Geeks logo

Infant Naturale

The Art of An Australian Postmodern Surrealist

By Patrick Hromas ArtistPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
PAHMCN 31. The plane of innocence 1996, Watercolour, gouache on paper 38 x 27.5 cm $40*

Whilst chatting to a fellow volunteer at Braemar Gallery in Springwood NSW, (a small village of about five thousand people in the Blue Mountains, Australia) today, I showed him this, a small watercolour I pained during my last year of university. Twenty-six years ago, I was studying at the Australian National University in sleepy Canberra, and I was obsessed with horses, or Horses as I insisted to write about the quadrupeds in those pre-Corona Virus and even pre-Olympic days.

You see non-mimetic imagery was the rage in that era. So was Star Trek! I wanted to transpose my brief dailiences (a fresh love affair, you might say) with watercolour as a media with the ‘serious’ discipline of oil painting. Of course I went through an earlier preoccupation with the arabesque curves of drapery and flesh that only Henri Matisse could encircle with a few deft brushstrokes, jaunting across the voluptuous haunch of a black haired niece woman with a cerulean blue-tipped brush, or slicing through the southern French landscape on his little Chevalier, like a seamstress’ long scissors through claret-red wall drapery? I was also a student of the obligatory studies of the many treatisie on anatomy, nature and painting. Volumes of forms, organs, inventions, observations. I even smirked at my knowledgeable mind, happy in the fact that I secretly knew that the Great Master had slept with his favourite pupil, Salaí. Well who could blame him, he was young, had muscular legs, a halo of blonde fuzzy hair that even Brett Whitley in his 20’s would be envious of, surely Da Vinci couldn’t be blamed for one or two blemishes upon a hermit’s life as crisp a clear as the pale latte coloured parchment that he circumscribed the world of the Renaissance?

I am remiss, because, it was from these elating beginnings I drew my inspiration for this little watercolour, combining an x-ray of a benevolent god-like hoof, like the sun pulsing through a blood red sky. Across which is the appropriation of an anatomical study by George Stubbs (da Vinci’s studies of ‘Horses’ being of not quite a high enough standard for my graphic investigators’ eye!). This equine toe meets the cold regard, the iron clad exterior of a Borg, an evil tincture of man and evil machinery, almost a fallen angel from space. In this I dreamt I drew from my recent reading of Milton’s “Paradise Lost”, and contemporary cinema. The first a spiritual aspect of Nature seen through the lens of Marie Curie, the second: the archetypal enemy of brave Captain Picard, a cool vermilion rage kept in stasis by the epitome of a scavenged object hoarder, a cyborg in a cobalt blue airless world concerned with only his self preservation. A furtive dark blue contemporary anatomy schematic diagram of a ‘Horse’ figure, repeat with humerus...links the two fields. For the artist as a young man is short, but in this interplay, he takes delight!

I think this is the perfect way to start a discourse on my art...

art
Like

About the Creator

Patrick Hromas Artist

Born in Sydney in 1973. Graduated CSA, ANU, in 1996, student exchange with ENSBA for 5 months in 1995/6. 7 solo & 48 group shows. Member: BMCAN, my painting: “Macquarie Road (etc.)” shown at ‘Infinities of Blue’, Parliament House of NSW.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.