Geeks logo

If You Were Obsessed With The Bratz Franchise Growing Up; You’re a Baddie, Period.

The girls with a passion for fashion.

By Mi WorldPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
2

First off, let me start by saying that I played with many other dolls while growing up that weren’t Bratz; for example, I played with Barbie dolls, Liv Dolls, Moxie dolls, Polly Pocket dolls, and even MyScene dolls. However, I would like to shine some light on the Bratz because they have paved the way for many girls who were my age, and they have shaped me into who I am today.

Carter Bryant and Isaac Larian created Bratz fashion dolls, and they were manufactured by MGA Entertainment, which is the same company that sold Moxie Dolls. Supposedly, Carter Bryant’s inspiration for the famous almond-shaped eye dolls came from a Steve Madden advertisement. Bryant was engrossed in the illustration of the ad. Another assumption is that Bryant was driving by a rural Missouri high school, and he was heavily impacted by the students’ urban outfits and edgy style. But who’s to know what really was Bryant’s inspiration for Bratz.

In 2001, the original four dolls made their debut and were introduced to the world as Yasmin, who was named after Larian’s daughter, Jasmine, but Jasmine states that she has no recollection of her father doing that. Following Yasmin was Chloe, Jade, and Sasha.

Each doll was from different ethnicities: Yasmin was Latinx, Chloe was Caucasian, Sasha was African-American, and Jade was Asian. It’s safe to say that the one thing that Bratz was not lacking was diversity, especially since the appearance of the dolls are similar to the community of Latinx and African-Americans. From the pouty lips to the big heads and fierce apparel. What the Bratz wore and what they looked like were based on people of color, which is apparent to me and others.

Although, the Bratz dolls were expanding their franchise with things like Bratz Babyz, Bratz Kidz, a web series, music soundtracks from their animated films, a musical movie that brought the characters to life. Nevertheless, they faced many difficulties due to their rebellious, provocative image, which “encourages” little girls to visualize themselves as sexualized objects, and I disagree, but that’s a conversation for another article.

Right now, my only intention is filling your brilliant brains with how my experience with Bratz has molded me into the stouthearted fashionista I am and still striving to be(there’s also room for improvement.) In addition, I will be canvassing the positive affect that Bratz, in general, had and still has on teens, even today.

Being that I lived with my grandparents, my grandmother, who was a former school bus driver for First Student, would take me to Toys R Us every Friday and let me pick whatever toy I wanted when I was little. Nothing ever caught my eye the way the Bratz did. I don’t even remember my first Bratz doll. I do remember my grandma picking up the toy that I thought at the time, “Why are their heads so huge?” My grandmother busted out laughing. She told me, “It’s a doll. Doesn’t she look pretty?” She asked me while pointing to an olive-toned looking doll, who’s name happened to be Yasmin. I didn’t say anything because I thought it looked weird, but with one glance at her funky outfit and a snap of a freshly polished baby pink color of a fingernail, I was sold.

That day, my grandmother purchased another doll along with Yasmin, named Sasha, also known as Bunny Boo. Sasha was favorite, but not because she was black like I am. No way, my free-spirited, ambiguous mind would not approve. The reason why Sasha was my bias is that during that time, I loved her style more than I liked Yasmin’s. As I grew older and I developed a liking to other fashion trends, the affection that I had for one doll sprouted among the other three when I expanded my collection. I was so obsessed with Bratz that anything that coincided with them, I wanted, and I got most of them, if not them all. By the time I was nine or ten, my whole life was drenched in Bratz merchandise, etc. I had over twenty-eight Bratz dolls, including the boys, the kids, the babies, and the pets that came along with the girls. I also had owned several Bratz vehicles (trailer and school bus), a folding luxury mansion, Bratz apparel, a comforter for my bad, a hamper, stacks of video games, and films. Needless to say, Bratz preoccupied my childhood.

Girls and boys who have grown up to be women and men are still in love with the bold and strong-willed dolls. Bratz dolls have graced the shelves of many toy stores and televisions across the world with their spiffy garbs, which were made with real fabric. Their unapologetic and unique style makes a statement that screams, “Spice up your life!” as the Spice Girls would say. Meanwhile, Bratz is still selling in stores; their franchise has become popularized amongst Youtubers, Tik Tokers (if that’s what you would call them), and influencers on Instagram.

Social media stars like James Charles posted a makeup video on YouTube, turning himself into a Bratz doll, and other YouTubers have hopped onto this widespread trend surfacing the internet as well in 2019. Tik Tok, a popular social platform for users to post and share videos, has also played a significant role in the Bratz franchise. Teenagers and young adults have taken it upon themselves to compare themselves to each of the dolls, and they have even gotten far as to do duets with one another to resemble the jaw-dropping, fierce and empowering figurines. The videos give off nostalgic and glamorous vibes.

Last but not least, some users who are beauty gurus or have good taste in fashion (Praise, Britney Spears!) on Instagram have been categorized into baddies, and ladies and lads, this is where the title of my article comes into play. Many people have speculated that the women and men calling themselves “baddies,” believe that the Bratz may have had a hand in their inspiration for the modus operandi of doing makeup tutorials, clothing and shoe hauls, or posts of their #OOTD (Outfit of the Day). The glossy lips and bright stained lipsticks, colorful smoky eyeshadow, crop tops, baggy jeans, short skirts, fishnet shirts and stockings, sparkly jewelry, dyed hairstreaks and braids, pink and bright neon apparel, excessive use of denim and the famous chunky shoes. The list goes on, which is an excellent thing because it proves that the Bratz encourages the practice of freeform and, they are open to all vogues sprouting among the fashion industry while taking a chance on the fashion of adolescents in the early 2000s. Alright, let’s this article up like a burrito. Bratz has paved the way for young girls and boys like myself and taught them to express themselves and to not confine in the standards of society. Others might say otherwise, but I say screw conformity and stick to your passion for fashion.

collectibles
2

About the Creator

Mi World

a safe place for poems, tv and movie reviews, album reviews, etc.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.