Geeks logo

If This, Then That

The fight for racial injustice

By Anthony HillPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

If that, Then this

Being a script writer or any type of writer to be exact take more than just writing. It's also about researching what's out there in the general public and what makes that project so popular. In the past couple of years I got back engaged with television. I stop because I thought it was just a waste of time but recently I learned that you can learn from any source of publication that is out there nowadays. Just know what to believe and what not to believe because well some people use their gifts and talents to misinterpreted others. I been watching cable show's, Netflix, Amazon prime, and recently got introduce to Flix Tor. One of my favorite shows I have to tune in on my CW app. That show is none other than All American. I been watching All American well over a year now and it is a show that kept my attention ever since. It's base on a true story about an African-American professional football player Spencer Paysinger. Though I don't know anything about Spencer Paysinger I do know most of the things detailed in this show is about him. It's one of those show's that teaches you about social awareness and striving for your dreams. It's base on a highschool football player trying to make it to the pros. As he well on his way he had obstacles he had to over come. I like this show because well I'm a African-American and I feel connected to this tale because it share similarities to my upbringing. Though I never played football in highschool I did wanted to but my grandmother thought I would get hurt. I'm more intrigued by the writer and how he break down the elements of struggle. Though Beverly hills is a wealthy successful neighborhood the children from there still struggle with there own life problems. Olivia struggle with addiction, Asher struggle with his parents separation and steroids. Layla struggle from mental problems past on by her decease mom and her feelings for Spencer. Yeah it's even more but another reason I like this show is because it's a show that's break's through the racial burial's. Showing inter-racial relationship's and solving problems together no matter your ethnic background.

If you're interested by what I told you about the show then these other shows might catch your attention as well. One in mind is the Netflix series On my Block. This show also take place in California and is about highschool teens battling racial injustice and gang pressuring. It's a good show and another one of my favorites. If you never watch it check it out now on Netflix and you can watch all seasons back to back since the show had made it completion. Also another show I've had the pleasure to watch is the Netflix series 13 Reasons Why. If you're sensitive to mental health topics then this might not be the show for because it covers slot of them and they even tell you before the show starts. Just as All American 13 Reasons Why is base on friendship. Clay Jensen falls in love with his classmate and Co-worker Hannah Baker but betrayal would lead to a sad ending for one of them and the show is base around the life of this falling victim. It's also another show that tackle through racial burial's and is also a learning experience.

Other shows that I haven't had the pleasure of viewing but will check them out is Last Chance U. It's a Netflix sports docuseries. It spotlight college football programs in America. Another is QB1: Beyond the lights. It's another highschool show similar to All American. Also another show similar to the scenarios of All American and other shows on this list is Elite. The Spanish drama paints a portrait of high school life at one of the most prestigious boarding school. I you seen the new Saved By The Bell well this show is very similar. So that's my run down and I hope you will check out some of these shows as always stay socially aware and keep fighting the good fight of racial injustice.

tv
1

About the Creator

Anthony Hill

Star

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.