnerable at the same time.

He stressed that as a dad, he strives to be an example, stay calm, and show no fear. In the remote wilderness, he was a human moving among creatures in their natural habitat.

He wondered if they would accept him, totally out of his element.

"I promise you, I only felt love. I felt like I was not disturbing the beauty of nature by letting myself be nature," he said. "I wasn’t going there to conquer anything. I was there to be part of nature. I think because of that feeling, nothing happened to me, and I learned a lot about everything."

He happily shared a sandwich with a chipmunk, which he captured in the reel below.

"How formidable to hike until you don’t know where you’re at," he said. "Sitting by a stream where you don’t see a trace of other humans but more animal markings and then being there and being loved.

"A tiny little chipmunk came near me and decided to share a meal. He didn't see me as a human as much as I think, another animal. It was very special for me. It was humbling for sure, but at the same time, a learning curve."

He noted it was the first time he ever really put his guard down deep in a natural environment.

"Even when I was with my daughter, hiking by our cabin that's off the grid in California, I had things to defend myself with," Gilles said.

"Flash forward 0ver a year later, and I went to the deep forest of Canada. Things were getting cold, and animals were gathering their food for the last minute, where it can be dangerous," he explained. "I believed my body and spirit were in the right place. Nothing happened because I was believing I was in a good place, and that energy you exude far in the middle of nowhere is very important."

The experience gave him a deeper understanding of how humans fit into a vast ecosystem filled with scores of different creatures. Every one of them - including people - has a purpose.

It also heightened his awareness that we need to do better to protect and preserve the planet.

Gilles learned more about the human connection to nature when he met a Transpo member for the TV show, Mike, and his wife, Lee.

They invited him to a Nipissing Nation smudge ceremony for "purifying and cleansing the soul of negative thoughts."

The process transformed him. He now carries a deep respect for the compassion for animals, Mother Earth, and nature that flows through the members of the Nipissing Nation community.

Mike also gave Gilles a fishing pole and encouraged him to use it. An eagle flew directly over Gilles after the ceremony, and he was stunned.

He came away with a desire to be more connected to nature and less concerned about accumulating "things" in life.

"I don't want things. My happiness is not in things anymore," he said, "The more things I take from my life, the more clearly I see."

After celebrating Carole's birthday on a cruise in Mexico, Gilles resumed filming in North Bay and flew to Belgium to wrap the show.

Fate took a surreal turn on his first day there when he "bumped into" a Facebook friend and fan at a carnival.

"I met this guy 12 or 13 years ago on the internet named Michael. He told me he worked at a fair and made the attractions go," Gilles said, "He's always funny online, but I never met him.

"I promise you, this is what happened," he explained. "I landed in Belgium on the first night, and it was raining. I walked around and saw this man at the Ferris wheel, and I knew it was him. Out of 8 billion people, I saw his face over there.

"I walked over, and it was like everyone froze around us. I walked in front of him, and he didn’t react. And I said, 'I flew from L.A. to say hello. How’s it going?' He lost it. Then I said, 'I’m kidding. I’m filming a show here.'

"How amazing, for us both! For him, because I know he likes my work. But for me too. Someone that has been following you. Someone that has been sending you kind messages for so many years. Then you know him from pictures and his name, and boom. You recognize him across the world. That changes people’s lives – to know that others care."

He met lots of friendly people in Belgium and was struck by their kindness. He also fell in love with the architecture and shot scenes at a castle that was built in 1666.

"The people at the castle (for the cousin of the King) told me I could go anywhere I wanted. So, I saw a lot of secret rooms with a lot of stories behind them. They also had incredible horses."

Gilles' wanderlust didn't fade in Belgium. He seized every opportunity to explore the scenery firsthand during breaks.

"I put my boots on and entered the forest around the castle. I saw boars, deer, and foxes," he said, "I saw so many animals in three hours I came back with proof that they were there. Right by us, hiding in sight. People were shocked. And I’m like, it’s right there."

When filming wrapped, he shot another project in San Francisco, before a much-needed break with his family - including his brood of animals.

The Marini "zoo" currently includes their African Grey parrot, Anya, cat Penelope, and 2022 addition "Benny Ben" the squirrel.

Gilles and his family immediately jumped into action to save Ben when their friend Karen called and told him a baby squirrel had fallen out of a tree and his mother wasn't coming to help him.

"When I had Karen on the phone, I knew it was my calling. Not only mine – but my family’s calling," said Gilles. "We’ve got to be able to do something with a being that was going to die. We’ve got to save his life.

"But it’s not just about us saving anybody’s life. It’s about all of us learning something new together. And we’re doing it every second."

The whole family nurtured Ben and documented his progress on social media.

They fed him with a dropper in his earliest days and captured his first tooth on film.

He grew so fast - and loves his Marini family.

"Ben is an incredible addition to our life," Gilles said warmly. "He’s kind of a cute squirrel. He’s like a human. He loves to play around. He has a girlfriend. He goes around in the trees. The yard is a park full of squirrels.

"He needs to learn life, like how we have to learn. We have to teach him how to forage. How to be a squirrel. So, we have to play with him like he’s a squirrel. He’s taught us a lot more than we’ve taught him."

He added, "And now Benny Ben is like a mascot. Everybody adores him. If we’re in the house and say, 'Where’s Benny Ben?' he runs down the tree and comes to you.”

They don't put Ben on a leash or in a cage - or any of their animals. Gilles is happy they saved Ben's life and are helping him thrive in nature.

"We have a full-on 100% wild squirrel being rehabilitated, and it’s a really difficult thing to do. He can completely survive on his own. Yet, he’s got a different brain than other squirrels. He comes back to us.

"I watch Carole at the house. She goes outside and says, 'Benny Ben!' and it’s hilarious, our bird, Anya, is a parrot, and can make the exact voice of Carole, calling him. But he's a slow-motion squirrel. He jumps on Carole, and she says, 'Mom’s here,' and gives him kisses."

I asked Gilles if he would ever consider making a reality show about his love for animals. I could hear his enthusiasm spilling out of the phone.

"I should because I wanna discover the most intricate relationships and different animals that people are taking under their wings," he replied.

He made it clear he was not talking about another dangerous encounter between a person and an animal series. Instead, he would love to explore unique relationships between the species.

"The relationship between wild animals and humans intrigues me. I don't think we've touched the surface of what animals and humans can do together."

Ben is a prime example. Ultimately, raising Ben has been a joy for Gilles. He's touched by those who follow their adventures and post hearts and kind comments on Instagram.

"Life is about love. It’s about living a good example and not forcing anything on anyone to make them understand that the world is one," he said.

"Being able to care for a tiny wild animal is changing humans in my house. Ben the squirrel is changing the way we are and the people that come over, and beyond. They’re starting to see the wild differently, and this is the goal for everything. That’s the lesson."

interview
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Debra Myottabout a year ago

    Great article! I really felt I got to know him better through your writing. Keep up the great work!

  • Great interview and loved the vieos as well, and great to have you back

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.