Geeks logo

If this, Then that

"Coming 2 America" Movie Recommendation

By Terry CurrinPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

Hello! How are you? I hear that you're looking for a good movie recommendation?!

Recommendations are the secret to getting ahead in life. Whether it's trying to get a job, or

trying a new restaurant, recommendations are always best. I first started learning about

recommendations back in highschool. My world history teacher taught us that he learns about

people just by what book they ask him to read. I understood this because books carry a lot of

information. Since then, now that I'm older, I've seen multiple forms of recommendations.

However, the best one that comes to my mind is movies! Similarly to my highschool professor, I

can tell a lot about people based upon what they like to watch on TV. For example, my mother

likes cooking and I find her often watching cook shows to help her come up with new ideas and

recipes. I feel that movies go beyond just what the movie is about, but in fact, I think of movies

as "Little windows of life". Like a window, we can see what's on the outside, put bars on it, now

it's protected. It's the exact same way when w watch movies. Many benefits from movie

watching. But I'm not here to talk about windows. I'm here to give you my movie

recommendation. Coming 2 America has been one of the best movies that came out this year.

I'm going to explain the three values that this movie touched for me. Those values as

follows: 1. True Love, 2. Cultural Differences, 3. Having your own mind/intuition.

"True Love"

This topic is heavily introduced throughout the movie. I recommend this movie "Coming 2

America" if you're having trouble finding your true love. In the movie, it starts off in a African

civilization called "Zamunda". There, is where a rich royal African family lives. In the movie, it

showcases the main character "Hakeem" who is a african prince. His father and mother are both

the king and queen of that land. Normally, when you're a part of a royal family, you have a

pre-set marriage. However, Hakeem knew in his heart that this young lady that was "ideal"

wasn't the one for him. Hakeem displayed a huge amount of courage and faith during this time.

However, once he received the blessing from his parents, he wanted to come to America to find

his queen. Now, let's dissect everything that I just mentioned. To start, let's look at Hakeem's

parents. In terms of true love, parents know what's best, or their version of what's best. But the

real shine in parents comes from the experience and wisdom they can give. Hakeem knew that

his parents would listen, but he first had to persuade them. They were under family tradition, but

we'll get back to that later. Parents are the foundation for the family. Parents also are a great

resource and at times the support too. When it was time for Hakeem to go, he needed the

nurturing of his mother to guide him but the toughness and boldness of his father to carry out

the task. By doing this, it pleased his parents that he was being an adult and taking control of his

life. He came to America, and all kinds of women wanted his attention. But he knew the one

when he found her. He even had some pre-set requirements for his queen. After searching and

searching, he almost gave up, but then, out of no-where, he found "Lisa". Lisa was everything

he wanted in a woman. And even though it was a challenge, he finally made her his bride. Two

things I want to highlight. 1. When finding true love, just like how Hakeem had to go out his way

to find her, we also must find our Lisa or Hakeem. 2. Hakeem knew the type of partner he

wanted. Someone with their own mind and vision! It is compulsory to find certain qualities in

your partner. On a personal level, before watching the movie, I was struggling with a toxic

relationship, but I knew I needed to heal and to find my Lisa. So, after watching the movie, I

began to focus upon what I liked and wanted in a partner and began to heal and create that

image for my Lisa. I must say, fast forward today, I'm still preparing for my Lisa, but I may

already have found her!

2. Cultural Differences

Another topic I would like to introduce is "Cultural Differences''. Cultural differences simply

means the contrast between two cultures. Let's visit "Zamunda''! Zamunda is a great African

paradise! Wildlife, food, culture, etc. However, the greatest privilege is being royalty! I haven't

studied Africa a lot, but I know that royalty and blood-line hold a lot of weight there! I learned

that Africa also has a lot of rituals. These rituals or tests, help define the person and expose

their weaknesses. I love it! In fact, I want to one day go on a Safari and actually be in the

motherland! In the movie, Hakeem lives in this beautiful place and has a lot of servants. It's

amazing to see how much value and worth Africa has. I really love African culture! Let's not

forget that he did visit America. Upon his first visit, he was in Queens, New York. You guys

already know he took the "royal luggage". Which resulted in him getting robbed, unfortunately.

Well, he didn't know he was getting robbed! He was too busy trying to be "American". He even

ended up getting a bummed-out apartment with a murder scene!! But none of these things

affected Hakeem! He even made new friends there! It's interesting to see how what we view as

everyday life, can be very foreign to someone else. This is why I believe that throughout life, you

constantly learn. It's within the learning, that we gain experience, understanding, and wisdom! I

value this for a few reasons. The first is because of experience! Experience is mainly knowledge

of past actions. Second, after the experience, understanding begins to form because once the

action was made, you'd learn from it. Lastly, after both experience and understanding has been

introduced and matured, they can now reproduce wisdom. Which is simply the ability to know

right from wrong. Together, they can help bridge gaps between societal misconceptions.

3. Having Your Own Mind/Intuition

The last topic I'd like to touch upon is having your own mind/intuition. This is VERY crucial. If

you're a person who is independent and likes to get creative and think out of the box, then

Coming 2 America is the movie for you. Throughout the movie, Hakeem displays this a number

of times. The scene I remember most is when he met his "predestined" wife, but he did not love

her. Not that she wasn't beautiful, not because she wouldn't listen, and not because she was

rude. It is simply because she didn't have her own mind. She basically was him. This was not

good for Hakeem because he did not want a wife without her own mind. I respect this because

having your own mind is important. I remember when I had to have my own mind. I'm currently

at a point in my life where I can care less about what people say and think of me, and more

about what I think of me. I feel that having your own mind is important because it allows you to

believe yourself. Lastly, having your own mind can even save you from a life and death

situation.

To conclude, I feel that when having a movie recommendation, there are many qualities to

choose from. I really like "Coming 2 America'' because I feel that these qualities influence me

the most. I hope that this writing piece can inspire others to find values in the movies they

watch. Enjoy and stay streaming!

movie
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.