Geeks logo

If 'The Rocky Horror Picture Show' Makes You Scream-Sing Your Lungs Out Then You Need More Rock Operas In Your Life

11 Rock Operas For Musical Lovers

By SJ SilverPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
The Musicals In This List

I first watched 'The Rocky Horror Picture Show' as a child thanks to having a cool mum, and I became quite obsessed with it. My mum used to own the soundtrack on CD and played it constantly, so even though I only watched it a few times I knew all the songs and lines. I began watching it more as a teenager and I really loved everything about it, and this time I had the added bonus of the internet. It was then that I realised how many other people loved it too and how much of an important and iconic part of pop culture the movie became since its release in 1980.

As an adult, I remember thinking, 'Damn, I wish all musicals were this cool!' I mean, I enjoy musicals but I prefer the ones that lean towards the alternative and rock themes. So I did what any nerd does and made it my mission to seek out and watch more musical movies and rock operas that gave me the same buzz that this cult classic left me with. So if you love 'The Rocky Horror Picture Show' then you need to seek out these cult classics and absolute bangers.

Repo! The Genetic Opera (2008)

This is hands down my absolute favourite film ever and I make a point of showing it to all my friends so that they can become mega-fans like me. The story is magnetic, the soundtrack is absolutely unforgettable and the cast is downright impressive - Alexa Vega, Anthony Stewart Head, Sarah Brighton, Bill Mosely, Paul Savinio and Paris Hilton to name just a few. Fun fact: Anthony Stewart Head has also played Frank N Furter in a stage production of TRHPS. You’re welcome. Anyways here is a summary of this gory musical horror:

In the year 2056 - the not so distant future - an epidemic of organ failures devastates the planet. Out of the tragedy, a savior emerges: GeneCo, a biotech company that offers organ transplants, for a price. Those who miss their payments are scheduled for repossession and hunted by villainous Repo Men. In a world where surgery addicts are hooked on painkilling drugs and murder is sanctioned by law, a sheltered young girl searches for the cure to her own rare disease as well as information about her family's mysterious history. After being sucked into the haunting world of GeneCo, she is unable to turn back, as all of her questions will be answered at the wildly anticipated spectacular event: The Genetic Opera. - Lionsgate, IMDB

My Favourite Song: 'Night Surgeon'

Hedwig and the Angry Inch (2001)

This film can be compared to TRHPS for the impact and cult status it has gained in the LGBTQA+ community thanks to its strong, characters and relevant story. The story focuses on the journey of a Trangender rock star and her ex lover who got famous from stealing all her songs. It’s often outrageous and pretty amusing but overall it has a strong, deep message of love and human connection.

Hedwig, born male as Hansel in East Berlin, fell in love with an American G.I. and underwent a Gender Reassignment Surgery in order to marry him and flee to the West. Unfortunately, nothing worked out quite as it was supposed to - years later, Hedwig is leading her rock band on a tour of the U.S., telling her life story through a series of concerts at Bilgewater Inn seafood restaurants. Her tour dates coincide with those of arena-rock star Tommy Gnosis, a wide-eyed boy who once loved Hedwig - but then left with all her songs. - IMDB

My Favourite Song: 'The Angry Inch'

Doctor Horrible's Sing-a-long Blog (2008)

Neil Patrick Harris and Nathan Fillion starring together in a mini musical - do I even need to say more? It’s directed by Joss Whedon, which I know is a kinda mixed reaction because the guy does make good watchables but he’s also a bit of a cunt. Luckily, you can watch all three episodes for free on YouTube, so you don’t need to contribute to certain Fedora Wearing douche-canoes.

Dr. Horrible, an aspiring supervillain with his own video blog, is attempting to join the prestigious Evil League of Evil (led by the legendary "thoroughbred of sin", Bad Horse), but his plans are usually foiled by the egotistical superhero Captain Hammer. Horrible's life is thrown for a loop when he falls in love with Penny, a beautiful and optimistic advocate for the homeless he meets at the laundromat, a situation which complicates itself even further when Penny begins dating the boorish, oafish Hammer after he apparently saves her life. Faced with the task of impressing the League, can Horrible overcome his own incompetence to ruin the day, kill the hero, and still get the girl? - IMDB

My Favourite Song: Brand New Day

The Devil's Carnival (2012)

This is another film that I obsess over a little, to the point where I’ll even listen to the commentary version of the movie. So I can tell you all sorts of random facts - but I won’t! You can discover it for yourself!

I just love how much of an epic, experimental musical that was produced on a shoestring budget by a group of friends who just wanted to make something rad. You’ll see a familiar cast similar to the ‘Repo! The Genetic Opera’ line up as it’s directed and created by the same folks.

Three individuals have accidentally stumbled Into a carnival...in hell, run by the old Scratch, themselves. They soon find out that THEY are the 'entertainment', and moreover the 3 are doomed to repeat the very sins which delivered them to the carnival's doorsteps. - IMDB

My Favourite Song: In All My Dreams I Drown

Alleluia! The Devil's Carnival (2016)

There’s surprisingly very little in the way of decent summaries of the second part of the musical extravaganza that is The Devil’s Carnival, so while I’ve included the weak IMDB summary below, I’ll try to do better.

Where the first film explores the setting and characters of Hell, the second instalment of this musical looks upward instead. As Lucifer leads a train full of Hell’s carnies towards Heaven, we take a look back at the life of one particular resident of Hell: Painted Doll. During her origin story, we get a glimpse of what Heaven is like and find out that Doll was cast out of the good place and is now out for blood and revenge.

Lucifer and his carnies are plotting against Heaven. This is how the war begins. - IMDB

My Favourite Song: Hoof And Lap

Metalocalypse: Doomstar Requiem - A Klok Opera (2013)

Ok, so this is definitely a musical that can't really be understood as a stand-alone piece but that's ok because the show that prequels it is also pretty awesome. Doomstar Requiem is the musical feature-length finale of the popular Adult Swim show, Metalocalypse and though it is indeed epic, it's also bittersweet because it leaves so many unanswered questions to a show that is currently cancelled. The show itself follows the life of the most famous and best-loved band in the world - Deathklok, a death metal band with a panache for royally fucking up.

While Toki and Abigail remain in the clutches of Magnus Hammersmith and the Metal Masked Assassin, the remaining members of Dethklok carry on with their lives while pretending not to care. But as their guilt mounts and their fans become increasingly restless with Toki's absence, they realize that they must find a way to rescue their brother. - IMDB

My Favourite Song: Givin’ Back To You

Imaginaerum (2012)

I really enjoyed this masterpiece from the Finnish metal band, Nightwish - in fact, I've already reviewed it in another post that you can read here '10 Insanely Surreal Movies That Will Leave You Questioning Everything'.

A coma sends an old man into his childhood's sinister fantasy world, where he must fight dementia and gain back his memories before it's too late. - IMDB

My Favourite Song: Storytime

Tommy (1975)

The first time I watched this film was by complete accident and I was highly confused. I was flicking through the TV channels late at night and suddenly my senses were assailed by Ann Marget rolling around ecstatically on the floor while torrents of champagne and baked beans flowed out of her cracked television screen. 'Tommy' is the movie adaption of The Who's concept album same name and follows the story of Tommy, who becomes deaf, dumb and blind after experiencing a traumatic childhood incident. Just watch it, it's crazy!

A psychosomatically deaf, dumb and blind boy becomes a master pinball player and, subsequently, the figurehead of a cult. - IMDB

My Favourite Song: Pinball Wizards...duh!

Interstella 555: The 5tory of the 5ecret 5tar 5ystem (2003)

Anyone who has ever seen a Daft Punk Music video is aware that there is some form of a story behind them, but a lot of people don't realise that the music videos for a full-length movie when viewed in order. I grew up watching the band's music on TV and I really loved the anime videos, it was one of the first times I'd ever experienced anything anime and as such, it really inspired and influenced me. It wasn't until I was an adult that I thought about the story behind the videos and discovered 'Interstella 555'. If you love the music of Daft Punk and Anime then you can watch the whole feature on Youtube. Believe me, you need this. Bring tissues.

An unscrupulous music executive and his flunky kidnap an alien, blue-skinned techno band, rob them of their identities, pass them off as human, and foist them on an unsuspecting public on Earth. After their arrival and their impact on the human population, the members of the band try to piece back their identities, escape from the clutches of the evil music executive, and return to their own world. - IMDB

My Favourite Song: Aerodynamic

Little Shop of Horrors (1986)

No Rock Opera list would be complete without mentioning this crazy cult classic that stars Rick Moranis, Ellen Greene, Steve Martin and more. If you haven't seen it yet then you need to add it to your list because the 80s were truly a glorious time for movies and this one is unmissable.

Seymour Krelborn is a nerdy orphan working at Mushnik's, a flower shop in urban Skid Row. He harbors a crush on fellow co-worker Audrey Fulquard, and is berated by Mr. Mushnik daily. One day as Seymour is seeking a new mysterious plant, he finds a very mysterious unidentified plant which he calls Audrey II. The plant seems to have a craving for blood and soon begins to sing for his supper. Soon enough, Seymour feeds Audrey's sadistic dentist boyfriend to the plant and later, Mushnik for witnessing the death of Audrey's ex. Will Audrey II take over the world or will Seymour and Audrey defeat it?- IMDB

My Favourite Song: You’ll Be A Dentist

American Murder Songs (2016)

This is probably the rarest addition in this list since only hardcore fans of Terrance Zdunich's work will have heard of it or seen it. If you're working your way through this then you'll already be familiar with his stuff (The Devil's Carnival and Repo!) but AMS is much harder to find. You can buy a copy of the DVD on the website, watch music videos on YouTube or catch the live show. Each song tells a classic tale about murder and brings villains to life and if you're a hardcore Rock Opera enthusiast then you should try and hunt this one down.

In 1816, two Blood Travelers play a game of chance and bring to life a gallery of American killers. - IMDB

My Favourite Song: The Black Wagon

movie
Like

About the Creator

SJ Silver

🌕🔮Marchioness du Strange🔮🌕

Connoisseur of all things dark and whimsical.

Your faithful guide to the weirder side.

I dabble in tits, art, and everything dark!

If you enjoy my writing please show my posts some love!

❤️🧡💛💚💙💜🖤🤍🤎

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.